From: Susan Mazurski March 21, 2011 11:23:33 AM Subject: Charter Revision Commission Minutes 02/23/2011 DRAFT

To: SimsburyCT_CharRevComm

Cc:

Simsbury Charter Revision Commission Organizational Meeting.

February 23, 2011

The meeting convened at 6:05. In attendance: Dan Munroe, Peter Pabich, Darren Cunningham, Jon O'Neil, Rob Heagney and Jim Fleming.

Absent: Brad Mead

Staff: Town Attorney Robert Decrescenzo, TOS Director of Administrative

Services Thomas Cooke

Mr. Fleming agreed to take minutes for the meeting.

No members of the Public were present so no public audience was held. Mr. Decrescenzo briefed the Commission on its charge pursuant to Chapter 99 of the Connecticut General Statutes noting that the commission has 16 months to complete its business , that a minimum of 2 public hearings are to held and that no substantive decsions should be made until after the first public hearing . Further he reviewed briefly some of the procedural issues for the commission and FOI laws for commission members.

Mr. Clarke indicated that the town would provide a clerk for the commission and would inquire if any town funds were used by the last commission and if any funds were budgeted by the town for this commission for expenses such as expert opinions, research etc. He also informed the Commission that Amy Salls had decided to resign from the commission.

Mr Decrescenzo agreed to provide a review of any state statutory provisions passed since the last charter revision commission that mandate changes or technical revisions of the charter. He will present this at the next meeting. Further he will present a power point at our next meeting review the present charter.

The commission agreed to establish the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month at 7:00PM for future meetings and will review this schedule as appropriate as the commission moves through the process.

The Commission discussed election of a Chairperson and Secretary. Mr O'Neil nominated Mr Heagney as Chairperson and it was seconded by Mr. Munroe, a voice vote was taken and Mr Heagney was elected. Mr. O'Neill nominated Mr. Mead and it was seconded by Mr. Munroe, a voice vote was taken and Mr. Mead was elected.

There being no further business Chairperson Heagney adjourned the meeting at 7:35 PM

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Fleming