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MONARCH®

BINOCULARS

Built to satisfy the incredible

needs of today’s serious outdoorsmen

& women, MONARCH binoculars not only
bestow the latest in optical innovation
upon the passions of its owner, but offer
dynamic handling & rugged performance
for virtually any hunting situation.

MONARCH® RIELESCOPES

Bright, clear, precise, rugged - just a few

of the attributes knowledgeable hunters
commonly use to describe Nikone® riflescopes.
Nikon® is determined to bring hunters,
shooters & sportsmen a wide selection of

the best hunting optics money can buy,

while at the same time creating revolutionary
capabilities for the serious hunter.

Present this coupon for $ 2 5 orr your in-store purchase of $150 or more!

Valid through December 31, 2016
Not valid online, on gift cards, non-merchandise items, licenses, previous purchases or special orders.
Excludes NIKON, CARHARTT, UGG, THE NORTH FACE, PATAGONIA, MERRELL, DANSKO, AVET REELS, SHIMANO, G.LOOMIS
& SAGE items. Cannot be combined with any other offer. No copies. One per customer. No cash value.
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Dannel P. Malloy, Governor
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Wildlife Division
Richard Jacobson, Director

Department of Energy & Environmental Protection
Robert Klee, Commissioner

halen, D issi
Susan Whalen, Deputy Commissioner Department of Energy & Environmental Protection

79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106-5127
www.ct.gov/deep

Bureau of Natural Resources
William Hyatt, Chief

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal
Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with
Disabilities Act. Please contact us at 860-418-5910 or deep.accommodations@ct.gov if you: have a
disability and need a communication aid or service; have limited proficiency in English and may need
information in another language; or if you wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint.

This guide is intended to provide a summary of the most pertinent laws and regulations concerning
hunting and trapping, and to provide information on these opportunities in Connecticut. No attempt
has been made to employ the exact wording of laws and regulations, nor to provide their complete
listing. For legal purposes the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies and the General Statutes of
Connecticut must be consulted. A listing of the General Statutes of Connecticut can be found on the
Connecticut General Assembly website at www.cga.ct.gov.

Directory of Services

For additional information the following DEEP offices may be contacted from 8:30 a.m. to
4:30 p.m. Please note that the DEEP — Licensing Permit Sales Office is open from 9:00 a.m.
to 4:00 p.m. Note that the Sales Office closes at noon before major holidays and may close
early during periods of severe weather.

Wildlife Division 860-424-3011

Division of Env. Cons. Police.................. 860-424-3012

Licensing and Revenue.............c..cccoeuene 860-424-3105

Inland Fisheries Division.... ...860-424-FISH

Marine Fisheries Division... ...860-434-6043

Parks and Recreation Division.. ...860-424-3200

Forestry Division ................... ...860-424-3630

DEEP Home Page .......cc.cccceevennene ...www.ct.gov/deep

CT Fish and Wildlife Facebook Page......... www.Facebook.com/CTFishandWildlife

Field Services

Questions concerning hunting, trapping, fishing, boating, camping, recreational use of state
lands, forestry, and law enforcement may be directed to one of the following field offices
(8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.).

Eastern Area Headquarters................... 860-295-9523

Western Area Headquarters................... 860-485-0226

Office of Boating Safety (Old Lyme)....... 860-434-8638

Marine Patrol (Old Lyme) ...................... 860-434-9840
24 Hour Emergency Numbers

Report a Violation ..............cccceeiiininne 1-800-842-4357

DEEP-Emergency Dispatch 860-424-3333

About this Guide

This high-quality regulation guide is offered to
you by the Connecticut Department of Energy
& Environmental Protection through its unique
partnership with J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC.

J.F. Griffin is an award winning publishing house _
that specializes in producing state fish & wildlife
regulation books. J.F. Griffin supports CT DEEP’s
staff in the design, layout and editing of the guides.
They also manage the marketing and sales of
advertising to appropriate businesses within the
book.

The revenue generated through ad sales significantly
lowers production costs and generates savings.
These savings translate into additional funds for
other important fisheries and habitat programs.

If you have any feedback or are interested in
advertising, please contact us at 413.884.1001 or
online at www.JFGriffin.com

Graphic Design:
Jon Gulley, Dane Fay, Evelyn Haddad,
and Chris Sobolowski

(®)J.E GRIFFIN

PUBLISHING 1.«

430 Main St. Suite 5 | Williamstown, MA 01267

J.F. Griffin Publishing, LLC is proud to print
the official Connecticut Regulations Guides
on recycled content paper.

NOW available online
in a new Digital Edition!

» Fully searchable

» Live hyperlinks to
expanded content

» Email pages
» One-click printing

eReguIations.com/CT/[gunting
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ALL-NEW
GRIZZLY' EPS

NATURAL BORN HUNTERS.

WOLVERINE" R-SPEG VIKING VI
The full line of new Yamaha ATVs & SxS vehicles. RL___
Introducing the latest members of the Yamaha off-road family. The all-new Kodiak 700 ATVs, Ul“
available in three great models starting at just $6,999% offer the ultimate combination of T —"1“
performance, durability, comfort and value — and are all engineered to tackle the toughest 15K,
hunts 24/7. The all-new Grizzly, available in four class-leading models, delivers more trail-taming ————
performance, power and comfort than ever. And Yamaha Side x Sides, including the Viking, —
Viking VI and all-new Wolverines, offer unmatched Real World Tough durability and off-road *
capability for two to six people. So if you're searching for the ultimate ATV or Side x Side, .
call off the hunt and get a Yamaha. N

(i

For your nearest Pro Yamaha dealer and to learn more about the full line
of Yamaha ATVs and Side x Sides, visit YamahaOutdoors.com
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2016 Summary of Hunting Season Dates

For further information regarding specific bag, possession, and season limits, please visit the pages noted in the table below. See page 15 for
details on Junior Hunter Training Days.

GAMEBIRDS TURKEY

SEASON SEASON DATES SEASON SEASON DATES
Upland Birds See page 16 for limit information Spring Turkey See page 18 for limit information
N Jan. 1-Feb. 29 State Land
Pheasant Oct. 15— Dec. 31 Private Land Apr. 27 - May 28
L
. Jan.1-Jan.9 andowner
Chukar Partridge Oct. 15— Dec. 31 . i
et 19— Dec. Fall Turkey Archery See page 18 for limit information
Ruffed Grouse Oct. 15— Nov. 30 Private Land (zones 11-12) Jan. 1-Jan. 30
il B —
Qual Oct. 15— 0ct. 29 Private Land (all zones) Sep. 15— Dec. 31

Jan. 9 —Mar. 26 (Mon through Sat) .
Crow ¢ Aug. 13 — Oct. 7 (Wed, Fri, Sat) State Land Bowhunting Only Areas Sep. 15— Dec. 31

Oct. 15— Nov. 30 (Wed, Fri, Sat)

Sep. 15—Nov. 15

E . State Land
Woodcock — Snipe — Rails See cuﬁﬁrﬁn“g'g[ﬁfﬁry Bird Dec. 21 - Dec. 31
S t Miarator Bird Fall Turkey Firearms See page 19 for limit information
ee current Migratory Bir
(ducks, mer awngg;fovglase and coot) AT S State Land
’ 9 9 ’ State and federal stamps required Private Land Oct. 1—0ct. 31
Landowner

# Pheasant Stamp Authorization required.
8 See page 16 for areas with extended season dates.

¢ Crow hunting occurs only on certain days during the season. _
SMALL GAME MAMMALS SEASON SEASON DATES

See page 16 for limit information.

Deer Bowhunting See page 20 for limit information
SEASON SEASON DATES
Jan. 1 Feb. 29 Private Land (zones 11-12) Jan. 1 -Jan. 31
Gray Squirrel OCS:% ! 58309 . Private Land (all zones) Sep. 15— Dec. 31
Cottontail Rabbit Jan. 1—Feb. 29 State Land Bowhunting Only Areas Sep. 15— Dec. 31

European Hare Oct. 15— Dec. 31

Sep. 15—Nov. 15
Jan. 1 - Jan. 30 State Land Dec. 21 - Dec. 31

Snowshoe Hare Nov. 19— Dec. 31

Deer Shotgun — Lo .
Mar. 14 — Apr. 26 State Gontrolled Areas See page 22 for limit information
Woodchuck May 30 — Oct. 7
Oct. 15— Nov. 15 No Lottery “A” Season Nov. 16 — Nov. 25
FURBEARERS No Lottery “B” Season Nov. 26 — Dec. 6
See pages 16 and 17 for limit information and page 44 for trapping seasons
dp g e pag pping Deer Lottery _ See page 24 for lottery
and regulations. application and bag limit information
SEASON SEASON DATES Archery-Only Controlled Hunt Lottery Sep. 15— Nov. 15
Jan. 1 —Apr. 26 State Land and Controlled Hunt
Coyote May 30 —Dec. 31 Lottery “A” Season Nov. 16 —Nov. 25
State Land and Controlled Hunt
Jan. 1 —Feb. 29 _
Red & Gray Foxes Oct. 15 — Dec. 31 Lottery “B” Season Nov. 26— Dec. 6
Jan. 1 — Jan. 16 Deer Shotgun/Rifle — Private Lands | See page 20 for limit information
Raccoon & Opossum 0ct. 15 — Dec. 31
Shotgun/Rifle Nov. 16 — Dec. 6
Landowner Nov. 1 —Dec. 31
Deer Muzzleloader See page 21 for limit information
Private Land Dec. 7 - Dec. 31

State Land Dec. 7 —Dec. 20
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Be Bear Aware

Connecticut’s bear population is growing and
encounters between people and bears are
increasing. \When bears find human-provided foods,
they can become habituated to humans and residential
settings. Habituated bears are more likely to be struck
by vehicles, cause property damage, and threaten

human safety.

Removing and managing food sources can pre-
vent these problems. Bears are rarely aggressive
towards people, although habituated bears may
act curious and approach more closely.

Black Bear DO’s and DON’TS

Bears Seen When Hunting, Hiking, or Camp-

ing: Bears normally leave an area once they

have sensed a human. If you see a bear, enjoy

it from a distance.

* DO watch bears from a distance if you are
undetected in a hunting blind or stand.

* DO make your presence known by mak-
ing noise and waving your arms if you see a
bear while hiking, and DO back away slowly.
DON'T climb a tree or run away.

* DO increase your efforts to look large and
offensive if a bear continues to approach you.

* DO keep dogs on a leash and under control.

* DON'T approach or try to get close to a bear
to get a photo or video.

* DON'T cook food near your tent or store food
inside your tent. Instead, store food in a secure
vehicle or use rope to suspend it between two
trees.

Bears Near Your Home: Bears are attracted to

garbage, birdfeeders, pet food, compost piles,

fruit trees, livestock, and beehives around
houses.

* DON'T intentionally feed bears.

* DO remove birdfeeders and bird food from
late March through November.

* DO store garbage cans inside a garage or shed.
Add ammonia to trash to make it unpalatable.

* DO clean and store BBQ grills in a shed or
garage after use.

» DO protect beehives, chickens, and other live-
stock with electric fencing and move chickens
and livestock into coops, sheds, or barns at
night if possible.

* DON'T approach or try to get close to a bear
to get a photo or video.

* DON'T leave pet food outside overnight.

Report Bear Sightings!

* Reports of bear sightings are valuable indi-
cators of how the state’s bear population is
growing and expanding, as well as the activ-
ity and movements of bears. Report bear
sightings and learn more about bears at
www.ct.gov/deep/blackbear.

2016 Connecticut Hunting & Trapping Guide
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WHAT TO DO WHEN APPROACHED BY AN
ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION POLICE OFFICER

Each year, Connecticut Environmental Conservation (EnCon) Police Officers
check thousands of hunters, anglers, boaters, and visitors at our state parks
and forests. A compliance check by an EnCon Police Officer is an opportu-
nity for outdoor enthusiasts to have positive interactions with officers while
enjoying all the outdoor recreation opportunities Connecticut has to offer.
EnCon Police Officers can help explain laws and also provide information
about outdoor opportunities and conditions in your area.

EnCon Police Officers are concerned with enforcement of Connecticut laws
and regulations that are intended to keep people safe, protect personal
property, and conserve the State’s natural resources. There are a few actions
that you can take to ensure your experience with an EnCon Officer is positive
for both you and the officer.

The way hunters should handle their firearms when approached by a law

enforcement officer differs from how they should handle them for safety
purposes in other circumstances.

When Hunting:

EnCon Officers are concerned with firearms safety and compliance with
hunting regulations when checking hunters. When approached by an officer,
you are expected to follow all basic firearms handling rules.

e Control the muzzle - keep the firearm pointed in a safe direction.

e Do not attempt to load or unload your firearm while being approached
by an EnCon Officer.

e Comply with all instructions directed to you by the EnCon Officer.

Connecticut’s EnCon Police Officers prefer that each interaction with an
outdoor enthusiast is a pleasant experience. Please be polite and courteous.
By promptly complying with all requests as directed by the officer, you can
help ensure a safe, pleasant, and productive experience. Take advantage of
the opportunity to ask the officer questions. EnCon Officers are an excel-
lent source of information about Connecticut laws and regulations, and
the surrounding area. They can assist in making your outdoor experience
in Connecticut more enjoyable.

Trust Connecticut Archery with all of your bow service needs.

ARCHERY

7 JEIRGEHSTAN (AN'G

Take your shot to the next level with properly fit equipment
and expert coaching.

SERVICES INCLUDE:

BOW SET UP

BOW TUNING

CABLES

CUSTOM ARROW MAKING
EQUIPMENT SALES
RESTRINGING

INDOOR RANGE

CUSTOM BOW STRINGS
ARCHERY INSTRUCTION
BOW HUNTING CLASSES

340 QUINNIPIAC STREET, BLDG 24
WALLINGFORD, CT 06492

(203) 626-9465
WWW.CONNECTICUTARCHERY.COM

ARE-UP

WHEN THE SHOT COUNTS
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Licenses & Permits

Licensesand permits to huntand trap in Connect-
icut are available online, at most town clerks, and
at some sporting good stores and DEEP offices.
Licenses are valid for a calendar year. To buy
licenses online, or for a listing of places that sell
licenses, go to: www.ct.gov/deep/hunting

Conservation ID#s: Everyone issued a license
has been issued a unique Conservation ID# that
should be used every time and every year when
purchasing licenses and permits. If you log on
to the Online Sportsmen Licensing system, or
go to a vendor for your licenses, always use your
Conservation ID# as a means of identification.
You should write your Conservation ID# down
and keep it in a safe place. Your Conservation
ID# is your license number.

Hunter Education Requirements: No hunting
or trapping licenses will be issued to any person
unless proof is provided that they have held a
RESIDENT license in the respective sport within
the last 5 years OR the person has a certificate
indicating successful completion of a Connect-
icut Conservation Education/Firearms Safety
(CE/FS) course (or recognized equivalent) in
the respective sport for which they are applying.
“Apprentice” or “Mentored” hunting licenses
issued in other states do not qualify. Courses
are available during most months. To become
certified in firearms or bowhunting, a person
must be 10 years or older. All bowhunters must
show proof when purchasing a small game/deer
archery permit that they have completed the

CE/FS bowhunting course (since 1982) or its
equivalent from another state or country. Certi-
fications from another state or country must
specify Bowhunter Education. If you have previ-
ously purchased a 2002, or later, Connecticut
bowhunting license you have already provided
such proof. Obtain course listings by visiting
the DEEP website at www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or
calling the Wildlife Division at 860-424-3011.

Age 65+ Annual Licenses: Firearms hunting,
fishing, and trapping licenses are still issued free
to residents who meet hunter education require-
ments. These licenses must be renewed annually.

Hunting by Minors: A person must be 12 years
of age or older to hunt. Persons 12 through 15
years of age must be licensed and accompanied
by a licensed hunter 18 years of age or older while
hunting. A person may not supervise more than 2
minors at one time while hunting. Minors are enti-
tled to their own bag limits. Junior license holders
do not have to purchase a new license if they turn
16 years of age during the same calendar year.

Trapping by Minors: There is no minimum age
requirement for trapping. Persons under age 16
must purchase a Junior Trapping License.

Free License for Hunters with Disabilities: A
person who has permanently lost the use of a limb
may be issued a hunting or trapping license free of
charge (permits, tags not included). Non-residents
are eligible for this free license if their state provides
the same privilege to Connecticut residents. Veri-
fication of the disability, signed by a licensed

Firearms ¢ Ammo

Archery Supplies ¢ Liberty Safes
Bow Repair ® Gunsmithing
Pistol Permit Classes!

Very competitive pricing!

Don’t buy until you’ve stopped by!
203.879.1139 ¢ SportsmensOutpost.com

HOURS
Tuesday-Friday 10AM-7PM e Saturday 9AM-5PM e Sunday 10AM-3PM

physician, must be presented. See page 38 for
more information. These licenses are available at
town clerk and select DEEP offices.

Armed Forces: Any active full-time member of
the U.S. armed forces may purchase a Connect-
icut hunting, fishing or trapping license for
the same fees as a resident. Proof of full-time
membership during the calendar year must be
carried while using the license. These licenses
are only issued at DEEP or town clerk offices.

Lost License: At any time, you can log on to the
Online Sportsmen Licensing system and reprint
your license. You can also go to a licensing vendor
or DEEP office to have your license reprinted.

STAMPS & HIP PERMITS
Pheasant Stamps
* Valid for Calendar Year
e Fees: $28 Resident, $28 Non-Resident
$14 for resident 16 & 17-year-olds
Current firearms hunting license or Small Game
and Archery Deer Permit required. Tags are no

longer required. When purchased, authorization
for pheasant hunting will be printed on your license.

Connecticut Migratory Bird Hunting Authorization
* Valid for Calendar Year

e Fees: $13 Resident, $13 Non-Resident
Junior hunters ages 12-15 are exempt

$7 for resident 16 & 17-year-olds

The actual state stamp no longer needs to be
signed or carried while hunting. If you want
a copy of the actual stamp mailed to you,
answer “yes” to the prompt when selecting the
stamp for purchase. Physical stamps can also
be purchased by mailing a request with the
enclosed fee to DEEP Licensing & Revenue,
79 Elm Street, Hartford, CT 06106.

Connecticut Harvest Information Program (HIP)
Permit
* Valid for Calendar Year
e Fees: $4 Resident, $4 Non-Resident
$2 for resident 16 & 17-year-olds

Federal Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp

¢ Valid from July 1 through June 30

* Fees: $25 Resident $25 Non-Resident
Available at most Post Offices. Also available
by telephone and online. Go to www.fws.gov/
duckstamps for more information. Stamp must be
signed in ink across its face. Junior hunters ages
12-15 are exempt from purchasing a federal stamp.

FISHING/HUNTING GUIDE REGISTRATION

NEW! Anyone providing fishing and hunting
guide services in Connecticut needs to register
annually with DEEP. Guides can register online
using DEEP’s Online Sportsmen Licensing System
(www.ct.gov/deep/sportsmenlicensing), in person at
DEEP offices, or at other vendors where hunting
and fishing licenses and permits are available.
There is a $100.00 fee for this registration.

SNAPPING TURTLE TRAPPING ENDORSEMENT

* Required when using traps to catch snapping
turtles. Available for free online or at DEEP
offices.
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e Season Dates: July 15 — September 30

16 & 17 YEAR-OLD

o . . LICENSES RESIDENT NON-RESIDENT
* Bag Limits: Daily 5, Possession 30, Season 30 RESIDENT
e Size Limit: Minimum 13" shell length Firearms Hunting $19.00 $10.00 $91.00
e Turtle eggs cannot be taken and turtle | Fiearms Hunting & Inland Fishing $38.00 $19.00 $110.00
nests cannot be disturbed without DEEP ['ges i o allwaters Fishing $40.00 $20.00 $120.00
authorization. . ; - —
« Legal Methods: Hand capture, dip net, turtle Firearms Hunting & Marine Waters Fishing $25.00 $13.00 $94.00
hook, ﬂoating or non—ﬂoa[ing turtle trap, or Firearms Supersport " (see below for included items) $70.00 $35.00 —
. f i 2
hook and line. Firearms Supersport with Muzzleloader $84.00 $42.00 -

+ A maximum of 3 turtle traps can be used | (s¢€below forincluded items)
Firearms Supersport Waterfow!®

per individual at any given time, traps must ! ‘ $50.00 $25.00 —
be set in such manner as to allow turtles to (Seé belgwformcludeq o)
surface and breathe and be constructed of 17 | Junior Firearms Hunting (Ages 1210 16) $11.00 — $11.00
minimum mesh size. All traps must have a | Age 65+ Annual Hunting License Free — —
functional escape hole with minimum diam- | Archery Deer/Small Game $41.00 $21.00 $135.00
eter of 7.5 to allow passage of fish and S?na}ler’ Archery Deer/Small Game and All Waters Fishing $65.00 $33.00 —
turtles. Box-type traps cannot exceed 4'x4'x4 T P ——— 0 Y
and hoop-style traps cannot exceed 84”. Traps rehery Supersport'(see below forincluded term) : g —
must be tagged with a plate or tag visible above | Junior Archery Deer/Small Game (Ages 12 to 15) $19.00 — $19.00
the water line bearing the Conservation ID# of | Trapping $34.00 $17.00 $250.00
the trapper. All traps may only be tended by Junior Trapping (Ages 15 and under) $11.00 — —
the authorized trapper and must be checked —

Age 65+ Annual Trapping License Free — —

at least once every 24 hours and emptied of
catch. Any other wildlife captured must be 1 Firearms Supersport License: Includes Firearms Hunting, Private Land Deer Shotgun/Rifle, Private Land Spring Turkey, and

immediately released at the point of capture. All Waters Fishing.

o Traps cannot be used on any body of water 2 Firearms Superspor?with Muzzle!oader License: Includes Firegrms Hunting, Private Land Deer Shotgun/Rifle, Private Land
owned, leased or otherwise under control of Deer Muzzleloader, Private Land Spring Turkey, and All Waters Fishing.
the DEEP. 3 Firearms Supersport Waterfowl License: Includes Firearms Hunting, CT Migratory Bird Hunting Authorization (CT Duck
Stamp), CT HIP Permit, and All Waters Fishing.

4 Archery Supersport License: Includes Archery Deer/Small Game, Private Land Spring Turkey, and All Waters Fishing.
With the Private Land Spring Turkey Permit, you can also use a shotgun if you have a firearms hunting license.

e Using a hook and line to capture snapping
turtles requires a fishing license.
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Licenses & Permits

FIREARMS DEER HUNTING PERMITS

A current firearms hunting license is required to purchase firearms deer permits.
Lottery permits can be applied for starting January 1. See page 24 for details.

No one may purchase both a State Land Lottery Permit and a State Land No-Lottery Permit.
If you are rejected for a lottery permit, you may still purchase a State Land No-Lottery Permit.
Permit fee for resident 16 & 17-year-olds is $10.

Hunter Education
Needs You!

To become a volunteer

DEER PERMITS RESIDENT | NON-RESIDENT OPENING DAY INFO inStrucmr; email

State Land Lottery (includes Controlled Hunt Areas) deep'franklln@Ct'gov or

“A” Season $19.00 $68.00 Nov. 16 page 24 call 860-424-3011
“B” Season $19.00 $68.00 Nov. 26 page 24

State Land No-Lottery

“A” Season $19.00 $68.00 Nov. 16 page 22
“B” Season $19.00 $68.00 Nov. 26 page 22
Private Land Shotgun/Rifle $19.00 $68.00 Nov. 16 page 20
Private Land Muzzleloader $19.00 $68.00 Dec. 7 page 21
State Land Muzzleloader $19.00 $68.00 Dec. 7 page 21

Revolver Deer Endorsement - Fee: $5

Allows persons hunting with a Free Landowner Permit or Connecticut residents hunting with a
Private Land Shotgun/Rifle Permit to use a revolver rather than a rifle or a shotgun to hunt deer
on private lands of at least 10 acres in size.

FALL TURKEY HUNTING PERMITS

* A current firearms hunting license is required to purchase firearms turkey permits.

e A current Small Game and Deer Archery Permit is required to purchase a Fall Archery
Turkey Permit. /

* If you obtain a Landowner Fall Firearms Turkey Permit, you are not eligible to purchase a

Private Land Fall Firearms Turkey Permit.

If you obtain a Landowner Fall Archery Turkey Permit, you are not eligible to purchase a Private

Land Fall Archery Turkey Permit.

Permit fee for resident 16 & 17-year-olds is $10.

Pass on the Tradition

SPORTSMEN’S
DOLLARS AT WORK

Wildlife management is largely funded

FALL TURKEY PERMITS RESIDENT | NON-RESIDENT OPENING DAY INFO through the Federal Aid in Wildlife
Firearms Private Land $19.00 $19.00 Oct. 1 page 19 Restoration Program. This program was
Firearms State Land $19.00 $19.00 Oct. 1 page 19 !mt'a,ted by sportsmen a”d conservathn-
Fall Archery $19.00 $19.00 Sept. 15 page 18 ists in the 1930s to provide states with

funding for wildlife programs. Funds are
derived from a federal excise tax on fire-
arms, ammunition, and archery equip-
ment. These funds are collected from
the manufacturers by the Department
of the Treasury and are

* A current firearms hunting license or a Small Game and Deer Archery Permit is required to
purchase spring turkey permits.
* If you obtain a Landowner Spring Turkey Permit, you are not eligible to purchase a Private

i DL
Land Spring Turkey Permit. ta Op%,? gtg[gfg S ?:rcrv]v”)é?i?é s‘) 1‘%‘
* Permit fee for resident 16 & 17-year-olds is $10. programs ‘a g
SPRING TURKEY PERMITS | RESIDENT | NON-RESIDENT OPENING DAY INFO d}’ORP;‘\’
Private Land $19.00 $19.00 April 27 page 18
State Land $19.00 $19.00 April 27 page 18

To Report a

LANDOWNER HUNTING PERMITS (10 OR MORE CONTIGUOUS ACRES REQUIRED)

* If you obtain a Landowner Spring Turkey Permit, you are not eligible to purchase a Private
Land Spring Turkey Permit.

o If you obtain a Landowner Fall Firearms Turkey Permit, you are not eligible to purchase a
Private Land Fall Firearms Turkey Permit.

¢ Ifyou obtain a Landowner Fall Archery Turkey Permit, you are not eligible to purchase a Private
Land Fall Archery Turkey Permit.

Wildlife Violation

24 HOURS
TOLL FREE

CAL

LANDOWNER PERMITS RESIDENT | NON-RESIDENT OPENING DAY INFO 1 _800_842_ H ELP
Deer Free Free Nov. 1 page 21
Fall Firearms Turkey Free Free Oct. 1 page 19 ALL CALLS CONFIDENTIAL
Fall Archery Turkey Free Free Sept. 15 page 18
Spring Turkey Free Free April 27 page 18
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FISH AND GAME ENFORCEMENT
IN CONNECTICUT

DEEP’s Division of Environmental Conservation (EnCon) Police is responsible
for the enforcement of the State’s wildlife and fisheries laws and to provide
public safety and law enforcement services in Connecticut’s state parks and
forests and on the State’s waterways. The men and women of the Division are
dedicated officers that take pride in their mission that supports the protec-
tion and management of the State’s natural resources. In 2015, three of the
Division’s K-9 units were trained in the detection of certain species of fish
and game. The officers and their Labrador Retriever partners completed three
weeks of fish detection training and two weeks of game detection training
offered by the Connecticut State Police K-9 Unit. The training is the first of its
kind within the New England State Police Administrator Compact (NESPAC.)
No fish and game detection training curriculum existed within NESPAC until
this training program.

“Fish and game detection canines have been used throughout the country to
assist officers in combatting illegal fishing, hunting, and trapping,” said DEEP
Deputy Commissioner Susan Whalen. “It is a credit to our EnCon officers
that were interested in working with their dogs to expand their abilities and
usefulness to the agency. These canines and their handlers will be a valuable
asset when it comes to protecting the State’s natural resources.”

The officers and their canine partners are Officer Holly Bernier and Saydee,
Officer William Logiodice and Ruger, and Officer Karen Reilly and Hunter.
They were originally certified in tracking and evidence recovery in June 2012.
DEEP obtained the dogs from Connecticut Labrador Rescue Inc., in Haddam.

EnCon Officer Erin Crossman (left) and her K-9 partner Ellie Mae
and EnCon Officer Hollie Bernier and her K-9 partner Saydee in the
EnCon Police Division Turn in Poachers (TIP) Trailer.

Through enforcement and education, the
Environmental Conservation Police Division will
continue to provide public safety and protect the
State’s natural resources. We encourage the cit-
izens of Connecticut to take an active role in this
mission by reporting fish and game violations to
our 24-hour toll-free line at 1-800-842-4357.

Thank you and good luck!

Colonel Kyle Overturf
Director - State Environmental Conservation Police
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Hunting Laws & Regulations

The use and possession of firearms, ammunition
and bowhunting equipment is regulated in the
interest of public safety and the conservation of
wildlife. Hunters are also subject to any federal,
state, or municipal firearms regulations. General
restrictions on the use of firearms, air guns and
bowhunting equipment are described below.

INEW! Sunday Hunting: Possession of hunting
implements in the open on Sunday is prima
facie evidence of violation (except for archery
deer hunters on private land in designated Deer
Management Zones). Sunday hunting is allowed
on licensed private shooting preserves and regu-
lated dog training areas when the operator has
permission from the town. Hunting may also take
place on Sunday at permitted field trial events.

Archery deer hunters can hunt on Sundays
on private land only in Deer Management Zones
1,4b,5,6,7,8,9,10, 11, and 12 (see zone map
on page 20). Deer Management Zones 2, 3,
and 4a are NOT open to Sunday archery deer
hunting. All archery deer hunting on Sundays
must take place at least 40 yards away from
blazed hiking trails.

INEW! Deer Management Zone 2 Restriction:
During the Private Land Shotgun/Rifle and Private
Land Muzzleloader seasons, the “Antlerless Only”
tag is NOT valid in Deer Management Zone 2.
Only the “Either-sex” tag will be valid in Zone 2.

Prima Facie Evidence of Hunting: Possession
by any person of a loaded hunting implement
while at or entering or leaving an area where a
reasonable person would believe the objective
was to take wildlife. Except that a person may,
one hour before sunrise during the regulated
deer and turkey firearms hunting seasons, be in
possession of a loaded rifle or shotgun provided
a live round is not in the chamber of the rifle
or shotgun.

Loaded Hunting Implement: (A) a rifle or
shotgun with a live round in the chamber or
in a magazine which is attached to such rifle
or shotgun, a muzzle-loaded firearm with the
primer in place, or a flintlock firearm with
powder in the pan, (B) a bow and arrow with an
arrow notched on the bow, (C) a drawn crossbow
with a bolt in place, or (D) a high velocity air gun
that is charged with a projectile in the chamber
or in a magazine that is attached to such air gun.

Hunting While Under the Influence or Impaired:
No person shall engage in hunting while under
the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug,
or both, or while impaired by the consumption
of intoxicating liquor.

Hunting Near Roads, Buildings, People, and
Domestic Animals: Hunting or shooting from
or across the travelled portion of any public
roadway is prohibited. Shooting toward any
person, building, or domestic animal when
within range is prohibited.

Motor Vehicle/ATV Use: Hunting or shooting
from a motor vehicle is prohibited. The use of
all-terrain vehicles is prohibited on state land
(see exceptions under Hunting Opportunities for
Persons with Disabilities on page 38).

Closed Season: No hunting and no training
of dogs from October 8 through 7:00 a.m., EDT,
on October 15, 2016, except for the hunting of
rails in marshes; waterfowl hunting; legal deer,
turkey, and coyote hunting; licensed private
shooting preserves operating under the provi-
sions of Sec. 26-48; field trials held under the
provisions of Sec. 26-51 and Sec. 26-52; the
training of hunting dogs under the provisions
of Sec. 26-49 of the General Statutes; and the
training of hunting dogs on any area approved
by the department for this purpose. There is also
a closed season for hunting all other wildlife
during the spring wild turkey seasons.

Electronic Calling Devices: The use of elec-
tronic calling devices is prohibited when hunting
migratory birds (except crows) and turkeys. Elec-
tronic calling devices can be used when hunting
crows, coyotes, other small game and deer.

FIREARMS HUNTING

The holder of a firearms hunting license may
use rifles, shotguns, muzzleloaders, handguns,
and high-velocity air guns subject to certain
restrictions.

500 Foot Zone: It is prohibited to hunt with,
shoot, or carry a loaded firearm within 500
feet of any building occupied by people or
domestic animals, or used for storage of flam-
mable material, or within 250 feet of such
buildings when waterfowl hunting in tidal
areas from land shooting positions or from
floating blinds anchored adjacent to land or
from rock positions, unless written permis-
sion for lesser distances is obtained from the

/

NEW LAWS AND REGULATIONS

Public Act 15-204, An Act Authorizing Bow and Arrow Hunting on Certain Private
Property on Sundays, was signed into law in 2015. It authorizes DEEP to establish a
season for Sunday bowhunting for deer on private properties during the fall archery
season in areas of the state with an overpopulation of deer. The law also requires that
all such hunting must take place at least 40 yards away from blazed hiking trails. DEEP
determined that Sunday archery deer hunting on private lands will be permitted in Deer
Management Zones (DMZ) 1, 4b, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12. The three zones where
Sunday hunting will NOT be permitted are DMZs 2, 3, and 4A.

/

owner and carried. Landowners, their spouse,
and lineal descendants are exempt from this
restriction, providing any building involved is
their own. The 500 foot zone does not apply
to bowhunting.

Firearms in Vehicles: It is prohibited to carry a
loaded firearm in a vehicle. This does not apply
to persons with handguns who have a valid
Connecticut permit to carry pistols or revolvers.

Rifles and Handguns: Rifles or handguns
using ammunition larger or heavier than .22
caliber rimfire long rifle are prohibited on state-
owned land. Rifles or handguns of any caliber
are prohibited on State-leased and Permit-
Required Hunting Areas (see Permit-Required
and State-Leased Hunting Area sections for
exceptions). The use of rifles or handguns to
hunt turkeys, waterfowl, or any other federally
regulated migratory game bird (except crows)
is prohibited. Hunting on private land with
ammunition larger than .22 caliber rimfire long
rifle during the private land shotgun/rifle deer
season is prohibited unless the user has a valid
private land deer season permit and landowner
consent form. The use of rifles or revolvers to
hunt deer is subject to additional restrictions (see
Private Land Shotgun/Rifle Season). The use of
ammunition larger or heavier than .22 caliber
rimfire long rifle to hunt raccoon or opossum at
night is prohibited. A person using a handgun
for hunting must possess any required state/town
permits to carry. Note: it is legal to use .17 caliber
rimfire firearms in all situations where it is legal
to use .22 caliber rimfire long rifle firearms.

Shotguns: The possession of shotgun ammuni-
tion larger or heavier than #2 shot is prohibited
on state-owned lands, state-leased lands, and
Permit-Required Hunting Areas,at all times, and
is prohibited on private lands during the Private
Land Shotgun/Rifle Deer Season (see Permit-
Required and State-Leased Hunting Area sections
for exceptions). However, on any lands, water-
fowlers hunting from a boat, blind, or stationary
position may use up to and including size BB steel
shot. The possession of lead shot while hunting
waterfowl is prohibited. The use of shotguns larger
than 10-gauge for hunting waterfowl is prohib-
ited. Shotguns must not be capable of holding
more than 3 shells (2 in the magazine, 1 in the
chamber) when hunting waterfowl, other migra-
tory birds (except crows), deer on state lands, and
turkey. The exception is that unplugged shotguns
are legal to use during the September Canada
goose season. The use of shotguns to hunt deer
or turkey is subject to additional restrictions (see
Deer Hunting and Turkey Hunting).

Muzzleloaders: During Muzzleloader Deer
Seasons, a muzzleloader means a rifle or shotgun,
45 caliber minimum, incapable of firing a self-
contained cartridge, using powder and a single
projectile loaded separately at the muzzle end.
Shotgun converters and telescopic sights are legal.
Restrictions on the use of smoothbore muzzle-
loaders for hunting small game and waterfowl
are the same as those for shotguns. Restrictions
on the use of muzzleloading rifles for hunting
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small game are the same as those for rifles, except
that on state-owned land, up to a .36 caliber
muzzleloading rifle using round ball ammuni-
tion only may be used. A percussion/in-line
muzzleloader with a cap or primer installed, an
electronic muzzleloader with a battery connected
or a flintlock muzzleloader having powder in the
pan is considered a loaded firearm.
High-Velocity Air Guns: Are restricted to those
that use a single ball or pellet-like projectile.
Additional restrictions on the use of air guns
are the same as those for rifles and handguns.

BOWHUNTING

Bowhunter Education: All bowhunters must
show proof when purchasing a small game/
deer archery permit that they have completed
the CE/FS bowhunting course (since 1982) or
its equivalent from another state or country.
If you have previously purchased a 2002, or
later, Connecticut bowhunting license you have
already provided such proof.

Legal Bows and Arrows: For the purposes of
hunting deer and turkey, legal bows include long,
recurved, or compound bows with a minimum
draw weight of 40 pounds and crossbows.
Mechanical string release devices are permitted.
Projectiles coated with any drug, poison or tran-
quilizing substance are prohibited.

Crossbows: The use of crossbows for hunting
deer, turkey and all other species is permitted.
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Legal crosshows must have a minimum draw
weight of 125 pounds and permanent fixed rifle
type stock with a functional mechanical safety
device. Adjustable crossbow stocks are permitted,
but folding stocks are not. The bolt (arrow) length
must be at least 18 inches, excluding the broad-
head. Crossbows are considered loaded when
fully drawn with a bolt in place. Telescopic sights
are permitted.

Legal arrowheads for hunting deer and turkey
must have at least two blades and must be at least
7/sinch wide at its widest point. Arrowheads that
are designed to open on impact are legal provided
they meet the above requirement.

Possession of a Firearm: Possession of a
firearm while bowhunting for deer is prohibited.

DEFINITION OF BAG LIMITS

Daily Limit: the number of a particular species
that may be taken by an individual during a day
(from 12:01 a.m. to 12:00 midnight). While in
the field, a hunter may not have in their posses-
sion more than the daily bag limit for a species.

Possession in Storage: the number of a partic-
ular non-migratory game species kept in storage
may not exceed the cumulative daily bag limits for
that species since the season began, and at no time
can it exceed the season limit. The possession in
storage of migratory game species such as water-
fowl, woodcock, snipe, coots and rail may not
exceed the federally regulated possession limit.

Season Limit: the total number of a particular
species that may be taken during an open season.

PRIVATE LAND PERMISSION

All hunters are required to have permission from
the landowner when hunting on private lands.
Verbal permission for the hunting of species
other than deer and turkey is sufficient.

Deer Hunters and Turkey Hunters: must have
written permission of the landowner for the
current season on official DEEP forms. Copies of
the form do not have to be sent to DEEP, but must
be carried while hunting. Old forms, still avail-
able at some town clerks and DEEP offices, or a
photocopy of the official form found in this guide
must be used. Forms may also be downloaded
from the DEEP website (www.ct.gov/deep/hunting).
The form must be dated for the current season,
indicate the hunting implement types authorized
by the landowner, and have the landowner’s
original signature. A landowner must have a
minimum of 10 acres to authorize the use of
a rifle or revolver for deer hunting. There is
no minimum acreage requirement for using a
shotgun, muzzleloader or archery equipment.

Landowners and Lineal Descendants: are
exempt from the requirement to carry written
permission while hunting deer or turkey on
their own land.

REEENOUMKBIETERS

Affordable trophy whitetail hunts in N.W. Missouri

176 B&C

w.rencjeut:

5-Day, Fully Guided, Fair

Chase Hunts with Lodging

start at only $1,700.00!

Thousands of private acres.
No trophy fees or
hidden charges.

YES YOU CAN!
Ray: 786-319-1367
John: 786-394-3536

Hers.coem
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Hunting Laws & Regulations

LANDOWNER LIABILITY RELEASE

Connecticut law provides protection from
liability to landowners who allow, without a
fee, the recreational use of their property.

Sec. 52-557g. Owner of land available to public
for recreation not liable, when: (b) Except as
provided in section 52-557h, an owner of land
who, either directly or indirectly, invites or permits
without charge, rent, fee, or other commercial
service any person to use such land or part thereof
for recreational purposes does not thereby:

1. Make any representation that the

premises are safe for any purpose;

2. Confer upon such person who enters
or uses such land for such recreational
purposes the legal status of an invitee or
licensee to whom a duty of care is owed;

3. Assume responsibility for or incur liability
for any injury to person or property caused
by an act or omission of such owner.

Sec. 52-557h. Owner liable when: Nothing in
sections 52-557f to 52-5571, inclusive, limits in
any way the liability of any owner of land which
otherwise exists;

a. For willful or malicious failure to guard
or warn against a dangerous condition,
use, structure, or activity;

b. For injury suffered in any case where
the owner of land charges the person or
persons who enter or go on the land for
the recreational use thereof, except that,
in the case of land leased to the state or
subdivision thereof, any consideration
received by the owner for such lease
shall not be deemed a charge within the
meaning of this section.

FLUORESCENT ORANGE REQUIREMENT

During the period September 1 through the last
day of February, hunters (including persons
hunting with deer damage permits) are required
to wear at least 400 square inches of fluorescent
orange clothing above the waist and visible from
all sides. An orange hat, in addition to a coat or
vest, is strongly recommended.

The following hunters are exempt from this

requirement:

e Archery Deer Hunters hunting from
September 15 to November 15 and from
January 1 to January 31.

o Archery Deer Hunters hunting during the
November 16 to December 31 time period
may remove their fluorescent orange clothing
when hunting from an elevated stand at least
10 feet above the ground.

¢ Firearms and Archery Turkey Hunters

¢ Waterfowl Hunters while hunting from boats,
duck blinds, or other stationary positions.

e Crow Hunters while hunting from a blind
or a stationary position.

¢ Coyote and Fox Hunters when hunting from
a blind except during firearms deer seasons
and fall firearms turkey seasons.

e Raccoon and Opossum Hunters when
hunting from 2 hour after sunset until %2
hour before sunrise.

¢ Landowners while hunting deer on their own
property. Family members are still required
to wear fluorescent orange.

YOUTH REGULATIONS

Public Act 14-201, which was signed into law in
2014, established a 50% reduction in all license
fees for resident 16 and 17-year old hunters and
anglers. Additionally, a companion section in
the bill provides a 50% reduction in hunting
and sport fishing permit, tag, and stamp fees
for all resident 16 and 17-year old hunters and
anglers. For more details, check the appropriate
sections of this guide to find out the license,
permit, tag, and stamp fees for resident 16 and
17-year-old hunters.

LICENSE SUSPENSION—REMEDIAL

HUNTER ED REQUIREMENT

In accordance with Connecticut General Statute
26-61, payment of a fine, forfeiture of a bond, or
aplea or judgment of guilty for fishing, hunting,
or trapping violations may result in the suspen-
sion of all sport fishing, hunting, and trapping
licenses and privileges.

To comply with the provisions of C.G.S.
Section 26-31(g), any person having their
hunting license suspended for the following
safety violations will be required to complete
a remedial hunter education course prior to
reinstatement of such license following the
suspension period. Completion of a CE/FS
course is required if the hunter under suspen-
sion has not been previously certified.

Laws

e Sec. 26-62: Hunting related injuries/death to
any person, animal other than a wild animal
or damage to property of another

e Sec. 26-73: Hunting on Sunday

® Sec. 26-74: Use of motor vehicle in hunting

e Sec. 26-91: Taking of migratory birds—viola-
tions for hunting before or after legal hunting
hours

e Sec. 53-204: Hunting from a public highway

® Sec. 53-205: Loaded weapon in a motor
vehicle

e Sec. 53-206d: Carrying of firearm while under
the influence of intoxicating liquor or drug

e Sec. 53a-217e: Negligent Hunting

Regulations — Behavior and Actions of Hunters
e Section 26-66-1:
— (0 hunting before or after legal hours
— (d) hunting within 500' of occupied
buildings
— (e) discharging toward people/animals
or across public roadways
e Section 26-86a-6:
— () hunting before or after legal hours

Individuals wishing to participate in the sport
of falconry must obtain a Connecticut falconry
permit prior to obtaining a falconry bird.
Falconers are required to abide by the same regu-
lations that pertain to other hunters who hunt

small game and waterfowl. Any public hunting
area open for small game or waterfowl hunting
may also be used by falconers. Verbal permission
is required on private lands. Falconers must wear
fluorescent orange and must obtain the same
licenses and permits required for small game
and waterfow] hunting. A non-resident falconry
permit is required prior to any non-resident
practicing falconry in Connecticut. To obtain
application materials or find out more about the
falconry program, please visit the DEEP website
(www.ct.gov/deep/hunting).

TRAP & TARGET SHOOTING

Trap or target shooting on any state property or
public hunting area is prohibited unless the area
is a designated shooting range. There are four
state owned public shooting ranges available
for target shooting, patterning shotguns and
sighting in rifles.

Wooster Mountain State Park Cooperative
Shooting Range: Wooster Mountain State Park,
Danbury. Operated by the Danbury Shooting
Sports Association. Located on Rte. 7, approxi-
mately two miles south of the Danbury Mall.
Clay target shooting allowed. Call 845-279-4513
for daily time and fee schedule.

High Rock Cooperative Shooting Range:
Naugatuck State Forest, Naugatuck. Operated by
the High Rock Shooting Association, Inc. Range
hours: Saturday, 9:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m.; Sunday,
12:00 noon — 5:00 p.m. Range fee: $5.00 for the
first hour, fractional for more time. No clay targets
allowed. State pistol permit required to shoot
handguns. Call 860-491-9921 for information.

Glastonbury Public Shooting Range:
Meshomasic State Forest, Glastonbury. Entry
at Toll Gate Road. Range hours: Saturday and
Sunday, 10:00 a.m. — 2:00 p.m, depending on
the availability of range staff. Two hour periods.
Paper targets only, clay targets not allowed. No
range fees. Reservations can now be obtained
through the Online Sportsmen Licensing System
(www.ct.gov/deep/sportsmenlicensing) for shooters
18 and older. The individual requesting the
reservation must have a CT Conservation 1D
number in order to access the online system.
Reservations may also be made on Mondays
only from 9:00 AM until 9:00 PM by calling
the Range Reservation line at 860-424-3737 or
sending an email to glastonburyrange@ct.gov.

Nye Holman Field Archery Range: Nye Holman
State Forest, Tolland. Entrance on South River
Road. Field course available to public at all times
unless posted otherwise. Field points only,
arrows with broadheads are strictly prohibited.

DEALING WITH HARASSMENT

All hunters, regardless of where they hunt,
should be prepared for the possibility of being
harassed. Your behavior if you are harassed is
extremely important. Maintain your composure
and do not retaliate. If you are interviewed by
the media, project a positive image.
Connecticut has a hunter harassment law that
protects the rights of sportsmen. If you decide to
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press charges, make sure you have a strong case
by: (1) making it evident that the antagonists are
following you by going in several directions, (2)
asking your antagonists why they are harassing
you, (3) being able to identify and describe the

individuals, (4) taking the license numbers of
their vehicles if possible, and (5) not responding
with violence or threatening a protester with
bodily harm.

/

2016 JUNIOR HUNTER TRAINING DAYS

Regulations designate certain days for youth hunting in Connecticut. On these days, licensed
junior hunters (12 to 15 years of age) may hunt when accompanied by a licensed adult hunter
18 years of age or older. The adult mentor may not carry a firearm and at all times must remain
within physical contact in a position to provide direct supervision and instruction. These training
days will provide junior hunters with an opportunity to learn safe and effective hunting prac-
tices from experienced hunters. Check out the Junior Hunter webpage on the DEEP website
(www.ct.gov/deep/JuniorHunter) to learn about special events, activities, and information
for junior hunters.

SPRING TURKEY:
Saturday, April 16 through
Saturday, April 23, 2016 (excluding Sunday)

e Private Land: Licensed junior hunter must have a valid spring season private land turkey
permit and written consent from landowner. Adult mentor must have a valid spring season
turkey permit and written consent from the landowner. Adult mentor may assist in calling
turkeys. Hunting hours for Junior Hunter Training Days only: 2 hour before sunrise to 5:00
p.m. Harvested turkeys must be reported by telephone or internet.

e State Land: Licensed junior hunter must have a spring season state land turkey permit. Adult
mentor must have a valid spring season turkey permit of any permit type. Adult mentor may
assist in calling turkeys. Hunting hours for Junior Hunter Training Days only: %2 hour before
sunrise to 5:00 p.m. Harvested turkeys must be reported by telephone or internet.

PHEASANT:
Saturday, October 8, 2016

e Private Lands Only: Youth participants must possess a current junior hunting license and
pheasant stamp. There may be exceptions if hunting on a private shooting preserve or a
hunting club property with a pheasant stamp exemption. Youth must be accompanied by an
adult at least 18 years of age. Adults must possess a valid hunting license; however, they are
not allowed to carry a firearm.

WATERFOWL.:

See Current Migratory Bird Hunting Guide

e Participants must possess a valid junior hunting license and a HIP permit and be accompanied
by an adult at least 18 years of age. Adults must possess a valid hunting license; however, they
are not allowed to carry a firearm. Ducks, geese, mergansers and coots may be hunted. Bag
limits and shooting hours are the same as for the regular duck and goose hunting seasons.

DEER:

Saturday, November 5 through

Saturday, November 12, 2016 (excluding Sunday)

e Private Land: Licensed junior hunter must have a valid private land shotgun/rifle deer permit and
written consent from landowner. Adult mentor must have a valid private land deer permit and writ-
ten consent from the landowner. Harvested deer must be reported by telephone or internet.

e State Land: Licensed junior hunter must have a state land shotgun deer permit (Lottery or
No-Lottery). Adult mentor must have a valid deer permit of any type. Deer hunting on Junior
Hunter Training Days is permitted on any Lottery or No-Lottery Deer area, regardless of area
designated on the permit, with the following exceptions:

1. Yale Forest, MDC Barkhamsted Reservoir Barkhamsted East Block, MDC Barkhamsted
Reservoir Hartland East Block, MDC Nepaug Reservoir Valentine Block, and MDC Nepaug
Reservoir Pine Hill Block are not open during Junior Hunter Training Days.

2. Centennial Watershed State Forest and Bristol Water Company are only open to junior hunters
who have been awarded a permit for these areas.

Harvested deer must be reported by telephone or internet.

Does an old

Criminal
Record

keep you from
possessing
firearms?

You may be eligible
to have your record cleared.

Call for a free consultation.

Ralph D. Sherman
Attorney at Law

NRA Life Member & Instructor

(860) 229-0213

www.ralphdsherman.com

CONNECTICUT
WATERFOWL
ASSOCATION

Founded in 1967, supporting
waterfowl conservation in CT

o All funds spent ONLY in CT

¢ Annual fund-raising banquet with great
raffle prizes!

¢ Wood duck box program

* Youth/Novice Hunter Mentoring Program

* Quarterly Newsletter focused on CT!

Please join today - www.ctwaterfowlers.org

1156 Main St., Branford, CT
203-488-1776
www.tgs-outdoors.com

Guns e Ammo o AcCESSORIES
BeneLLi « RemingTon o WinchesTer  MossBeRG
Hengy  BrowninG © FRANCHI o SavaGE
Books e Oprics « Tareers © Knives o FLasHLIGHTS

Hours: Mon-Fri 10a-6p ® Thu 10a-7p @ Sar 10a-5p
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Small Game Hunting

SMALL GAME HUNTING SEASONS

Licensing and permit costs are listed on
page 8-10. Specific laws and regulations
for each season are below. Remember, you must
have verbal permission to hunt small game on
private lands.

PHEASANT HUNTING
Season Dates Jan. 1 - Feb. 29 and Oct. 15 —
Dec. 31

Bag Limits Daily (2); Season (10)

Hunting Hours ' hour before sunrise to ¥2 hour
after sunset, except on Oct. 15 (7:00 a.m. until
% hour after sunset)

License & Permits Firearms or Archery Hunting
License, and Pheasant Stamp Authorization

Legal Firearms See firearms and ammunition
regulations on pages 12—13.

Special Conditions

» Landowners hunting pheasants on their own
land are exempt from stamp requirements, but
are still restricted to daily and season bag limits.
Private hunting clubs can apply for exemption
from stamp requirements. Contact Wildlife
Division for details. Members and guests of
such exempt clubs are not subject to seasonal
bag limits when hunting on club lands. They
are also exempt from daily bag limits if they
use club tags on all pheasants taken on such
club lands. Club tags must be applied immedi-
ately upon kill and contain club name, hunting
license number and date taken. Pheasants iden-
tified in this manner do not count towards the
statewide daily limit of two.

e Junior Hunter Training Day: Saturday,
October 8, 2016. See page 15 for details.

OTHER UPLAND GAME BIRDS

Species Ruffed Grouse, Quail, Chukar
Partridge, Crow

Season Dates
* Ruffed Grouse: Oct. 15 — Nov. 30
¢ Quail: Oct. 15 - Oct. 29
¢ Chukar Partridge: Jan. 1-9 and Oct. 15 —
Dec. 31
» Crow: Hunting only on certain days.
Jan. 9 — Mar. 26: Mon through Sat
Aug. 13 — Oct. 7: Wed, Fri, Sat
Oct. 15 — Nov. 30: Wed, Fri, Sat

Bag Limits

¢ Ruffed Grouse: Daily (1); Season (8)

¢ Quail: Daily (2); Season (10)

¢ Chukar Partridge: Daily (2), Season (10)
¢ Crow: No limit

Hunting Hours ‘4 hour before sunrise to %2 hour
after sunset, except on Oct. 15 (7:00 a.m. until
142 hour after sunset)

License & Permits Firearms or Archery Hunting
License

Legal Firearms Sce firearms and ammunition
regulations on pages 12-13.

Special Conditions

¢ Extended Quail Season: Quail may be
hunted at the Nod Brook WMA and the
Flaherty, Mansfield, and Sugarbrook Field
Trial Areas from Jan. 1-9 and from Oct. 15—
Dec. 31

* Crow Hunting: While crow hunting from a
stationary position a hunter is exempt from
the fluorescent orange clothing regulation
(see page 14).

WOODCOCK, SNIPE & RAIL HUNTING

Season Dates See Migratory Bird Hunting Guide
Bag Limits See Migratory Bird Hunting Guide

Hunting Hours See Migratory Bird Hunting
Guide

License & Permits Firearms or Archery Hunting
License and a Connecticut HIP permit.

Legal Firearms Shotguns are the only firearms
which may be used. Shotguns must be capable of
holding no more than 3 shells. See ammunition
regulations for shotguns on pages 12-13.

Special Conditions

* Federal Regulations: in addition to Connect-
icut hunting laws, migratory bird hunters are
subject to all Federal Laws and Regulations.

WATERFOWL HUNTING

Species Duck, Merganser, Goose, Coot

Season Dates See Migratory Bird Hunting
Guide

Bag Limits See Migratory Bird Hunting Guide
Hunting Hours See Migratory Bird Hunting Guide

License & Permits Firearms or Archery Hunting
License. Connecticut HIP permit. Federal Migra-
tory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp and
Connecticut Migratory Bird Hunting Authoriza-
tion also required for hunters 16 years or older.
See page 8 for information about obtaining
the CT stamp. Note, federal waterfowl stamps
are not valid unless signed in ink on the face
of the stamp.

Legal Firearms Shotguns are the only firearms
which may be used. Refer to the Migratory Bird
Hunting Guide for regulations regarding the
number of shells a shotgun may hold.

Special Conditions

» Non-Toxic Shot: Non-toxic shot is required
for waterfowl hunting. The maximum size
shot allowed is BB for steel and #2 for other
federally approved non-toxic shot types.

* Possession of Lead Shot: possessing lead
shot while waterfow!] hunting is a violation.

* Federal Regulations: in addition to Connect-
icut hunting laws, waterfowl hunters are
subject to all Federal Laws and Regulations.

* No Hunting Buffer Zone: while hunting in
tidal areas from land or from floating blinds
anchored to land or rock positions, the no
hunting buffer zone around permanent build-
ings is 250 feet (see 500 Foot Regulation on
page 12).

* Fluorescent Orange Clothing: while hunting
waterfowl from boats or stationary positions a
hunter is exempt from the fluorescent orange
clothing regulation (see page 14).

* Junior Hunter Training Days: See Migratory
Bird Hunting Guide for details.

SMALL GAME MAMMALS
Species Gray Squirrel, Cottontail Rabbit, Snow-
shoe Hare, European Hare, Woodchuck

Season Dates

* Gray Squirrel: Jan. 1 — Feb. 29, Sept. 1-30,
and Oct. 15 — Dec. 31

¢ Cottontail Rabbit: Jan. 1 — Feb. 29 and
Oct. 15— Dec. 31

¢ Snowshoe Hare: Jan. 1-30 and Nov. 19 —
Dec. 31

* European Hare: Jan. 1 —Feb. 29 and Oct. 15
— Dec. 31

* Woodchuck: March 15 — April 26, May 30 —
Oct. 7 and Oct. 15— Nov. 15

/

GOT WILDLIFE?

Share your passion for wildlife by ordering a
subscription to Connecticut Wildlife magazine.

www.ct.gov/deep/wildlifemagazine

See page 27 of this guide for an order form.
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Bag Limits
e Gray Squirrel: Daily (8); Season (40)

¢ Cottontail Rabbit: Daily (3); Season (25)
* Snowshoe Hare: Daily (2); Season (10)

e European Hare: Daily (1); Season (10)

¢ Woodchuck: No Limit

Hunting Hours 2 hour before sunrise to %2 hour
after sunset, except on Oct. 15 (7:00 a.m. until
14 hour after sunset)

License & Permits Firearms or Archery Hunting
License

Legal Firearms See firearms and ammunition
regulations on pages 12-13.

Special Gonditions None

FOX & COYOTE HUNTING

Species Red Fox, Gray Fox, Coyote

Season Dates

* Red & Gray Foxes: Jan. 1 — Feb. 29 and
Oct. 15 = Dec. 31

e Coyote: Jan. 1 — April 26, May 30 — Dec. 31

Bag Limits

* Red & Gray Foxes (combined Daily and
Season Limits): Daily (3); Season (30)

* Coyote: Daily (No Limit); Season (No Limit)

Hunting Hours: ': hour before sunrise to ¥ hour
after sunset, except on Oct. 15 (7:00 a.m. until
14 hour after sunset)

License & Permits Firearms or Archery Hunting
License

Legal Firearms See firearms and ammunition
regulations on pages 12-13.

Special Conditions Foxes and coyotes taken
by hunting must be reported by telephone
(1-877-337-4868) or online at www.ct.gov/deep/
Hunting. Or, they can be pelt tagged (see Pelt
Tagging on page 44).

RACCOON & OPOSSUM HUNTING

Season Dates Jan. 1-16 and Oct 15 — Dec. 31

Bag Limits

e Raccoon: Daily (5); Season (No Limit)

e Opossum: Daily (No Limit); Season (No
Limit)

Hunting Hours No restrictions on state-owned
lands open to hunting and on private lands
where landowners have given permission.

License & Permits Firearms or Archery Hunting
License

Legal Firearms See firearms and ammunition
regulations on pages 12-13. Also, when
hunting at night, rifles or handguns using
ammunition larger than .22 caliber rimfire long
rifle, or shotgun shells larger than #2 shot may
not be used.

Special Conditions Tt is illegal to take raccoons
or opossums with the use of a light from a motor
vehicle.

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting

‘a' QKDogs.com

FOR ALL YOUR TRAINING AND BOARDING NEEDS

Gun Dog Training for Retrievers, Flushing Dogs and Pointers
All-Breed Obedience, Behavior Problems and Private Lessons

Pre-season tune ups and fitness training, live bird work, hunt test and
field trial preparation for Spaniels, Pointers and Retrievers.

860-546-2116 | contact@QKDogs.com

HEAD START PUPPY PROGRAM

Enroll in our 2 week program for pups 10
weeks and up. Let us put your pup on birds,
condition to gun shot and get a great
foundation for future training.

GE |5 NOW OPEN!

THE LI

features state-of-the-art boarding, grooming, performance
fitness, wellness and canine rehabilitation.
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Turkey Hunting

TURKEY HUNTING SEASONS

Licensing and permit costs are listed on page 8-10. Specific laws
and regulations for each turkey season are below.

SPRING TURKEY SEASONS

Season Dates

e April 27 — May 28 State Land

e April 27 — May 28 Private Land
e April 27 — May 28 Landowner

Bag Limits
e State Land Permit: 2 Bearded birds
¢ Private Land Permit: 3 Bearded birds

Hunting Hours %2 hour before sunrise to 12 noon.

License & Permits Firearms hunting license or Small Game and Deer
Archery Permit and a spring turkey permit. You may obtain both a
private land (either Private Land or Free Landowner) and a state land
spring turkey permit.

Legal Firearms Shotguns, 20 gauge or larger, with #4, 5, 6, 7 or 72 shot.
Shotguns must not be capable of holding more than 3 shells.

Legal Bows See page 13 for a description of legal bows and arrows for
turkey hunting. Mechanical string release devices are permitted.

Special Conditions

* State Land Hunting: See tables on pages 40—43 for state lands
open for spring turkey hunting.

» Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34 for information on
tagging and reporting.

* Private Land Permission: Signed written consent of the landowner

Pa¥Ko

PLANTATION

MIDWAY, ALABAMA
Est. 1954

Hunt prime land in Barbour
& Bullock Counties.

- Highest deer density in Alabama. Coyotes and bobcats (no charge, no limit with paid
deer hunt)

- 6,000 acre family-owned plantation. NO LEASED LAND.

-50 Food Plots with elevated shooting houses surrounded by pines and oak bottoms.

- New cottages with private bedrooms and baths. First class lodge. All meals included.

- Quail Hunts - Half Day and Full Day - Unlimited Birds!

To plan your hunt,
call J. Paul Taylor at
877.539.5699

Visit us at
www.pa-ko.com

on official forms for current season must be carried while hunting
(see page 35).

e Decoys: Decoys may be used, but live decoys are prohibited.

e Free Landowner Permits: Only available to persons owning 10 or
more contiguous acres of land.

e Junior Hunter Training Days: Saturday, April 16 through Saturday,
April 23 (excluding Sunday). See page 15 for details.

FALL ARCHERY TURKEY SEASONS

Season Dates
¢ Jan. 1 -]Jan. 30 Private Lands (Zones 11-12)
e Sept. 15— Dec. 31 Private Lands (All Zones)

e Sept. 15—-Nov. 15 State Land
Dec. 21 — Dec. 31

e Sept. 15— Dec. 31 State Land Bowhunting Only Areas

Bag Limit 2 Either Sex
Hunting Hours ' hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Small Game & Deer Archery Permit and Fall Archery
Turkey Permit. You may obtain only one type of fall archery turkey permit
(either a state/private land permit or a free landowner permit).

Legal Bows See page 13 for a description of legal bows and arrows for
turkey hunting. Mechanical string release devices are permitted.

Special Conditions

e Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34 for information on
tagging and reporting.

 Private Land Permission: Signed written consent of the landowner
on official forms for current season must be carried while hunting
(see page 35).

easant Hunts
Northern Plains Outfitters, Inc. is proud to offer the

Best WILD South Dakota
Pheasant Hunting in the World!

We can tailor your pheasant hunt to your every need. From corporate
hunting outings tosmall family affairs, we've got it all!

www.NorthernPlainsQutfitters.com - 605-380-9971
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e Decoys: Decoys may be used, but live decoys are prohibited.

¢ State Land Hunting: See tables on pages 40—43 for listing of lands
open to fall bow hunting.

¢ Free Landowner Permits — only available to persons owning 10 or
more contiguous acres of land.

FALL FIREARMS TURKEY SEASONS

Season Dates

¢ Oct. 1 -=Oct.31  State Land
¢ Oct. 1-0ct. 31 Private Land
e Oct.1-0Oct.31 Landowner

Bag Limits
¢ State Land: 1 Either Sex
¢ Private Land: 2 Either Sex

Hunting Hours ' hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Firearms hunting license and a Fall Firearms Turkey
Permit. You may obtain both a private land (either Private Land or Free
Landowner) and a state land fall firearms turkey permit.

Legal Firearms Shotguns, 20 gauge or larger, with #4, 5, 6, 7 or 72 shot.
Shotguns must not be capable of holding more than 3 shells.

Special Conditions

e State Land Hunting: See table on pages 40—43 for open state land
hunting areas.

» Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34 for information on tagging
and reporting,

e Private Land Permission: Signed written consent of the landowner on offi-
cial forms for current season must be carried while hunting (see page 35).

e Decoys: Decoys may be used, but live decoys are prohibited.

¢ Free Landowner Permits - only available to persons owning 10 or
more contiguous acres of land.

TURKEY HUNTING PROHIBITED ACTIVITIES

 The use of bait, electronic calling devices, live decoys or animals (including
dogs) to hunt wild turkeys is prohibited. Except that a dog may be used to
hunt turkey during the fall firearms season on private lands only.

* You may not call turkeys for another hunter. Exceptions:

— Ifyou have a current state land permit with or without unused tags
remaining, you may call for another hunter hunting with a state
land permit.

— 1If you have a current private land permit with or without unused
tags remaining and a signed consent form for a private land parcel,
you may call for another hunter hunting on that private land parcel.

* You may not attempt to take turkeys by participating in a cooperative drive.
* You may not shoot turkeys from a building or other permanent structure.
* You may not shoot turkeys roosting in trees.

TAGGING & REPORTING TURKEY KILLS

Immediately upon killing a turkey, complete and sign a Harvest Tag and
keep it with the carcass at all times. The Harvest Tag must remain with
the turkey until it is cut up for consumption. See pages 27-34 for
more information on Harvest Tags and reporting.

TURKEY HUNTER SURVEYS

Anybody who obtains a turkey permit, may be asked to respond to a
survey concerning their turkey hunting activities. Even if you did not hunt,
you should complete the survey. Information gathered from the survey is
important to the management of Connecticut’s wild turkey population.
Surveys may be conducted by mail, telephone, or the internet.

TURKEY HUNTING SEMINARS

Turkey hunting seminars are held each spring. Watch your newspaper and
www.ct.gov/deep/hunting for times and locations, or contact the Wildlife
Division (860-424-3011) for further information.

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting

/

FUNDAMENTAL RULES FOR
SAFE GUN HANDLING: ACTT

The most common causes of hunting-related shooting incidents are
failure to identify the target, shooter swinging on game, and careless
handling of a firearm. ALWAYS follow these rules for safe gun handling:

e Assume the firearm is LOADED.

e Control the MUZZLE; keep the MUZZLE pointed in a safe direction.
e Trigger: keep your finger off the TRIGGER until ready to shoot.

e Target: be sure of the TARGET and what lies beyond.

We PRIDE ourselves on our

competitive pricing for guns,

ammo and accessories!

We are an outdoor sporting goods retailer specializing in

Archery, Hunting, Fishing, Firearms and much more.

860.:738.8999

NorthwestSportingGoods.com
Rowley Street - Winsted, CT
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Deer Hunting Seasons

Licensing and permit costs are listed on
page 8-10. Specific laws and regulations
for each deer season are below.

ARCHERY DEER

Season Dates
e Jan. 1-]Jan. 31 — Private Lands (Zones 11-12)

e Sept. 15— Dec. 31 —Private Lands (All Zones)

e Sept. 15 — Nov. 15 — State Land
Dec. 21 — Dec. 31
e Sept. 15 — Dec. 31 — State Land Bowhunting
Only Areas

Bag Limits 2 Either Sex and 2 Antlerless
(4 Total); additional bag of 1 Either Sex and
1 Antlerless (2 Total) during the Jan 1-31 season
on private lands in Zones 11 and 12.

Hunting Hours 2 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Small Game & Deer Archery
Permit. Must show proof of completion of the
CE/FS bowhunting course (since 1982) or its
equivalent from another state or country when
purchasing a small game/deer archery permit.
A previous CT bowhunting permit purchased
in 2002 or later also qualifies.

Legal Bows See page 13 for a description of
legal bows and arrows for deer hunting. Mechan-
ical string release devices are permitted. There is
no minimum acreage requirement for bowhunting,

Special Conditions

* Possession of a Firearm: Possession of a
firearm while bowhunting for deer is prohibited.

» Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34
for information on tagging and reporting.

e Private Land Permission: Signed written
consent of the landowner on official forms for
current season must be carried while hunting
(see page 35).

e State Land Hunting: See tables on pages
40-43 for listing of lands open to archery
deer hunting. Certain state lands that do not
allow firearms deer hunting are designated
as bowhunting only areas. These lands are
open to deer bowhunting during the state
land shotgun and muzzleloader deer seasons
(Nov. 16 — Dec. 20).

* Fluorescent Orange: Bowhunters are required
to wear 400 sq. in. of fluorescent orange from
Nov. 16 — Dec. 31. Bowhunters may remove
fluorescent orange clothing while in a tree
stand at least 10 feet off the ground.

¢ Decoys: Decoys may be used during the early
and late archery deer seasons, but must be
covered with 400 sq. in. of fluorescent orange
during transport. Decoys can not be used
during the Nov. 16 — Dec. 31 time period.

* Replacement Tags: Available for this
permit type. See page 26 for details.

e Notice: Saturday, November 5 through
Saturday, November 12 (excluding Sunday) are

Junior Hunter Training Days and junior hunters
with firearms deer permits may be hunting
with firearms. See page 15 for details.

* Sunday Archery Deer Hunting: Archery deer
hunters can hunt on Sundays on private land
only in Deer Management Zones 1, 4b, 5, 6, 7,
8,9, 10, 11, and 12 (see zone map below). Deer
Management Zones 2, 3, and 4a are NOT open
to Sunday archery deer hunting. All archery
deer hunting on Sundays must take place at
least 40 yards away from blazed hiking trails.

PRIVATE LAND SHOTGUN/RIFLE

Season Dates Nov. 16 — Dec. 6

Bag Limits 1 Either Sex and 1 Antlerless (2
total); Zone 7: 1 Additional Antlerless; Zones
11 and 12: 2 Additional Antlerless; “Antlerless
Only” tag not valid in Zones 2 and 4a. Only the
“Either-sex” tag will be valid in Zones 2 and 4a.

Hunting Hours 2 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Firearms hunting license and
Private Land Shotgun/Rifle Deer permit. Note:
Revolver Deer Endorsement is also required if
using a revolver.

Legal Firearms 12, 16, or 20 gauge breech
loading shotgun loaded with single soft alloy
projectile ammunition. Rifled or smoothbore
barrels allowed. Centerfire rifle 6mm (243
caliber) or larger or revolver .357 caliber or larger
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may be used if the landholding is 10 or more
acres and the landowner has authorized use on
the consent form. To use a revolver, you must
also have Revolver Deer Endorsement for the
current season. Muzzleloading rifle or shotgun,
45 caliber minimum. Single projectile loaded
from muzzle end. Telescopic sights and shotgun
converters are permitted. No minimum acreage
required for shotguns or muzzleloaders.

Special Conditions

e Tagging and Reporting: See page 27-34
for information on tagging and reporting.

e Private Land Permission: Signed written
consent of the landowner on official forms for
current season must be carried while hunting
(see page 35).

* Replacement Tags: Available for this permit
type. See page 26 for details.

¢ Junior Hunter Training Days: Saturday,
November 5 through Saturday, November 12
(excluding Sunday). See page 15 for details.

PRIVATE LAND MUZZLELOADER

Season Dates Dec. 7 — Dec. 31

Bag Limits 1 Either Sex and 1 Antlerless (2
total); Zone 7: 1 Additional Antlerless; Zones
11 and 12: 2 Additional Antlerless; “Antlerless
Only” tag not valid in Zones 2 and 4a. Only the
“Either-sex” tag will be valid in Zones 2 and 4a.

Hunting Hours 2 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Firearms hunting license and
private land muzzleloader deer permit.

Legal Firearms Muzzleloading rifle or shotgun,
45 caliber minimum. Single projectile loaded
from muzzle end. Telescopic sights and shotgun
converters are permitted. No minimum acreage
required for muzzleloaders.

Special Conditions

» Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34
for information on tagging and reporting.

* Private Land Permission: Signed written
consent of the landowner on official forms for
current season must be carried while hunting
(see page 35).

* Replacement Tags: Available for this permit
type. See page 26 for details.

STATE LAND MUZZLELOADER

Season Dates Dec. 7 — Dec. 20
Bag Limits 1 Either Sex
Hunting Hours: 2 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Firearms hunting license and
state land muzzleloader deer permit.

Legal Firearms Muzzleloading rifle or shotgun
45 caliber minimum. Single projectile loaded

from muzzle end. Telescopic sights and shotgun
converters are permitted.

Special Conditions

e Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34
for information on tagging and reporting.

e State Land Hunting: See tables on pages
40-43 for listing of state lands open to
muzzleloader deer hunting.

FREE LANDOWNER DEER SEASON

Available for persons owning 10 or more acres of
land.

Season Dates
Nov. 1 — Dec. 31

Bag Limits
1 Either Sex and 1 Antlerless (2 total)

Hunting Hours
/2 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits

Free Landowner Deer Permit. Appropriate
hunting license required if landowner does not
live on qualifying property. Note: Revolver Deer
Endorsement is also required if using a revolver.
For hunting with a bow, a Small Game & Deer
Archery Permit is required even for landowners
living on the property.
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Deer Hunting Seasons

Legal Firearms

12, 16, or 20 gauge shotgun loaded with single
soft alloy projectile ammunition. Rifled or
smoothbore barrels allowed. Centerfire rifle
6mm (.243 caliber) or larger, revolver .357 caliber
or larger, or muzzleloader (45 caliber minimum).
To use a revolver, you must also have Revolver
Deer Endorsement for the current season.

AMERICA'S BEST DEHYDRATOR

THE BEST MACHINE
for MAKING JERKY

Legal Bows

See page 13 for a description of legal bows
and arrows for deer hunting. Mechanical string
release devices are permitted.

Special Conditions

Free Landowner Permits are available only to

persons owning 10 or more contiguous acres of

land. Additional permits are available for their

spouses, lineal descendants, parents, grandpar-

ents and siblings.

e Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34
for information on tagging and reporting.

¢ Fluorescent Orange: Landowners hunting
deer on their own land are not required to
wear 400 sq. in. of fluorescent orange, but their
spouse, lineal descendants, parents, grandpar-
ents and siblings are required to do so.

STATE LAND NO-LOTTERY

Season Dates
e Nov. 16 — Nov. 25 No-Lottery “A” Permits
e Nov. 26 -Dec. 6  No-Lottery “B” Permits

Bag Limits 1 Either Sex

Hunting Hours Y4 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Firearms hunting license
and either a State Land No-Lottery “A” Permit
or a State Land No-Lottery “B” Permit. You may
buy only one type of State Land Shotgun Deer
Permit. So, you should not purchase a State
Land No-Lottery Permit if you plan on applying
for a State Land Lottery or Controlled Hunt
Lottery Permit.

Legal Firearms 12, 16, or 20 gauge breech
loading shotgun loaded with single soft alloy
projectile ammunition. Rifled or smoothbore
barrels allowed. Shotgun must not be capable
of holding more than 3 shells. Muzzleloading
rifle or shotgun, 45 caliber minimum. Single
projectile loaded from muzzle end. Telescopic
sights and shotgun converters are permitted.

Special Conditions

» Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34
for information on tagging and reporting.

* Open Areas: See pages 40-43 for areas
open for the No-Lottery “A” and “B” seasons.

* Junior Hunter Training Days: Saturday,
November 5 through Saturday, November 12
(excluding Sunday). See page 15 for details.

See pages 27-29 and 34 for how to tag
and report Deer and Turkeys.

PRESERVE YOUR WILD GAME

Marinate, Dehydrate, Eat or Store

Hunting Lodge, Inc.

* Father/Son Hunts
* Corporate Discounts

Sl for 8 or moge
> TURKEY > WATERFOWL ® Great Prices!
> SALMON > SMALL GAME

www.Drying123.com

SPECIALS FOR SPORTSMEN

www.excaliburdehydrator.com/hunter-specials
FREE GROUND SHIPPING IN THE CONTINENTAL US

(No Trophy Fees)

* Great Lodging
With Excellent

Meals

Book Your WMMV Now!

www.southemhuntmg.com

William Lyon 334-467-1830
Dave Lyon 334-412-3368

— Alabama’s Black Belt —
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CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE (CWD)

What is CWD? CWD is a naturally occurring disease of the brain and ner-
vous system in deer and elk. It attacks the brain of deer and elk, producing
small lesions that eventually result in death. CWD was first recognized in
the late 1960s in a herd of captive mule deer in Colorado. Although the
disease was discovered over 30 years ago, it recently has received much
media attention because of its discovery in free-ranging deer in southern
Wisconsin and western Colorado. Only four species, mule deer, white-tailed
deer, moose and elk, appear to be naturally susceptible to CWD. Domestic
livestock and humans are not known to be susceptible to CWD.

Where is CWD found? Prior to 2005, the disease had only been found in
North America west of lllinois. In 2005, CWD was documented in captive and
free-ranging herds in New York and in free-ranging herds in West Virginia. Since
then, it has also been discovered in several other states. CWD has not been
found in Connecticut or New England. States and Canadian provinces where
CWD has been confirmed include: Colorado, Wyoming, Utah, New Mexico,
Montana, South Dakota, Kansas, Minnesota, Wisconsin, lllinois, Nebraska,
Oklahoma, New York, West Virginia, Michigan, Virginia, Maryland, Missouri,
North Dakota, lowa, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Texas, Alberta, and Saskatchewan.

What is CT doing about CWD? Connecticut, along with many other states,
banned the importation of live cervids (species in the deer/elk family) across
state lines. In 2005, Connecticut passed an emergency regulation banning
the importation of whole carcasses or parts thereof of any deer or elk from
wild or captive herds from other states or Canadian Provinces where Chronic
Wasting Disease has been confirmed. The ban on importation did not apply

to meat that was de-boned, cleaned skullcaps, hides or taxidermy mounts.
The regulation became permanent in 2007.

From 2003 to 2011, the DEEP Wildlife Division tested hunter and vehicle-
killed deer as part of a nationwide CWD monitoring and surveillance pro-
gram. Due to a loss of funding, only deer exhibiting symptoms of CWD
were tested from 2012-2013. In 2014, CWD testing resumed thanks to a
cooperative effort between the Stewart B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge
and the DEEP Wildlife Division, and with financial assistance from the U.S.
Fish and Wildlife Service, National Wildlife Refuge System.

How do | know if an animal has CWD? As the disease advances, infected
animals begin displaying abnormal behavior, such as staggering or standing
with very poor posture. Infected animals become emaciated and appear
to be in very poor health. The only efficient method to diagnose CWD is to
dispatch the animal and examine the brain tissue for lesions. Anyone observ-
ing a deer exhibiting symptoms of CWD should notify the DEEP Wildlife
Division (860-424-3011) or the DEEP’s 24-hour line (1-800-842-HELP).
If the animal is dispatched, the head should be kept intact so that a brain
sample can be collected for testing.

Should hunters be concerned? No known link exists between CWD and
humans, however, health officials advise hunters not to consume meat from
animals known to be infected with CWD and recommend boning out meat.
As usual, hunters should continue to employ normal precautions when
field dressing deer, such as wearing rubber gloves. Concerns about CWD
should not keep hunters from participating in Connecticut’s deer seasons.

/

on facebook

Join the conversation with
15 Million hunting fans!

Join today!
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Deer Lottery

STATE LAND & CONTROLLED HUNT LOTTERY

Season Dates
e Nov. 16 — Nov. 25 Lottery “A” Season

e Nov.26-Dec. 6  Lottery “B” Season

Bag Limits 1 Either Sex on State Land Areas;
variable on Controlled Hunt Areas

Hunting Hours !4 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Firearms hunting license and
a state land lottery permit or a controlled hunt
area lottery permit. Only one of these permit
types may be bought each year. Lottery permits
for state land and controlled hunt areas may be
applied for starting January 1*. Persons rejected
for a Lottery Permit may obtain a State Land
No-Lottery Permit.

Legal Firearms 12, 16, or 20 gauge breech
loading shotgun loaded with single soft alloy
projectile ammunition. Rifled or smoothbore
barrels allowed. Shotgun must not be capable
of holding more than 3 shells. Muzzleloading
rifle or shotgun, 45 caliber minimum. Single
projectile loaded from muzzle end. Telescopic
sights and shotgun converters are permitted.

Special Conditions

» Tagging and Reporting: See pages 27-34
for information on tagging and reporting.

* Junior Hunter Training Days: Saturday,
November 5 through Saturday, November 12
(excluding Sunday). See page 15 for details.

ARCHERY-ONLY CONTROLLED HUNT LOTTERY

INEW! Archery-only lottery distributes a
limited number of permits, providing access
to new controlled hunt areas and allowing
landowners to develop hunt programs that
may consist of hunters attending a mandatory
pre-hunt meeting and/or passing a background
check. The archery-only lottery will not affect
the hunter’s ability to receive a firearms lottery
permit nor will it impact the ability to bow hunt
other state lands. In the future, when multiple
archery-only lottery areas are available, like
the firearms lottery, bowhunters will only be
allowed to receive one archery-only area permit.

Follow existing deer lottery application
instructions for the archery-only controlled
hunt lottery. The only exceptions are that the
archery-only lottery will run through August 1
and no permits will be available to youth hunters
12 to 17 years old.

Season Dates
e Sept. 15— Nov. 15

Bag Limits 2 Either Sex and 2 Antlerless;
hunters will use the Archery Deer Permit tags.

Hunting Hours 4 hour before sunrise to sunset.

License & Permits Archery Deer/Small Game
License. Only one of this permit type may be
received each year. Lottery permits for archery-
only controlled hunt areas may be applied for
starting on January 1. Persons rejected in the
archery-only lottery may hunt any state or

LOTTERY “A” SEASON AREAS

AREA LOCATION TOWN(S) QUOTA ACRES
Area 27 | Camp Columbia SF Morris 22 470
Area51 | Yale Forest A Union* 230 7,700
Area 53 | NU-Maromas (Co-op) Middletown 70 1,400
Area 54 | NU-Skiff Mt. (Co-op) Sharon 85) 710
Area 64 | MDC Barkhamsted Reservoir - Barkhamsted East Block** A Barkhamsted 80 2,856

LOTTERY “B” SEASON AREAS

AREA LOCATION TOWN(S) QUOTA ACRES

Area 65 | MDC Barkhamsted Reservoir - Hartland East Block** A Hartland 40 1,426
LOTTERY “A” AND “B” SEASON AREAS

AREA LOCATION TOWN(S) QUOTA ACRES
Area 26 | Trout Brook Valley SP Easton 15 330
Area 28 | Naugatuck SF - Quillinan Reservoir Block Ansonia 25 511
Area 52 | Bristol Water Co.™M Harwinton 75 4,500
Area 56 | Centennial Watershed SFM Easton* 170 3,450
Area 58 | MDC Nepaug Reservoir - Valentine Block** A New Hartford* 53 1,075
Area 59 | MDC Nepaug Reservoir - Pine Hill Block** A New Hartford 16 325
Area 60 | Tankerhoosen WMA Vernon 20 449
Area 61 | Roraback WMA Harwinton 99 1,976
Area 62 | Aldo Leopold WMA Southbury 20 553
Area 63 | Mohawk SF - Ziegler/Johnson Tract Cornwall* 15 329

LOTTERY ARCHERY-ONLY AREAS

AREA LOCATION TOWN(S) QUOTA ACRES

Area 66 | MDC Nepaug Reservoir - Sweetheart Mt. Block™* / Canton® 20 345

* and adjacent town or towns

** Special Requirements: To apply for Areas 58, 59, 64, 65, and 66 hunters must be at least 18 years of age. Hunters
selected for these 5 MDC areas will be required to attend a mandatory pre-hunt meeting, pass a background check
conducted by MDC, and sign a waiver of liability before receiving access for hunting.

A No access during Junior Hunter Training Days.

M No access during Junior Hunter Training Days except for junior hunters and mentors who have both been awarded a

permit for this area.

controlled hunt area that is open to bowhunting.
The archery-only controlled hunt lottery is
completely separate from the firearms deer lottery.

Legal Bows See page 13 for a description
of legal bows and arrows for deer hunting.
Mechanical string release devices are permitted.

DEER LOTTERY APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Alottery is conducted to award a limited number
of permits for deer hunting on certain state lands
and Controlled Hunt areas. To hunt these areas
you must apply for a deer lottery permit.

Starting January 1, lottery permit applications
can be submitted online, or at select DEEP loca-
tions (79 Elm St, Hartford; Franklin WMA, North
Franklin; Sessions Woods WMA, Burlington;
Eastern District HQ, Marlborough; Marine HQ,
Old Lyme; Western District HQ, Harwinton).

ADULT licensed firearms hunters over the age
of 17 can apply individually or as a group. The
maximum number of hunters in a group is four.
Applicants may apply for up to six areas and
can designate a preference for either the “A” or
“B” season.

Upon submission of your application, you will
know instantly whether you are successful. If
successful, the permit for the area and season
will automatically be added to your “shopping
cart.” If you apply as a group, the associ-
ated permit will also be added to each group

member’s “shopping cart.” The permit may
be purchased at the time of selection or at a
later date. Each group member is responsible
for purchasing their own permit. All permits
must be purchased by June 30. If a permit is
not purchased by that date, it will be forfeited.

YOUTH licensed firearms hunters (12 through
17 years old) can only apply individually.
All youths will apply by means of a separate
lottery program called Youth Lottery Permits.
Applicants can apply and receive their area of
choice, unless quotas are filled. Youth permits
are purchased at the end of the transaction. We
recommend that the adult hunter participate
in the lottery first before purchasing the Youth
Lottery Permit. This will ensure that the youth
and adult receive a permit for the same area.
All sales are final and DEEP is unable to switch
hunting areas or refund fees.

Select lottery permits not purchased by June 30
will be made available on a first-come, first-serve
basis starting July 15. Unsold lottery permits
can be purchased online or at select DEEP
offices up until sold out or the season ends. All
unsold lottery permits must be purchased at the
end of the transaction.

For more information about deer lottery
permits, check the Department’s website at
www.ct.gov/deep/DeerLottery.

Lottery Questions: Email michael.gregonis@
ct.gov or call the Deer Program at 860-424-3011.
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DEER LOTTERY HUNTING AREA MAP

~
: @ Lottery "A" Season
@ - Lottery "A" & "B" Season
- Lottery "B" Season
@ - Lottery Archery-Only

Working for an American Tradition ... Education ¢ Habitat Conservation ¢ Hunting Tradition

National Spokesperson Travis ‘T-Bone” Turner has
10 Reasons to start a wru Chapter

Generate money for local conservation

Recognition in your community as a conservationist
Sponsor a local Kids on Target Shooting event

Local youth participation in My First Deer program
Protect your local deer herd with Whitetail Watch
Create a local college scholarship fund

Improve hunter/landowner relations with Project POLITE
Support local hunter education courses

Exclusive membership benefits for local members
The satisfaction of supporting and belonging

to the nation’s premier whitetail organization

|| y . .
J Call WTU’s New England Field Director
Get i I‘VOIved - Bill Bailey at (413) 244-2304
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Deer Hunting

REPLACEMENT ANTLERLESS TAGS

Replacement Antlerless Tags: If you register an antlerless deer, taken
on private land, at one of the check stations which issues replacement
tags, you may qualify for a replacement antlerless tag. A current list
of “Replacement Tag Deer Check Stations” is available on the DEEP
website at www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or by calling the Wildlife Division at
860-424-3011.

“Earn-A-Buck” Tags: If you register a total of 3 antlerless deer from
private land during the same season, at one of the check stations that
issue replacement tags, you may qualify for a replacement either-sex tag.

Note: Hunters must bring their deer or deer head and a completed
Harvest Tag along with their report confirmation number in order to be
issued a replacement tag. The deer must be reported within 24 hours,
but the deer or deer head and confirmation number may be brought to
a check station within 72 hours. All replacement tags will be issued in
limited numbers based on a zone’s deer population management goals.
Replacement tags are available in Zones 11 and 12 during the private
land shotgun/rifle season, the private land muzzleloader season and
the archery season. Consult the Private Land Deer Management Zone
Map for a description of zones. Replacement tags will only be valid for
use on private lands within designated zones and only where written
consent of the landowner has been granted.

DEER HUNTING PROHIBITED ACTIVITES

* Hunting with or allowing any dog in your charge to hunt, pursue,
or kill deer.

Hunting deer or any other wildlife while in or on a motor vehicle,
snowmobile, or all terrain vehicle (See Hunting Opportunities for
Persons with Disabilities for special exemptions).

Hunting deer by aid or use of a light.

Taking or attempting to take any deer with the aid of real or artificial
bait in Zones 1 to 10, or on state lands in Zones 11 and 12. (Any
food, mineral, or chemical product designed to be eaten by deer is
considered bait.)

* Use of adecoy during the shotgun/rifle and muzzleloader deer seasons.
 Taking of spotted fawns.

Attractants allowed during the statewide deer hunting seasons.

* Deer decoys during the early and late archery seasons only.

o Alltypes of scent attractants (i.e., doe in heat, buck lure, urine, tarsal
glands, food smells, smoke pole) that provide no substance for deer
to consume.

All types of sound attractants (i.e., doe calls, buck calls, antler
rattling, electronic calls).

Hunting over planted fields where normal agricultural planting,
harvesting, or post-harvest manipulation is used.

In addition to the attractants listed above, the following are allowed ON
PRIVATE LANDS ONLY in Deer Management Zones 11 and 12 during the
archery, shotgun/rifle, and muzzleloader deer seasons.

/

TREE STAND SAFETY RULES

Serious injury or death can occur to a hunter who improperly uses a
tree stand for hunting. If you use a tree stand, follow these safety rules.

o Always use a full-body safety harness or fall-restraint system.

e Only use equipment that is in good condition.

e Avoid hunting from heights greater than 15 feet.

e Maintain a short tether between you and the tree.

e Always use a haul line to raise and lower your hunting equipment.

Minerals or chemicals that may be safely consumed by deer G.e.,
salt lick)

Artificial or natural foods placed, scattered, distributed or deposited
(i.e., hay, grains, fruit, nuts—any foods that may be safely consumed

by deer)

NOTE: It is strongly recommended that individuals hunting on private
lands in Zones 11 and 12 consult with landowners prior to placing bait.

DEFINITION OF ANTLERLESS DEER

Some deer tags allow the harvest of antlerless deer only. An antlerless
deer is defined as any deer which has no visible antlers. “Button Bucks”
are considered antlerless deer. Either sex deer tags allow the harvest of
antlered or antlerless deer.

TAGGING & TRANSPORTING DEER

Immediately upon killing a deer, complete and sign a Harvest Tag and
keep it with the carcass at all times until it is cut up and packaged for
consumption. Deer do not have to be open to view during transport.
See pages 27-34 for more information on Kill Tags and reporting.

DEER CHECK STATIONS

Hunters only need to bring their antlerless deer or antlerless deer head,
along with a kill report and confirmation number, to a check station
if they wish to obtain a replacement tag for use in Deer Management
Zones 11 and 12. All other deer must be reported within 24 hours using
the phone or internet.

DEER HUNTER SURVEY

Anybody who obtains a deer permit, may be asked to respond to a survey
concerning their deer hunting activities. Even if you did not hunt, you
should complete the survey. Information gathered from the survey is
important to the management of Connecticut’s white-tailed deer popu-
lation. Surveys may be conducted by mail, telephone, or the internet.

TREE STANDS ON STATE PROPERTIES

The construction or placement of permanent tree stands involving
damage to any tree or shrub is prohibited. The use of portable tree
stands (climber, ladder or hang-on) is permissible. The use of a full-
body safety harness when using a tree stand is strongly recommended.

/
WHAT TO DO IF YOU HARVEST
A DEER WITH A NECK COLLAR

Over the past four winters, DEEP Wildlife Division researchers have
captured and placed neck collars on over 150 white-tailed deer
in northwestern Connecticut, specifically in the towns of Canaan,
Cornwall, North Canaan, Salisbury, and Sharon. Some of the collared
deer have moved from the initial towns of capture into Colebrook,
Goshen, and Norfolk.

The marked deer may have a leather or nylon brown-colored collar;
ear tags may or may not be present. Hunters should know that it is
both completely legal and safe to harvest and consume these animals.
The Wildlife Division asks that if hunters come across a collared deer
during the upcoming hunting season, that they should hunt as they
normally do — intentionally targeting collared deer or passing on
them biases the mortality data. We also ask that if you do harvest
a collared deer, please contact us using the phone number on the
collar, or at 860-418-5921. We would like to collect the collar and
jawbone from the animal if possible.

/
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Tagging & Reporting

TAGGING AND REPORTING INSTRUCTIONS

1. Immediately upon making your kill, complete a Deer/Turkey Harvest
Tag. The Harvest Tag must be kept with your deer or turkey until it
is processed for consumption. While transporting your kill, you may
keep the Harvest Tag in your pocket or wallet. However, if you leave
the kill, the completed Harvest Tag must remain with the animal.

2. All turkeys and deer taken must be reported within 24 hours via the
internet at www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or by telephone at the toll-free
number, 1-877-337-4868. To report your deer or turkey, you will need
to know the 3-digit number code of the town in which the animal
was killed. The table on page 29 lists Connecticut’s 169 towns and
their identifying numbers. If you killed your deer or turkey on state
land, you will also need to know the 3-digit number code of the public
hunting area. See the Public Hunting Area tables on pages 40—43
to locate the 3-digit number code for each public hunting area and
also find out what may be legally hunted on these areas.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

How do I report my deer and turkey kills and get a kill report confirmation
number?

You can report your kill on the Department’s website or by calling the toll
free number 1-877-337-4868. After reporting your kill you will be given
a confirmation number to write on your Harvest Tag. This confirmation
number serves as proof that you have legally reported your kill. You may
find that submitting kill reports on the Department’s website is much
easier than using the telephone reporting system. The telephone reporting
system uses an automated attendant that prompts you to answer a series
of questions by pressing the appropriate numbered responses. On the
website, you answer questions by using convenient drop-down menus.
Other advantages of using the website to report your kill is that you can

onnecticut

Wildlife

review reports that you have previously submitted and print out copies
of these reports for your records.

Reporting Your Kills by Telephone

Call 1-877-337-4868 (1-877-DEP-HUNT) After a short delay, you will
hear an introductory message and instructions on how to report by
telephone. Hint: You can skip the introductory message by pressing
1 on your phone.

Reporting Your Kills on the Internet
Go to www.ct.gov/deep/hunting and look for the link for reporting deer
and turkey kills.

KILL REPORT INFORMATION

Before going on the Internet or calling in to report your kill, you can use
this form to make sure you have all of the information you will need to
accurately report your kill.

SHRERTIE (5 or 6 digits on license)

4-DIGIT YEAR OF
YOUR BIRTH

(e.g. 1960)

Aol (e.g. Archery Deer, Spring Turkey, etc.)

2-DIGIT MONTH OF KILL (01t012)

2-DIGIT DAY OF KILL (011t031)

The official bimonthly fish
and wildlife magazine of the
Department of Energy &
Environmental Protection

For $8.00 a year, you can receive
our award-winning magazine!

Fill out a subscription card today.

Subscribe today to Connecticut Wildlife, the Department
of Energy & Environmental Protection’s official
bimonthly fish and wildlife publication.

SUBSCRIPTION CARD

0 $8 One Year O $15 Two Years 3 $20 Three Years

O Renewal O New Subscription O Gift Subscription

Please make checks payable to:
Connecticut Wildlife, P.O. Box 1550, Burlington, CT 06013-1550

Name:
Address:
City:

State: Zip:

Gift card to read:

3-DIGIT TOWN CODE (see table on page 29)

3-DIGIT PUBLIC HUNTING _ _ ___ifapplicable

AREA CODE (see tables on pages 40—-43)
LAND TYPE (Private or State)
BB (e.g. Antlerless, Either Sex, etc.)

TYPE OF HUNTING
IMPLEMENT (e.g. Rifle, Shotgun, Bow, etc.)
See Turkey Age/Sex
AGE/SEX DESCRIPTION Description Questions on next page.
NUMBER OF POINTS NN

(00 to 24) if applicable

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting
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Tagging & Reporting

/

HUNTERS FOR
THE HUNGRY

This program allows hunters to
donate their game to charitable food
organizations. The meat must be
processed and refrigerated. Whole
deer may also be donated through
participating processors.

For information on where you can
donate, call one of the following Hunters
for the Hungry contacts:

Bob Crook
203-245-8076
Madison

Bob Jean
860-608-8555
Oakdale

John Michelotti
203-629-8772
Greenwich

Guy Rosato
860-350-1001
New Milford

Warren Speh
860-536-6640
North Stonington

Share your harvest with
those in need!

TURKEY IDENTIFICATION GUIDELINES

Use the chart below to identify the age and sex of your turkey before calling the harvest line.

FALL TURKEY SPRING TURKEY
__ Adult Tom
. __ Adult Tom
— Juvenile Tom or Jake .
Juvenile Tom or Jake
__ AdultHen
. ___ Bearded Hen
_ Juvenile Hen
Unsure of Sex/Age
___Unsure of Sex/Age

___Beard longer than
6 inches

___Beard shorter than
6 inches

___Beard longer than
6 inches

___ Beard shorter than
6 inches

___Spur longer than % inch

___Spur shorter than % inch

5
i

__ Spur longer than %2 inch

___Spur shorter than % inch

__ Outer two wing feathers
pointed with no barring

__ Outer two wing feathers
rounded with barring to
the tip

)

n/a

___ Breast feathers
black-tipped

___ Breast feathers
buff-tipped

n/a

n/a

7

____Tail fan smooth in shape

__Middle tail feathers longer
than others

T
>
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DEEP STORE

The DEEP Store is a must for any
Connecticut outdoor enthusiast. We
carry hundreds of publications about our
state, including information

about wildlife, fishing,

boating, biking,

hiking, wetlands,

and plant life.

All of the USGS

topographic maps of

Connecticut are also

available for purchase.

Visit us on the Web at:
www.ct.gov/deep/store

Contact Information
Phone: 860-424-3555
Fax: 860-424-4122
E-mail: deep.store@ct.gov

/
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Town Reporting Codes

TOWNS 3-DIGIT NUMBER CODES FOR REPORTING KILLS
001 | Andover 044 | East Haven 086 | Montville 128 | Simsbury
002 | Ansonia 045 | East Lyme 087 | Morris 129 | Somers
003 | Ashford 046 | Easton 088 | Naugatuck 130 | Southbury
004 | Avon 047 | East Windsor 089 | New Britain 131 | Southington
005 | Barkhamsted 048 | Ellington 090 | New Canaan 132 | South Windsor
006 | Beacon Falls 049 | Enfield 091 | New Fairfield 133 | Sprague
007 | Berlin 050 | Essex 092 | New Hartford 134 | Stafford
008 | Bethany 051 | Fairfield 093 | New Haven 135 | Stamford
009 | Bethel 052 | Farmington 094 | Newington 136 | Sterling
010 | Bethlehem 053 | Franklin 095 | New London 137 | Stonington
011 | Bloomfield 054 | Glastonbury 096 | New Milford 138 | Stratford
012 | Bolton 055 | Goshen 097 | Newtown 139 | Suffield
013 | Bozrah 056 | Granby 098 | Norfolk 140 | Thomaston
014 | Branford 057 | Greenwich 099 | North Branford 141 | Thompson
015 | Bridgeport 058 | Griswold 100 | North Canaan 142 | Tolland
016 | Bridgewater 059 | Groton 101 | North Haven 143 | Torrington
017 | Bristol 060 | Guilford 102 | North Stonington 144 | Trumbull
018 | Brookfield 061 | Haddam 103 | Norwalk 145 | Union
019 | Brooklyn 062 | Hamden 104 | Norwich 146 | Vernon
020 | Burlington 063 | Hampton 105 | Old Lyme 147 | Voluntown
021 | Canaan 064 | Hartford 106 | Old Saybrook 148 | Wallingford -
022 | Canterbury 065 | Hartland 107 | Orange 149 | Warren
023 | Canton 066 | Harwinton 108 | Oxford 150 | Washington
024 | Chaplin 067 | Hebron 109 | Plainfield 151 | Waterbury
025 | Cheshire 068 | Kent 110 | Plainville 152 | Waterford )
026 | Chester 069 | Killingly 111 | Plymouth 153 | Watertown
027 | Clinton 070 | Killingworth 112 | Pomfret 154 | Westbrook
028 | Colchester 071 | Lebanon 113 | Portland 155 | West Hartford
029 | Colebrook 072 | Ledyard 114 | Preston 156 | West Haven e .
030 | Columbia 073 | Lisbon 115 | Prospect 157 | Weston
031 | Cornwall 074 | Litchfield 116 | Putnam 158 | Westport
032 | Coventry 075 | Lyme 117 | Redding 159 | Wethersfield
033 | Cromwell 076 | Madison 118 | Ridgefield 160 | Willington
034 | Danbury 077 | Manchester 119 | Rocky Hill 161 | Wilton
035 | Darien 078 | Mansfield 120 | Roxbury 162 | Winchester /
036 | Deep River 079 | Marlborough 121 | Salem 163 | Windham
037 | Derby 080 | Meriden 122 | Salisbury 164 | Windsor WWW.CT.GOV/
038 | Durham 081 | Middlebury 123 | Scotland 165 | Windsor Locks
039 | Eastford 082 | Middlefield 124 | Seymour 166 | Wolcott D EEP/H U NTl N G
040 | East Granby 083 Mi(:dletown 125 gharon 167 | Woodbridge Check the DEEP’s website for the latest
041 | East Haddam 084 | Milford 126 helton 168 | Woodbury ; P a P
042 | East Hampton 085 | Monroe 127 | Sherman 169 | Woodstock It?:;gg::%t:(r)]anrt])r?(;J(t:tr(]:ﬂrtm(r)]gr valsgls?t% :lr;g
043 | East Hartford has information, fact sheets, and stories
Hunting Area Reporting Codes can be found in the Hunting Area tables on pages 40-43. about all of Connecticut’s wildlife.
/ www.ct.gov/deep/hunting
YOU CAN HELP B e Hunting Area Maps
e Special Hunting Seasons
You can help the Wildlife Division keep track of o New Hunting Areas
Bobcat ¢ Black Bear ¢ Fisher ¢ Moose ¢ Ruffed Grouse e New Regulations
If you see one of these animals, please contact the Wildlife Division at deep.wildlife@ct.gov. * Special Events
You should include the date, time, and exact location where the animal was observed. Bear and /
moose can be reported online at www.ct.gov/deep/Wildlife.
¢%. |/
A
CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF ‘.A .
ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION IR
BUREAU OF NATURAL RESOURCES g “
WILDLIFE DIVISION ... .“

/
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Celebrating 150 Years

of Natural Resource
Conservation in Connecticut

The Department of Energy & Environmental Protection’s Bureau of

Natural Resources is celebrating its 150th Anniversary in 2016.

Joining in the celebration are the Divisions of Wildlife, Inland Fisheries, Marine Fisheries, Forestry, and the Environmental Conservation
(EnCon) Police, as well as many partners. Throughout 2016, we will look back at our history and also look ahead to the future of natural resources
in our state. Follow along with the celebration and participate in special events to be held year-long. Learn more on our Facebook page at
www.Facebook.com/CTFishandWildlife and the DEEP website at www.ct.gov/deep/NaturalResources150.

1899

First
1884 Special

Game )
Protectors First State-owned

Appointed  Fish Hatchery at

First Rainbow
Trout Introduced

1866

Early state fisheries Windsor Locks Meshomasic S:‘otate Forest
) ] workers were fish cul- With increasing public ~ Became th“e F:rst State Forest
Fisheries turists with the charge demand for more trout  John Cordella “Del” Reeves was the first

and to support the pond  warden/forester hired by the State of Con-

Commission to experiment with
b fish program, additional  necticut to patrol the forest. Today there

Created by introducing new spe-

A ) : hatcheries, still in exis-  are 32 forests totaling about 170,000 acres
cies. During the mid- to ’ g )
the _State late 1800s glargemouth tence, were established  in the Connecticut State Forest System.
Legislature | .. . ilmouth bass in Burlington (1923), These forests are managed through the
Game (Wildlife) Walléye landlocked Kensington (1930), and ~ DEEP’s Division of Forestry. The majority
was added to calmon. brown trout Plainfield (1972). of this forestland was acquired during the

the equation in
1895 to create
the Connecticut
Board of Fisher-
ies and Game.

early part of the 20th Century — a time
period that saw the creation of a state
forestry agency, the first state forests,
and the first real efforts to protect and
conserve our natural resources.

lake trout, bluegill,
common carp, and
calico bass were intro-
duced to many waters.

N

First List of Streams
Stocked for Opening

Day of Fishing

The Connecticut Wildlife Conservation
Bulletin First Published by the State
Board of Fisheries and Game

It was renamed The Connecticut Environmental Bulletin
in 1973 after the Board became a part of the new
Department of Environmental Protection in 1971.

Edith Stoehr,

First Female Game Warden

A trout stream was leased in North Branford and
maintained for the exclusive use of women to
encourage them to take a more active interest in
fishing. Miss Edith A. Stoehr was appointed war-
den and assigned to the trout stream. In the fall,
she was assigned to the public shooting ground
in Farmington, of which a small portion was
reserved for the exclusive use of women.
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1908

Sale of Hunting

Licenses Began

With the successful generation
of revenue to support hunting
efforts, fish and game commis-
sioners expanded the program
to require fishing licenses for
non-residents (1921), residents
(1924), and marine waters
(2010). By law, 100% of the
proceeds from license sales
must be allocated to support
current Bureau of Natural
Resource programs.

First Recorded Release of

Ring-necked Pheasants
Pheasants, which could be produced
on game farms, were brought into
Connecticut to reduce hunting
pressure on native gamebirds, which
were declining due to population
cycles and changing land uses.
Today’s pheasant program focuses
on the release of adult birds during
the fall hunting season and is funded
solely by the sale of pheasant stamps
and hunting licenses.

Connecticut
Forest Fire

Law Enacted
The first such law
in New England.

Early wildlife habitat managers from the
1930s created open water areas in marshland
at Great Island, in Old Lyme, and other marsh
areas by using dynamite. These ponds were
created to provide quality waterfowl habitat.
Today, DEEP uses specialized equipment to
create open water without causing damage to
the marsh ecosystem.

First Official Photograph
of a Moose Taken in
Connecticut (Ashford)

The moose was killed two days after the
photo was taken. In response to this his-

—————————

Wild Turkeys
Reintroduced into
Connecticut

A Hunter Safety toric sighting, the Board of Fisheries and Coyotes were first documented in Our state’s successful wild
Program Was Game passed an emergency regulation that  Connecticut during the 1950s. The turkey restoration effort began
Established gave full protection to moose found in the  coyote in this photo was one of the in Canaan with the release of

It eventually became
the Conservation Edu-
cation/Firearms Safety
Program in 1982.

state. The next time a moose was observed
in Connecticut was in October 1964. The

state currently has a resident population of
moose estimated at about 100 individuals.

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting

earliest recorded in the state. It was
killed in 1963 behind the Kensington
Fish Hatchery. Today, coyotes are
common throughout the state.

22 wild-trapped turkeys from
New York. The state’s first legal,
modern-day wild turkey hunting
season was held in spring 1981.
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First Two Certified K-9
Patrol Dog Teams in

the Fish and Game Law
Enforcement Division
Today’s DEEP Environmental Con-
servation Police Division has four K-9
teams, three of which have received
special training in the detection of
certain species of fish and game.

Wildlife Division
First Published the
Newsletter SCOPE

It has evolved into the current Connecti-
cut Wildlife magazine.

mnteticut,
9@!%'

o i B .

\ T&CQ‘PE ‘ k

Connecticut’s
First Wildlife
Action Plan

Completed 2008

This plan, with the
goal of keeping com-

mon species common, \White-nose

was revised in 2015. syndrome
First Appears in
Connecticut’s
Bat Hibernacula

Fish Management Formalized

In 1999, Statewide Bass Management and Trout
Management Plans were developed to manage these
important freshwater species into the 21st century.
The first Wild Trout Management Area was estab-
lished on the Tankerhoosen River (1993).

1986

The Nonharvested
Wildlife Program
Officially Established
by the State Legislature

First Documented Case
of a Vehicle-killed Bear
in Connecticut (Redding)

First Successful Bald Eagle
Nesting Since the 1950s
(Barkhamsted)

Paul J. Fusco/CT DEEP

“An Act Establishing a Program for the
111210 Protection of Endangered and Threatened
Species” Became Connecticut State Law

Paul J. Fusco/CT DEEP

Wildlife Division Joins
the Regional New
England Cottontail
Restoration Initiative
Partnership with Other
State and Federal
Wildlife Agencies

Due to the remarkable achieve-
ments to restore the abundance of
New England cottontails within
their native range, the U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service announced
in 2015 that the species does not
warrant listing under the Federal
Endangered Species Act.

Emerald Ash
Borer First
Documented
(Prospect)

@ @ World Record
Striped Bass Caught

(Westbrook)

Sunday Hunting
Allowed for
Archery Deer
Hunters on

Private Land
(In certain deer
management zones)

Appreciation is extended to Retired Environmental Conservation Police Officer William Myers for providing several historical photos and information for this article.
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Message from the Bureau Chief

Celebrating 150 Years of Natural Resource Management in Connecticut!

The history of modern fish-
eries, wildlife and forestry
management in Connecticut
can be traced back to a few
short words in the Journal
of the Senate of the State of
Connecticut May Session,
1866: “A resolution was intro-
duced, raising a Joint Select
Committee of one Senator
and eight Representatives
upon the subject of fisheries.
Passed.” Within a year, a report was issued and
laws were passed mandating that “The governor
shall appoint three commissioners...whose duties
shall be to make complaints of all violations of the
acts relating to fisheries. . .to consider the subject
of the introduction, protection and culture of fish
in our waters, to cooperate with fish commis-
sioners of other states, and to make report of such
fact and suggestions as may be material to the
legislature. Such commissioners shall receive for
their services the sum of three dollars per day.”
With the passage of this law, the Commissioners
set upon the task of compiling technical infor-
mation on Connecticut’s fisheries and the era
of science-based natural resource manage-
ment took its first small steps. To be sure,

Connecticut’s fish, wildlife and forest resources
have been actively managed for as long as people
have inhabited these lands. However, the formal
creation of the Fisheries Commission in 1866
transitioned us into a new era that recognized
the value of natural resources to our economy
and overall well-being and recognized the need
for science based information to guide conser-
vation and management. Subsequently, Game
(Wildlife) was added to the equation in 1895
to create the Board of Fisheries and Game and
the first State Forest land was acquired in 1903.

During 2016 we will host a number of events
to celebrate our 150" anniversary, recognize
accomplishments, honor our partners, and, most
important of all, take stock of our natural resource
heritage and talk about its future in Connecticut.
Please watch for announcements of these events
on our website (www.ct.gov/deep) and Facebook
page www.facebook.com/CTFishAndWildlife).

In last year’s message I asked anglers and
hunters to take advantage of every opportunity
to get potential sportsmen into the field and on
the water. What better way to celebrate our 150"
anniversary than by doing something to ensure
that our legacy persists. Sportsmen continue to
be the informed constituency that provides much
of the political will and financial backbone to

conserve our resources
and to protect fishing
and hunting access.
Simply put, we need
to add to our ranks
if we are to guarantee
that future generations
will have the opportunity
to enjoy the outdoors in the
manner in which we have been blessed. Below
are two charts you've seen before. One chart is
the number of licensed sportspersons in our
state and the other is the number of students
in our Aquatic Resource Education (CARE) and
Conservation Education/Firearms Safety (CE/
FS) programs. DEEP will continue to do every-
thing we can to recruit and educate young anglers
and hunters, but it will take all of us making
a similar commitment in our personal lives to
ensure that this legacy continues to grow and
prosper over the next 150 years. Together we can
make a difference!

Thank you and best wishes for a great year of
hunting and fishing in Connecticut.

William A. Hyatt
Chief, Bureau of Natural Resources

PROPAGATED GAME BIRDS FOR SHOOTING PRESERVES, DOG TRAINING & FIELD TRIALS

The taking of propagated game birds on regulated private shooting preserves, regulated dog training areas, and field trial events requires that each
bird taken be identified with a tag containing the permittee’s name and date of taking. Handwritten tags are permitted or copies of the tags below
may be used. A full sheet of tags may also be downloaded for printing from the DEEP’s website at www.ct.gov/deep/Hunting. Importation of game
birds requires a permit from the Department of Agriculture (860-713-2508).

Game Bird Harvest Tag

Permittee:

Date of Harvest: / /

Game Bird Harvest Tag

Permittee:

Date of Harvest: / /

Game Bird Harvest Tag

Permittee:

Date of Harvest: / /

Game Bird Harvest Tag

Permittee:

Date of Harvest: / /

Game Bird Harvest Tag

Permittee:

Date of Harvest: / /

Game Bird Harvest Tag

Permittee:

Date of Harvest: / /

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting
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Harvest Tags

DEER / TURKEY HARVEST TAGS

This page has Harvest Tags that deer and turkey hunters must use
to identify their kills. Photocopies or handwritten versions of these
Harvest Tags may also be used. Handwritten versions of these tags
must also be signed and include your Conservation ID#, your name,
date of kill, time of kill, town of kill and the permit/tag type used.
Additional copies of these Harvest Tags are available on the DEEP’s
website, www.ct.gov/deep/hunting.

Immediately upon harvesting a deer or turkey, complete and sign
a Harvest Tag and keep it with the carcass at all times. Harvested
deer and turkey must be reported within 24 hours via the internet
at www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or by calling the toll-free number,
1-877-337-4868. After reporting your harvest, you will be given a report
confirmation number to write on the tag. Keep the tag, completed with
all information, with the carcass until it is cut up for consumption.

/
LEAD BULLET FRAGMENTS
IN WILD GAME

There have been concerns about the potential risk of exposure
to lead fragments in deer meat harvested with lead ammunition.
These considerations have prompted the DEEP, in consultation with
the Department of Public Health, to provide additional guidance
for hunters and consumers of venison. If you would like additional
information concerning the health risks of exposure to lead, contact
the Connecticut Department of Public Health at www.ct.gov/dph
or call 860-509-7740.

/

201 2016

Conservation ID#: ‘
Name:
Date of Kill: / /
Town of Kill:
PERMIT / TAG TYPE (check the appropriate boxes)
Antlerless Tags can not be used in Zone 4a during the ‘
Private Land Shotgun/Rifle and Muzzleloader seasons.
DEER Q4 Antlerless Q Either Sex ‘
Q Private — Shotgun/Rifle Q State - Lottery
Q Private — Muzzleloader 0 State — No Lottery ‘
Q Archery (Bow) Q State — Muzzleloader
0 Landowner ‘
SPRING TURKEY - Bearded birds only
Q Private Land 0 State Land

FALL TURKEY

Q Private — Firearms
Q State - Firearms
0 Archery (Bow)

Signature: ‘

Connectlcut Department of
Energy & Environmental Protection
DEER/TURKEY HARVEST TAG

Time: ‘

Q Landowner ‘

Q Landowner - Firearms ‘
Q Landowner - Archery (Bow)

e Harvested deer and turkeys must be reported within 24 ‘
hours via the internet at www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or by
calling 1-877-337-4868. \
After reporting, you must write your report Confirmation
Number below. ‘

Confirmation #:

L - = = - = - - - _— 4

34

L

L

Connecticut Department of
201 6 Energy & Environmental Protection

2016

DEER/TURKEY HARVEST TAG
Conservation ID#:
Name:
Date of Kill: / / Time:
Town of Kill:

PERMIT / TAG TYPE (check the appropriate boxes)
Antlerless Tags can not be used in Zone 4a during the

Private Land Shotgun/Rifle and Muzzleloader seasons.

DEER Q Antlerless
Q Private — Shotgun/Rifle

QA Private — Muzzleloader

QO Archery (Bow)

Q Landowner

SPRING TURKEY - Bearded birds only
Q Private Land 4 State Land

FALL TURKEY

QA Private — Firearms
Q State - Firearms
Q Archery (Bow)

Signature:

Q Either Sex
Q State - Lottery
Q State — No Lottery
Q State — Muzzleloader

Q Landowner

Q Landowner - Firearms
0 Landowner - Archery (Bow)

e Harvested deer and turkeys must be reported within 24
hours via the internet at www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or by
calling 1-877-337-4868.

After reporting, you must write your report Confirmation
Number below.

Confirmation #:

201

Conservation ID#:

Connect|cut Department of
Energy & Environmental Protection
DEER/TURKEY HARVEST TAG

2016

Name:

Date of Kill: / / Time:

Town of Kill:

PERMIT / TAG TYPE (check the appropriate boxes)
Antlerless Tags can not be used in Zone 4a during the

Private Land Shotgun/Rifle and Muzzleloader seasons.

Q Either Sex
Q State - Lottery
Q State — No Lottery
Q State — Muzzleloader

DEER Q Antlerless
Q Private — Shotgun/Rifle

QA Private — Muzzleloader

QO Archery (Bow)

Q Landowner

SPRING TURKEY - Bearded birds only
Q Private Land Q State Land

FALL TURKEY

QA Private — Firearms
Q State - Firearms
Q Archery (Bow)

Signature:

Q Landowner

Q Landowner - Firearms
0 Landowner - Archery (Bow)

e Harvested deer and turkeys must be reported within 24
hours via the internet at www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or by
calling 1-877-337-4868.

After reporting, you must write your report Confirmation
Number below.

Confirmation #:

2016 Connecticut Hunting & Trapping Guide
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Private Land Consent Form

HUNTING ON PRIVATE LAND CONSENT FORM

All hunters are required to have landowner permission when hunting
on private land.

Private land deer and turkey hunters must carry the form below,
signed and dated for the current season. This is required of both
archery and firearms hunters.

You may have a landowner sign a dated consent form before you
purchase your license and permits, but you must purchase all
required licenses and permits before you hunt.

Landowners who allow, without fee, the recreational use of their prop-
erty are protected from liability by Connecticut law (C.G.S. 52-557g).

 Properties must be at least 10 acres in size for rifle or revolver use

to be authorized.

» Landowners must designate calendar year, seasons, and choice of
hunting implements.
* Where baiting of deer is permitted, it is strongly recommended that
individuals consult with landowners prior to placing bait.

Photocopies of these forms may be used, but to be valid, must have
original signatures and dates.

r-r---------------=----------=--=---=-=-=-—-=-"—-"="=-="1

I know and understand the boundaries of the above listed properties, and that this form

is valid only during the calendar year for which it was signed by the landowner. | also
understand that any person making a written false statement on this form shall be subject
to arrest as provided for in Section 53A-157 of 1975 Rev. of C.G.S.

| hereby grant the person named above permission to hunt on my property during the
calendar year indicated. | have also indicated the seasons and hunting implements that

may be used.

| | CONSENT TO HUNT DEER OR TURKEY ON PRIVATE LAND DURING THE CALENDAR YEAR
I Last First M.l
I II:III;I:\Ing: :‘s" State of Connecticut
: listed on deed DEEP—Wildlife Division
I Street Town No. of Acres Cross off hunting that is NOT authorized:
| . (1) Deer Hunting
| Ir;ocatu;n of (2) Spring Turkey Hunting
roperty (3) Fall Turkey Hunting
I (4) Sunday Archery Deer Hunting
I Name First M., Cross off hunting implements NOT authorized:
I (1) Bow and Arrow/Crosshow
Hunter’s Address o,
I Information ‘ (2) Shotgu
] Town State Zip Code (3) Muzzleloader (Deer Only)
I (please print) . .
(4) Centerfire Rifle (Deer Only)
I Conservation ID# (5) Revolver (Deer Only)

I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
I
_I

Signature of Permittee Date Signature of Landowner Date
CONSENT TO HUNT DEER OR TURKEY ON PRIVATE LAND DURING THE CALENDAR YEAR
Last First M.I.
II:III:;SI; :‘s" State of Connecticut
listed on deed DEEP—Wildlife Division
Street Town No. of Acres Cross off hunting that is NOT authorized:
(1) Deer Hunting
Location of 2) Spring Turkey Huntin
Property (2) Spring Yy : g
(3) Fall Turkey Hunting
(4) Sunday Archery Deer Hunting
Name First M. Cross off hunting implements NOT authorized:
(1) Bow and Arrow/Crosshow
Hunter’s Address 2 Shots
Information Town State Zip Code @ soto
(please print) p (3) Muzzlel.oade.r (Deer Only)
(4) Centerfire Rifle (Deer Only)
Conservation ID# (5) Revolver (Deer Only)

| know and understand the boundaries of the above listed properties, and that this form

is valid only during the calendar year for which it was signed by the landowner. | also
understand that any person making a written false statement on this form shall be subject
to arrest as provided for in Section 53A-157 of 1975 Rev. of C.G.S.

I hereby grant the person named above permission to hunt on my property during the
calendar year indicated. | have also indicated the seasons and hunting implements that

may be used.

Signature of Permittee Date

Signature of Landowner

Date

N ————————————————————————————————

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting
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Public Hunting Areas

PERMIT-REQUIRED HUNTING AREAS

The access to Permit-Required Hunting Areas is regulated by agree-
ment with private landowners, towns, state agencies, water companies,
universities, non-profits, and cooperating sportsmen’s clubs. Most
Permit-Required Hunting Areas are open to the public from the third
Saturday in October through the last day of February for small game and
waterfowl hunting by special permit and are subject to certain restric-
tions. Hunting during any other period requires landowner permission
unless specifically noted in this guide as open. Access to some DEEP-
owned lands is also regulated through a permit system. Hunting on these
DEEP-owned areas requires a special permit from the third Saturday
in October through the first Saturday in December, unless otherwise
posted. Maps describing each Permit-Required Area are available from
permit vendors and the DEEP website (www.ct.gov/deep/Hunting). All
Permit-Required Hunting Areas are posted with yellow plastic signs
designating the properties under agreement. A listing of Permit-
Required Hunting Areas appears on pages 40—43. Note: Some
areas are only accessible with a permit issued directly from the entity
that owns or manages the property. See the Permit-Required sections
on pages 41 and 43 of this guide.

Daily Permits and Mandatory Survey: Permittees are required to
submit a hunter survey when using these areas. Hunter surveys are
attached to the permit or are available online.

Vendors Issuance of Daily Permits: Vendors issuing daily permits are
required by the Division to issue permits as follows:

* Permits must be issued free-of-charge to any persons holding valid
hunting licenses and who are not eligible for “season” permits.

 Each permit is valid for one licensed sportsman (unless it is a goose
field or waterfowl blind permit) for a specified time frame and location.

¢ Issue daily permits on a first-come, first-served basis only. Issue
the specified number of daily permits for any specific day. Once
that number is reached, no more permits can be made available for
that day.

o Issue a separate permit for a licensed junior hunter. Junior hunters
may hunt on Permit-Required areas when accompanied by a licensed
person at least 18 years of age.

* A person may obtain permits for himself and no more than one other
person at any one time (Exception: An adult may obtain a permit for
himself and two licensed junior hunters). Personal appearance is not
required but a valid hunting license (or a photocopy of the license)
of the person to whom the permit is to be issued must be presented.

* The vendor retains the “Department Copy” stub of the permit. The
remainder of the permit is to be given to the permittee.

* Permits cannot be issued for a day more than two days (excluding
Sunday) from the date of request (see Table). The only exception to
this rule involves permits for “opening day.” Permits for the third
Saturday in October, must be issued, if requested, beginning the
prior Tuesday.

Date of Request Days for Which a Permit May Be Issued

Monday Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday
Tuesday Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday
Wednesday Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday
Thursday Thursday, Friday, or Saturday
Friday Friday, Saturday, or Monday
Saturday Saturday, Monday, or Tuesday
Sunday Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday.

Online Issuance of Permits: Daily permits for some Permit-Required
Hunting Areas can be obtained for free online. These permits are avail-
able on a first-come, first-served basis. Only one online permit can be

Respect landowners’ rights.

obtained per selected hunting date. The listing of Permit-Required
Areas on the next page indicates which areas have online permitting.

Junior Access Permits: Season permits for junior hunters may be
available for certain Permit-Required Hunting Areas. Check the DEEP’s
website (wWww.ct.gov/deep/hunting) for further information and permit
applications.

Firearms Restrictions: Rifles of any caliber or shotgun ammunition
larger or heavier than #2 shot and hunting with any pistol or revolver of
any caliber are prohibited on permit-required hunting areas, except by
landowners, lineal descendants, and regular employees. Waterfowlers
hunting from a boat, blind or stationary position may use up to and
including BB size steel shot. Rifles, pistols or shotguns without regard
to caliber or shot sizes may be used for legal hunting during the period
from the last day in February to the third Saturday in October, only if
written permission is obtained from the landowner. During firearms
deer seasons, deer hunters with the proper permits and written land-
owner permission are also exempt from these firearms restrictions.

/

VISIT SESSIONS WOODS

341 Milford Street (Route 69), Burlington, CT
For more information, call 860-424-3011

Learn About Connecticut’s Wildlife
o Exhibit Area

e Self-guided hiking trails

e Demonstrations of wildlife management techniques
e Beaver marsh, observation tower, waterfall

Sportsmen helped pay for the DEEP Wildlife Division’s acquisition of
the Sessions Woods Wildlife Management Area through Federal Aid
in Wildlife Restoration Act funds. The exhibits, trails and educational
programs at Sessions Woods show citizens how to have a positive
impact on Connecticut’s wildlife and other natural resources.

Sessionsgié '. e O
oods*

Wildlife Management Area

e
New Britain

/
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PERMIT-REQUIRED AREA PERMIT VENDORS - STATE-OWNED, STATE-LEASED, AND STATE-MANAGED LANDS

Online permits are available through the DEEP’s sportsmen licensing site at: www.ct.gov/deep/SportsmenLicensing

See tables on pages 40—43 to see what types of hunting are permitted.

LITCHFIELD — HARTFORD COUNTIES
e Bristol Fish and Game Association (1,663 acres)
Hunting closes the Saturday after Thanksgiving.
— City True Value Hardware
750 Farmington Avenue (Rte. 6)
Bristol, CT: 860-582-7166
— Online Permitting Available
NU-Skiff Mountain Cooperative WMA (710 acres)
— Backcountry Outfitters
5 Bridge St.
Kent, CT: 860-927-3377
— Online Permitting Available
e Stanley Works Cooperative WMA (1,100 acres)
— Backcountry Outfitters
5 Bridge St.
Kent, CT: 860-927-3377
— Northwest Lumber-Hardware
26 Kent Rd.
Cornwall Bridge, CT: 860-672-4000
— Online Permitting Available
e Sessions Woods WMA (771 acres)
— Sessions Woods WMA
341 Milford St. (Rte. 69)
Burlington, CT: 860-424-3011
Suffield Sportsmen’s Association (1,164 acres)
— Suffield Hardware
114 Mountain Road (Rte. 168)
Suffield, CT: 860-668-0268

— Online Permitting Available

TOLLAND — MIDDLESEX COUNTIES
e Bolton Area (238 acres)
— Online Permitting Only
e East Windsor-Enfield Area (1,530 acres)
— Yankee Bait and Tackle
88 Main St.
Enfield, CT: 860-741-5994
— Online Permitting Available

e Hebron Area (454 acres)
— Online Permitting Only

¢ Higganum-Haddam Rod and Gun (66 acres)
— Fishing Factory III
238 East Main St.
Middletown, CT: 860-344-9139
— Online Permitting Available
¢ NU-Kings Island Coop. Area (158 acres)
Waterfowl hunting only; special restrictions apply.
— Yankee Bait and Tackle
88 Main St.
Enfield, CT: 860-741-5994
e NU-Maromas Coop. Area (1,400 acres)
— Fishing Factory 111
238 East Main St.
Middletown, CT: 860-344-9139
— Online Permitting Available

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting

WINDHAM-NEW LONDON COUNTIES
¢ Lebanon Coop. Mgmt. Area (214 acres) Goose Field Permits
— Franklin Swamp WMA
391 Rte. 32
North Franklin, CT: 860-424-3011

e Lebanon Coop. Mgmt. Area Marsh Permits
— Online Permitting Only
e Norwich Fish & Game, SOUTH (700 acres)
— Online Permitting Only
e Stone’s Ranch Military Reservation (1,600 acres)
— Online Permitting Only for deer and turkey hunters (Typically
open Tuesdays and Thursdays only)
¢ Woodstock Landowners (1,156 acres)
— Woodstock Valley Country Store
1484 Route 171
Woodstock, CT: 860-974-1639

— Online Permitting Available

e Yale Forest* (7,700 acres)
Season Permits. Special restrictions apply. This area is not open for
Junior Hunter Training Days.
— JT’s Fly Shop
664 Buckley Hwy.
Union, CT: 860-684-1575

FAIRFIELD — NEW HAVEN COUNTIES
e Meriden Rod and Gun Club (1,364 acres)
— Fishing Factory II
1426 Meriden-Waterbury Road (Rte. 322)
Milldale, CT: 860-621-8145
— Online Permitting Available

¢ Pequonnock Valley (176 acres)
Hunting on Mon., Wed., Fri. and Sat. only from Oct. 15 through Dec. 24.
— Online Permitting Only
¢ Quinnipiac River State Park (340 acres)
Daily permits not required before third Saturday in October or after first
Saturday in December.
— Uncle B’s Bait & Tackle
854 South Colony Rd.
Wallingford, CT: 203-294-1180
— Online Permitting Available
¢ Seymour Fish and Game Club (195 acres)
— Oxford Town Clerk (Mondays through Thursdays)
46 Oxford Rd.
Oxford, CT: 203-888-2543
— Online Permitting Available
e Trout Brook Valley (327 acres)
— Greiser Store
299 Center Rd. (Rte.136)
Easton, CT: 203-268-9551

¢ Wallingford Town Owned Area (840 acres)
Hunting on Mon., Wed. and Sat. only from Oct. 15, 2016 through
Feb. 28, 2017.
— Uncle B’s Bait & Tackle
854 South Colony Rd.
Wallingford, CT: 203-294-1180

— Online Permitting Available
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Public Hunting Areas

HUNTING OPPORTUNITIES FOR
PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

Connecticut laws provide special

provisions for hunters with
disabilities as do many programs
administered by the Department of Energy
&  Environmental Protection. Questions
concerning special permits should be directed
to the Wildlife Division at 860-424-3011.

CGS Sec. 26-29b: provides a free hunting
license to individuals who have permanently
lost the use of a limb. Note, this law does not
pertain to permits and tags that have to be
purchased to hunt some types of game.

CGS Sec. 26-74: allows a person to obtain a
special permit to hunt legally from an all-terrain
vehicle so long as they do not possess or shoot
a loaded hunting implement while the vehicle
is in motion. Note: 4-wheel drive trucks, vans,
SUV’s, etc. are not considered all-terrain vehi-
cles. Eligible persons must be paraplegic or suffer
from the loss of or the loss of the use of both
lower extremities and be unable to walk without
the assistance of a brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic
device, or be confined to a wheel chair. Applica-
tion deadlines are February 15 and August 15.

State Land Access: Designated portions of
state forests and wildlife management areas are
accessible to disabled hunters with DEEP permits
granted under CGS Sections 26-74 and 23-11
for use of all-terrain vehicles for hunting. Prior
to access, approval by the unit/forest manager
in charge of the specific area will be required.

IMPROVED ACCESS HUNTING AREAS

There are several public hunting areas throughout
the state which have been made more accessible
for physically disabled sportsmen. In the listing
of public hunting areas, these areas are denoted
by the universal handicapped symbol. A brochure
detailing the hunting opportunities for sportsmen
with disabilities may be obtained by contacting
the American Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinators
at the Wildlife Division’s Eastern District office
(860-424-4144; 209 Hebron Rd., Marlborough,
CT 06447) or Western District office (860-424-
3032; P.O. Box 1550, Burlington, CT 06013).

STATE-LEASED HUNTING AREAS

Firearms Restrictions: Rifles of any caliber or
shotgun ammunition larger or heavier than #2
shot and hunting with any pistol or revolver
of any caliber are prohibited on state-leased
hunting areas, except by landowners, lineal
descendants, and regular employees. Water-
fowlers hunting from a boat, blind or stationary
position may use up to and including BB size
steel shot. Rifles, pistols or shotguns without
regard to caliber or shot sizes may be used
for legal hunting during the period from the
last day in February to the third Saturday in
October, only with written permission from the
landowner. During firearms deer seasons, deer
hunters with the proper permits and written
landowner permission are also exempt from
these restrictions.

/

DO YOUR PART FOR WETLAND CONSERVATION
— BUY A CONNECTICUT DUCK STAMP!

The Connecticut Duck Stamp Program provides the sole source
of funding for many of the wetland projects that are conducted
in the state. These projects benefit the approximately 274 fish,
birds, mammals, amphibians, and reptiles of the state that
rely upon clean, healthy wetlands. All waterfow! hunters are
required to purchase a Duck Stamp, but those interested in
wetland conservation also buy stamps. CT Duck Stamps may
be purchased for $13.00 wherever hunting and fishing licenses
are sold and at www.ct.gov/deep/sportsmenlicensing.

Comnecticus

Deer and Turkey Hunting: Deer and turkey
hunting on private state-leased lands requires
valid private land permits and consent forms
signed by the individual private landowner.

DOG TRAINING & FIELD TRIAL AREAS

Hunting is permitted on these areas when field
trial events are notscheduled. During field trials
these areas are closed to all other uses. Check
the DEEP website, www.ct.gov/deep/hunting, for
a listing of scheduled events. See tables on
pages 40-43 for types of hunting allowed
and locations of areas.

Dog Training Areas

The following areas have been established as
Dog Training Areas where hunting dogs may be
trained with the use of live birds. Game birds
may not be shot on these areas except during
the open hunting season.

Only artificially propagated gamebirds
(pheasants, chukar partridge, quail, ducks)
and pigeons of either sex may be liberated. All
birds liberated shall be full winged and capable
of maintaining normal flight and shall be in a
condition suitable to maintain themselves in the
wild. No birds or animals are to be shot except
during the open season; use of blank cartridges
will be permitted.

* Nod Brook Management Area
* Flaherty Field Trial Area
 Pease Brook Wildlife Management Area

Field Trial Areas

The following areas have been established
as state-regulated Field Trial Areas. Field
trial clubs sanctioned by AKC, NAVHDA or
CASDFTA may obtain permits to use these
areas for field trials.

* Nod Brook Management Area

 Flaherty Field Trial Area

* Mansfield Field Trial Area (State-leased)

» Sugarbrook Field Trial Area

Dates for state land and state-leased areas are
scheduled in December of the preceding year.
Any group wishing to use one of the above
listed areas should contact Laurie Fortin at
860-424-3963 or laurie.fortin@ct.gov in the
month of December.

/

PLEASE REPORT SIGHTINGS OF THIS BEETLE

The Asian longhorned beetle (ALB) has been
discovered attacking trees in the United States.
Tunneling by beetle larvae girdles tree stems and
branches. Repeated attacks lead to dieback of
the tree crown and, eventually, death of the tree.
The ALB probably travelled to the United States
inside solid wood packing material from China.

The ALB has one generation per year. Adult
beetles are usually present from July to October,

but can be found later in the fall if temperatures
are warm. Adults usually stay on the trees from
which they emerged or they may disperse short
distances to a new host to feed and reproduce.

Adult beetles are % to 1% inches long, with a shiny
jet black body and mottled white spots on the back.
The long antennae are 1%z to 272 times the body
length with distinctive black and white bands on
each segment. The feet have a bluish tinge.

For more information regarding the

ALB, visit the DEEP Forestry Division’s website
at www.ct.gov/deep/forestry.

To report any suspected findings, contact:
Deputy State Entomologist Dr. Victoria Smith
(203) 974-8474 or

CT State Entomologist Dr. Kirby Stafford
(203) 974-8485

/
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SPECIAL JUNIOR HUNTING EVENTS

The Connecticut DEEP Wildlife Division, along with volunteer instructors from the Conservation
Education/Firearms Safety (CE/FS) Program and several Connecticut sportsmen’s clubs, dog
clubs, and other organizations, held special junior

pheasant hunter training day events in fall 2015. Some

of the events allowed junior hunters to learn from and

hunt with certified volunteer CE/FS instructors over

well-trained bird dogs with their handlers. All of the

events were a huge success, and thanks to the efforts

of the mentors and well-trained hunting dogs with

their handlers, junior hunters were able to harvest

their first pheasant.

Look for more of these types of events for junior hunters
in 2016. Check out the Junior Hunter webpage on the
DEEP website (www.ct.gov/deep/JuniorHunter)
to learn about special events and activities, see
photos from events, and obtain more information

for junior hunters.

/

THE HUNTER’S PLEDGE

Hunting provides unique challenges and rewards. However, the future of this great tradition depends
on each hunter being responsible and ethical.

Therefore, as a hunter, | pledge to:

e Show respect for the laws.

e Show respect for other hunters.

e Show respect toward landowners and always obtain permission to hunt on private land.
e Show respect for non-hunters.

e Show respect for the land and wildlife resources.

e Familiarize myself with the areas where | plan to hunt and know the activities that occur there.
e Wear at least 400 square inches of fluorescent orange when required for hunting.

e Dress appropriately and be prepared for any sudden weather changes.

e Gall out “Hunter here!” loudly to make my location known if | see another hunter.

e Take responsibility for my actions while hunting.

Quail Ridge

Kennel & Preserve

www.quailridgekennelandpreserve.com
www.QuailRidgeKennelandPreserve.com

We offer German Shorthair pups from high
quality bloodlines, occasionally started or
finished dogs are available.

Custom guided hunts on our exquisite shooting

preserve guarantee sfyingyield of pheasant

and chukar partridge.
Professional training for all sporting breeds.

Grooming shop and all breed boarding.

Contact Steve Hopko for details 860.684.2252

SAVE ON YOUR TAXES!

Use your state income tax refund to help save Connecticut’s wildlife
and plants. Their future is on the line — the “Endangered Species/
Wildlife” Fund line on your tax return. Just check the box to make a
donation and show your support. Your gift is deductible from next
year’s federal income tax.

CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF
ENERGY & ENVIRONMENTAL
PROTECTION

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting

Share your
exciting product
or service

with the Connecticut
sporting community!

FING

(&

For advertising inquiries,
please call

(413) 884-1001

) J.E GRIFFIN

PUBLISHING
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Public Hunting Areas

The following areas are open to public hunting. The key to the left specifies what type of hunting is permitted. Special tags, stamps, and permits
are needed when hunting some species. Consult season descriptions for the species you are hunting. Consult pages 12-13 for firearms restric-
tions. Some portions of these properties may be closed to hunting. Obey all postings. Maps for many of these areas are available on the DEEP’s
website (www.ct.gov/deep/hunting).

Access: Public hunting areas marked by an asterisk (*) have notes at the end of this section. Important notes are highlighted in red.

>
(]
_ E Western Connecticut - Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield & New Haven Counties
@ S
§ § :‘n:’ @® Hunting Permitted A Designated Fall Deer/Turkey Bowhunting Only Area
S|E| 8|5 | 3] > AcheryONY A/®or >/® Some Sections Open to Archery ONLY (see map)
o rjn_; 5 E <; ﬁ AB  No-Lottery A and B Seasons O Daily/Season Permit Required (see page 36)
§ E é 2 B % § ;.-,T B No-Lottery B Season Only %k Special Conditions Apply
s b= = 1= 2 — s
R é % g N 8 E (A and > areas are open for archery hunting during the shotgun and muzzleloader deer seasons)
s | = | = | »w | = | a|=2
WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS, STATE FORESTS AND STATE PARKS CODE TOWN(S) ACRES
[ 3K Al O 62 Aldo Leopold WMA 308 | Southbury 553
[ 3K ) [ B 3K ) AB | Algonquin State Forest 201 | Colebrook 668
[ 3K ) [ B 3K ) AB | American Legion State Forest 202 | Barkhamsted 1,037
A Barber Pond WMA 203 | Bloomfield,Windsor 72
[ ] A Bennett’s Pond State Park 309 | Ridgefield 460
[ 3K ) A/® ® | ® |27A| B | Camp Columbia State Forest (Includes Deer Bowhunting Only areas - see map) 207 | Morris 600
[ 3K J Al O Cedar Swamp WMA 208 | New Hartford, Torrington 278
56 Centennial Watershed State Forest 310 | Easton, Weston, 7,233
[ AKX ) [ ) [ ] AB | Centennial Watershed State Forest (Canaan Block) 209 | Canaan 146
[ AKX J Centennial Watershed State Forest — Monroe Parcel (Garder Rd.) 311 | Monroe 93
A Centennial Watershed State Forest - Monroe Parcel (Hattertown Rd.) 310 | Monroe 34
[ 3K ) Centennial Watershed State Forest (formerly Bpt. Hydr.) - Shelton Parcel 311 | Shelton 178
[ ) Charles E. Wheeler WMA 312 | Stratford, Milford, Orange 812
A Collis P. Huntington State Park 313 | Bethel, Newtown, Redding 1,040
[ 3K ) F East River Marsh WMA (Fall firearms turkey hunting only) 314 | Guilford 147
[ 3K ) Al O East Swamp WMA 315 | Bethel 85
[ BNK A |F East Twin Lakes Water Access Area (Fall firearms turkey hunting only) 211 | Salisbury 98
[ 3K ) Al O Enders State Forest (Worthen Parcel ONLY) 332 | Granby 377
[ 3K ) Flaherty Field Trial Area Closed during field trials -Dog Training Area 212 | East Windsor 512
A George C. Waldo State Park 316 | Southbury 150
[ K ) [ AKX 3K ) AB | Goshen WMA 213 | Goshen 967
[ ] Great Harbor WMA 317 | Guilford 176
[ K BEK BW NK ) Housatonic River WMA 215 | Kent 556
[ 3K ) [ B 3K ) AB | Housatonic State Forest 216 | Sharon, efc. 11,284
[ 3K ] Al O John Minetto State Park 217 | Torrington 760
[ 3K ) [ B 3K ) AB | Mattatuck State Forest 219 | Watertown 4,673
> | > A Mohawk State Forest - Clark Pond Tract - ARCHERY ONLY 341 | Cornwall 75
[ 3K ) ® O ® |63 Mohawk State Forest - Ziegler/Johnson Tract 342 | Goshen 329
A Mount Riga State Park 222 | Salishury 315
[ 2K ) ® 0 e AB | Nassahegon State Forest 223 | Burlington 1,227
[ 3K ) [ B 3K ) AB | Naugatuck State Forest 319 | Oxford, Beacon Falls, etc. 4154
[ 3K Al O Naugatuck State Forest (Great Hill Block) 320 | Seymour 322
[ ) A/G O | @ |28 Naugatuck State Forest™(Quillinan Reservoir Block) (Includes Deer Bowhunting Only areas) | 321 | Ansonia, Seymour 597
[ 3K ) [ K 3K ) AB | Nepaug State Forest 224 | New Hartford 1,367
[ 3K Al O Newgate WMA 225 | East Granby 451
[ 3K ) Nod Brook Management Area Closed during field trials -Dog Training Area 226 | Avon, Simsbury 137
[ 3K ) [ BK 3K ) AB | Paugnut State Forest 229 | Torrington 1,831
[ 3K A/® ©® | ® AB | Paugussstt State Forest (Includes Deer Bowhunting Only areas - see map) 322 | Newtown 1,947
[ 3K ) [ 3K 3K ) AB | Peoples State Forest 230 | Barkhamsted 2,942
[ 3K ) [ BK 3K ) AB | Pootatuck State Forest 324 | New Fairfield 1,103
[ ) Quinnipiac River Marsh 325 | North Haven 572
(AN I B B 3K ) AB | Robbins Swamp WMA 231 | Canaan 1,569
[ AN BE B B BN BEl Roraback WMA 232 | Harwinton 1,975
[ AKX BEK BW NK ) Simsbury WMA 234 | Simsbury 365
® O 0 A O Suffield WMA 236 | Suffield 195
[ 3K ) Al O Sunnybrook State Park (west of Newfield Rd.) 237 | Torrington 444
[ 3K [ K 3K ) AB | Topsmead State Forest (north and west of Rte. 118) 239 | Litchfield 179
[ 3K ) [ B BN ) AB | Tunxis State Forest 240 | Hartland, etc. 9,518
[ 3K ) Al O Wooster Mountain State Park (Fall firearms turkey hunting only) 328 | Danbury 359
[ 3K ) [ 3K ) AB | Wyantenock State Forest 243 | Cornwall, etc. 4,083
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>
)
5 Western Connecticut - Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield & New Haven Counties
> 73 5
*Q‘; § é @® Hunting Permitted A Designated Fall Deer/Turkey Bowhunting Only Area
S|E|8|5| 3| > AcheryONY A/®or >/® Some Sections Open to Archery ONLY (see map)
o i = E ;<; & | AB No-Lottery A and B Seasons O Daily/Season Permit Required (see page 36)
§ E % 2 e % § g B No-Lottery B Season Only %k  Special Conditions Apply
s b= = =) 2 — s
|8 E % g N 5 E (A and > areas are open for archery hunting during the shotgun and muzzleloader deer seasons)
s | = | x w w | = | a| =2
STATE-LEASED, FLOOD CONTROL AND OTHER PUBLIC ACCESS AREAS CODE TOWN(S) ACRES
X | %k A | Xk Black Rock Lake (state and federally owned)* Closed March 30—3rd Sat. Oct. 204 | Thomaston, Watertown 400
[ BN ) Al O Bloomfield Flood Control Area (Site 1) 205 | Bloomfield 325
52 Bristol Water Company 329 | Bristol 4,500
[ 3K ) A CT Light & Power (borders Newgate WMA) (Fall firearms turkey hunting only) 210 | East Granby 180
> /@ /@ A >/@® Great Swamp Flood Control Area (Incl. Bowhunting Only areas - see map) 318 | Ridgefield 341
X | @ [ BN ) AB | Hancock Brook Lake (federally owned)* 214 | Plymouth 707
® 0| 0 A O Mad River Dam Flood Control Area 218 | Winchester 517
A 64 MDC Barkhamsted Res. - Barkhamsted East Block 343 | Barkhamsted 2,856
A 65 MDC Barkhamsted Res. - Hartland East Block 344 | Hartland 1,426
[ ] [ BN 3K ) AB | MDC - Colebrook Reservoir/Hogback Dam 220 | Colebrook, Hartland, etc. 4,159
o O 0 A MDC — Greenwoods Pond 221 | New Hartford 400
59 MDC Nepaug Reservoir - Pine Hill Block 331 | New Hartford 325
58 MDC Nepaug Reservoir - Valentine Block 330 | New Hartford 1,075
A 66 MDC Nepaug Res. - Sweetheart Mt. Block - Archery Only 345 | Barkhamsted 345
A Northfield Brook Lake (federally owned) 227 | Thomaston 201
[ BN ) Al O Sucker Brook Flood Control Area 235 | Winchester 64
|k | @ A|F Thomaston Dam (federally owned)* (Fall firearms turkey hunting only) 238 | Thomaston, Harwinton, etc. 850
[ 3K ) Al O Whiting River Flood Control Area 241 | North Canaan 49
[ 3K ) A O Wood Creek Flood Control Area 242 | Norfolk 111
PERMIT-REQUIRED AREAS (DAILY PERMIT REQUIRED TO HUNT O SEASONS) CODE TOWN(S) ACRES
O10 Bloomfield FC (Site 2)* 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. - Town Permit 206 | Bloomfield 300
OO |0 Bristol Fish and Game 3rd Sat in Oct—Sat After Thanksgiving 4 Harwinton, Plymouth 1,663
O Centennial Watershed State Forest™* Permit required from Aquarion 310 | Easton, Weston, etc. 7184
O|lO|10O East Windsor — Enfield Area 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 6 East Windsor, Enfield 1,176
OO0 Meriden Rod & Gun Club 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 14 | Meriden, Cheshire 1,364
@) NU — Kings Island Coop WMA* 262 | Enfield, Suffield 158
O|lO0O|0O| ®@| @ | @ |54A| B |NU-Skiff Mtn. Coop WMA 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 228 | Sharon 710
OO Pequonnock Valley - Only open M/W/F/Sat from 3rd Sat. in Oct.—Sat before Christmas 323 | Trumbull 176
OO Al O Quinnipiac River State Park 326 | North Haven 342
O10 A | > Scantic River State Park™ 3rd Sat in Oct. — st Sat. in Dec. (E. Windsor/Enfield) 268 | East Windsor, etc. 589
©) o110 Sessions Woods WMA A\ - Permits avail. on site M—F 8:30-4:00 233 | Burlington 7
OO Seymour Fish & Game Club 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 19 | Oxford 100
OO Stanley Works Coop WMA 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 27 | Kent, Cornwall 1,100
O Stewart B. McKinney NWR - Great Meadows Marsh* Federal permit required Stratford 165
O|lO|10O Suffield Sportsmen's Assoc. 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 22 | Suffield, East Granby 687
OO |0O| 2 Trout Brook Valley State Park - Parking pass required 327 | Easton 330
OO Wallingford Town Owned Area Only open M/W/Sat - 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 24 | Wallingford 725

Black Rock Lake: Portions of area open to hunting through cooperation of the Army Corps of Engineers. Firearms hunting limited to shotgun ammunition only. Firearms hunting prohibited between
March 30 and the third Saturday in October. Target or trap shooting prohibited.

Bloomfield Flood Control Area Site 2: Site 2 is leased to the town of Bloomfield and a special permit from the town clerk is required to hunt small game under special restrictions. Open during
the pheasant season only. Site 3 is no longer open to hunting.

Centennial Watershed State Forest: Easton, Weston, Monroe, Newtown, Trumbull. Portions open to deer bowhunting by special access permits only. Access permits available from the Aquarion
Water Company’s Aspetuck Environmental Center, 714 Black Rock Road (Rte. 58), Easton. Consult the DEEP’s website (www.ct.gov/deep/hunting) for updated information.

Hancock Brook Lake: Open to hunting through cooperation of the Army Corps of Engineers. Firearms hunting limited to shotgun ammunition only. Target or trap shooting prohibited.

Naugatuck State Forest — Quillinan Reservoir Block: No access or parking from Deerfield Lane or Ansonia Nature Center property. Area west of Clinton Road has been designated as a Deer
Bowhunting Only area. Closed to waterfow! hunting.

NU-Kings Island Coop WMA: Special restrictions apply. Waterfowl hunting only. Area may be closed before the end of the waterfowl season. Access at Parsons Road boat launch.

Scantic River State Park: Three parcels open to bowhunting for deer or turkey. Two of the three parcels open for small game, waterfowl, and spring turkey bowhunting (see area map). From the
third Saturday in October through the first Saturday in December, a daily permit for the East Windsor/Enfield Permit-Required Area is required to hunt small game and waterfowl.

Stewart B. McKinney NWR: Permits are available by calling the Visitor Services Manager at 860-399-2513.

Thomaston Dam: Open to hunting through cooperation of the Army Corps of Engineers. Firearms hunting limited to shotgun ammunition only. Firearms hunting prohibited between March 30 and
the third Saturday in October. Target or trap shooting prohibited.
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Public Hunting Areas

The following areas are open to public hunting. The key to the left specifies what type of hunting is permitted. Special tags, stamps, and permits
are needed when hunting some species. Consult season descriptions for the species you are hunting. Consult pages 12-13 for firearms restric-
tions. Some portions of these properties may be closed to hunting. Obey all postings. Maps for many of these areas are available on the DEEP’s
website (www.ct.gov/deep/hunting).

Access: Public hunting areas marked by an asterisk (*) have notes at the end of this section. Important notes are highlighted in red.

>
]
_ 5 Eastern Connecticut - middiesex, New London, Tolland & Windham Counties
@ S
% g é’ @ Hunting Permitted A Designated Fall Deer/Turkey Bowhunting Only Area
S|E|8|8|5]| > AcheryONY A/®or >/®@ Some Sections Open to Archery ONLY (see map)
o § 5 E ; § AB  No-Lottery A and B Seasons O Daily/Season Permit Required (see page 36)
5 H é g |8 g g B No-Lottery B Season Only %k Special Conditions Apply
= | £ = o 2 3|8
T|E § % g N 5 E (A and > areas are open for archery hunting during the shotgun and muzzleloader deer seasons)
| = | = w | »w | = |a|=2
WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS, STATE FORESTS AND STATE PARKS CODE TOWN(S) ACRES
[ ] [ BK 3K ) AB | Assekonk Swamp WMA 272 | North Stonington 693
([ K BN BN BN BK ) AB | Babcock Pond WMA - Waterfow! Hunting Blind 244 | East Haddam, Colchester 1,500
® © 0 o o o AB | Barn Island WMA 273 | Stonington 1,017
[ B A B B 3K ) AB | Bartlett Brook WMA 274 | Lebanon 684
® 0|0 A0 Bear Hill WMA 275 | Bozrah 357
A| S Beaver Brook State Park (Spring turkey hunting only) 276 | Windham 402
A Bigelow Hollow State Park 277 | Union, etc. 515
[ 3K ) Al O Bishops Swamp WMA 245 | Andover 719
[ ) A Black Pond WMA 337 | Middlefield 94
> | > A | > Chapman’s Pond WMA Archery Only 338 | Clinton, Westbrook 133
[ BN B WY X BN ) AB | Cockaponset State Forest (Incl. Deer Bowhunting Only areas - see map) 246 | Haddam, etc. 17,186
[ AN BEK BW NK ) Cromwell Meadows WMA 247 | Cromwell, Middletown 455
K AKX BN BV NK ) Durham Meadows WMA 248 | Durham 572
[ 3K ) [ BN 3K ] AB | Eightmile River WMA 249 | East Haddam, Lyme 309
® 0 o o o AB | Franklin Swamp WMA 278 | North Franklin 684
[ Great Island WMA 279 | Old Lyme 504
[ K BEK BW NK ) Higganum Meadows WMA (off Clarkhurst Road) 251 | Haddam 256
A Higganum Reservoir 252 | Haddam 147
[ 3K ) Al O Killingly Pond State Park 281 | Killingly 174
[ 2K ) [ BN 2K ) AB | Kollar WMA 253 | Tolland 911
® ®© 0/ 0 o o AB | Larson Lot WMA 254 | Colchester 240
[ 3K ) Al O Little River Fish and Wildlife Area 283 | Hampton 58
[ ) Lord's Cove WMA 284 | Lyme 265
K AKX K BN 3K 3K ) AB | Meadow Brook WMA 339 | Colchester 161
[ 3K ) [ BN K ) AB | Meshomasic State Forest 257 | Portland, etc. 9,099
[ 3K ) Al O Messerschmidt WMA 258 | Deep River, Westbrook 460
[ 3K ) [ BK 3K ) AB | Millers Pond 259 | Durham, Haddam 280
[ 3K ) (BN 3K ] AB | Mohegan State Forest 285 | Scotland, etc. 962
A Mono Pond 260 | Columbia 284
[ 3K ) A/O® ©® | @ AB | Natchaug State Forest (Includes Deer Bowhunting Only areas - see map) 286 | Eastford, etc. 13,677
[ 3K AKX K ) | [ 3K ] AB | Nathan Hale State Forest Mgmt. Area 261 | Andover, Coventry 1,455
[ 3K ) 'NC K 3K ) AB | Nehantic State Forest (Includes Deer Bowhunting Only areas - see map) 287 | East Lyme, etc. 5,251
[ 3K ) (BN 3K ] AB | Nipmuck State Forest 288 | Union, etc. 9,289
[ ] Al O Nott Island 289 | Lyme 82
[ 2K ) A/G® O | O AB | Nye Holman State Forest™ (Includes Deer Bowhunting Only Area) 264 | Tolland, etc. 786
® O O A0 O | O AB | Pachaug State Forest (Includes Deer Bowhunting Only areas -see map) 290 | Voluntown, etc. 26,135
(AN B B B 3K ) AB | Pease Brook WMA - Dog Training Area 291 | Lebanon 206
[ ) Plum Bank WMA 0Old Saybrook 219
A Pomeroy State Park 292 | Lebanon 286
[ (] [ ) AB | Quaddick State Forest 293 | Thompson 1,109
[ 2K 2K ) [ ) AB | Quinebaug River WMA 294 | Canterbury, Plainfield 1,646
[ A Quinebaug River WMA (Aspinook Pond) 295 | Canterbury 27
[ ) Ragged Rock Creek WMA 265 | Old Saybrook 202
[ ) Raymond Brook Marsh 266 | Hebron 199
[ 3K ) [ BK 3K ) AB | Red Cedar Lake (Camp Mooween) 296 | Lebanon 577
(K A A 2K K ) AB | Rose Hill WMA 297 | Preston, Ledyard 613
[ 3K ) Al O Ross Marsh WMA 298 | Killingly, Sterling 277
A Ross Pond State Park 299 | Killingly 314
[ 3K ) Al O Salmon River Cove and Haddam Neck 267 | East Haddam, Haddam 94
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=
]
| E Eastern Connecticut - middlesex, New London, Tolland & Windham Counties
@ ]
*Q‘; § § @® Hunting Permitted A Designated Fall Deer/Turkey Bowhunting Only Area
S|E|8|5| 3| > AcheryONY A/®or >/® Some Sections Open to Archery ONLY (see map)
o i = E § & | AB No-Lottery A and B Seasons O Daily/Season Permit Required (see page 36)
§ E % 2 R % g B No-Lottery B Season Only %k  Special Conditions Apply
= < =4 o | 2 = s
|8 E % g N 5 E (A and > areas are open for archery hunting during the shotgun and muzzleloader deer seasons)
s | = | x w »w | = | a|2
WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS, STATE FORESTS AND STATE PARKS CODE TOWN(S) ACRES
[ BK ] [ AKX BN ) AB | Salmon River State Forest (including Holbrook Pond) 300 | Colchester, etc. 6,980
[ ] [ ] [ ] Selden Neck State Park (Selden Island) 301 | Lyme 531
[ AKX ) [ B 3K ) AB | Shenipsit State Forest 269 | Stafford, etc. 7,583
®  ®©/ /| | O AB | Spignesi WMA 302 | Scotland 524
[ AN K BN BN BK ) AB | Sugarbrook Field Trial Area Closed During Field Trials 303 | Plainfield 200
[ 3K ) [ BN 3K ) AB | Talbot WMA 304 | Scotland 475
[ ] ® O O® | 60 Tankerhoosen WMA 334 | Vernon 449
o 06 & 0 © AB | Wangunk Meadows (off Rte. 17a) 270 | Portland 637
[ 3K ) [ BN 3K ) AB | Wopowog WMA 271 | East Hampton, Haddam 465
[ 3K ) [ BN BK )] AB | Zemko Pond WMA 307 | Salem 457
STATE-LEASED, FLOOD CONTROL AND OTHER PUBLIC ACCESS AREAS CODE TOWN(S) ACRES
[ 3K ) [ BN 3K ) AB | Ellithorpe Flood Control Area 250 | Stafford 41
[ AKX ) Al O Mansfield Hollow Lake (excluding State Park) 255 | Mansfield, Chaplin, etc. 2,012
[ BN ) Al O Mansfield State-Leased Field Trial Area Closed During Field Trials 256 | Mansfield 300
[ 3K ) [ B 3K ) AB | Silvio 0. Conte NWR - Salmon River Division (federal land) 333 | Haddam 285
[ 2K ) [ BK BN ) AB | West Thompson Dam (federal land) 305 | Thompson 1,950
PERMIT-REQUIRED AREAS (DAILY PERMIT REQUIRED TO HUNT O SEASONS) CODE TOWN(S) ACRES
OO Bolton Area 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 2 Bolton 238
O Harkness Memorial State Park* A\ (Verkade Property) - Park permit required 280 | Waterford 157
OO0 Hebron Area 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 11 | Hebron 454
OO Higganum — Haddam Rod & Gun Club 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 9 Haddam 66
O10 Lebanon Coop Mgmt. Area*® 282 | Lebanon, Colchester 214
OO0 Norwich Fish & Game Assoc. (South) 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 17 | Norwich 700
OO [ ] @ [53A| B |NU-Maromas Coop WMA 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 263 | Middletown 1,400
O @) (O | Stone’s Ranch Military Reservation™ 336 | EastLyme 1,600
OO0 Woodstock 3rd Sat in Oct—End of Feb. 25 | Woodstock 363
O10 O 51A Yale Forest (owned by Yale University)* Parking pass required 306 | Eastford, Union, Ashford 7,700

Harkness Memorial State Park: A portion of the park north of Rte. 213 (former Verkade property) is designated as a Deer Bowhunting Only area. Special access permits are required. Inquire at
Park Manager’s Office.
Lebanon Cooperative Management Area: Hunting only in area located south of Old Rte. 2 (Norwich Ave.). Area owned by the Dept. of Agriculture and leased for farming.

Nye Holman State Forest: Sections adjacent to field archery range in Tolland are closed to all firearms hunting and are designated Deer Bowhunting Only areas. Youth camping area is closed to

all hunting.

Stone’s Ranch Military Reservation: 1,600 acres only open to deer and turkey hunting via a special daily access permit available online (information at www.ct.gov/deep/Hunting). Closed to
hunting during specific days as determined by the State Military Department. Single access point only off of Stone’s Ranch Road.
Yale Forest Permit-Required Area: Area open from September 1 through February 28 for small game, waterfowl, and turkey hunting by seasonal access permit. Parking passes are also
required. See vendor for details.

ife threatening illnesses.

Toll Free 866.345.4455 Huntofalifetime.org

We Provide Hunting

Opportunities to
Law Enforcement Agents
Injured in the Line of Duty.

To Volunteer Or Donate, Please Visit Our Website

HuntingForHeroes.org

Wildlife Control Sup
> Experience > Knowledge > Products forPra

For; alllyour;

Trapping;
Supplies!

www.ShopW(S.com 877-684-7262
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Furbearer Trapping Seasons & Regulations

SPECIES 2016 DATES SEASON LIMITS

. N Jan. 1 —March 15

River Otter & Nov. 6 — Dec. 31 8
. Jan. 1 —March 31 -

Beaver & Dec. 1 — Dec. 31 No Limit
Mink*, Muskrat, Weasel, Coyote*, Gray Fox*, Red Fox*, Jan. 1 —March 15 No Limits
Raccoon, Opossum, and Skunk & Nov. 6 —Dec. 31
Fisher* Nov. 20 — Dec. 31 4

* All beaver, fisher, river otter, red fox, gray fox, wild mink, and coyote pelts must be properly tagged before they are
sold, exchanged, given away, otherwise disposed of, or retained for personal use. These pelts must be tagged by the last
scheduled tagging date of the season. Fur dealers are prohibited from buying or selling untagged pelts of these species.
Foxes and coyotes taken by hunters, instead of being pelt tagged, may be reported by telephone
(1-877-377-4868) or online at www.ct.gov/deep/Hunting.

2016 PELT TAGGING SCHEDULE

Location 2016 Dates

e Natchaug Forest Hdqtrs. ................. Mar. 12
Kingsbury Road, Eastford

e Franklin WMA ... Apr. 9
Rte. 32, Franklin

¢ Southford Falls State Park ............... Apr. 9
Rte. 188, Oxford

e Sessions Woods WMA..................... Apr. 10

Rte. 69, Burlington

Pelts will be tagged (at no cost) by DEEP repre-
sentatives between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and
11:00 a.m. at the locations and dates listed
above. Pelts can be tagged at some DEEP field

COYOTE LAND TRAPPING

From December 1 through January 31 there
are special provisions for trapping coyotes on
private land. Refer to PADDED METAL TRAP
RESTRICTIONS section on page 45 for the
requirements that must be met to trap coyotes
on private land during this time period.

TAXIDERMISTS

Taxidermists can accept untagged animals or
pelts, but are required to have them tagged by the
next scheduled tagging date. Taxidermists must
attach a paper tag to the animal or pelt listing
the hunter or trapper’s name, Conservation ID
number, town of harvest and date of harvest.

PELTS OF PROTECTED SPECIES

Any skin, pelt, or carcass of protected species,
including Bobcat and Black Bear, may not be
sold, purchased, or possessed unless:

1. It was legally acquired and,

2. In addition to any tag required by any other
state or country, affixed with a separate tag
bearing the following information: (a) Date
acquired. (b) Name and address of the person
from whom it was acquired. (¢) Hunting or
trapping license number under which it was
harvested (if applicable). (d) State and/or
country from which it was acquired.

CARCASS COLLECTIONS

Wildlife biologists are collecting carcasses of
fishers to determine the age structure and
productivity of their population. If you harvest
fishers, you should turn the carcasses in at pelt
tagging stations or call the Wildlife Division at
860-424-3011 to arrange a pick-up.

STATE LAND TRAPPING

Permits for trapping on selected state-owned
land can be purchased for $120.00 per unit.
There are two units, one east and one west of
the Connecticut River. The units include many
of the state forests and wildlife management
areas. Information on applying for permits,
applicant requirements, and available proper-
ties can be obtained on the DEEP website at

offices during weekdays by appointment. Call
the Wildlife Division at 860-424-3011 for
weekday and other tagging options.

www.ct.gov/deep/hunting or by contacting the
Wildlife Division at 860-424-3011.

/

RABIES: \WHAT HUNTERS AND TRAPPERS SHOULD KNOW

e Rabies is a disease caused by a virus affecting the central nervous
system. Left untreated, rabies is almost always fatal.

 Rabies is primarily transmitted through the bite of an infected animal,
however, people may also be exposed by being scratched by a rabid
animal or getting an animal’s saliva into an open wound or mucous
membrane (eyes, nose, or mouth).

e Only mammals get rabies; birds, fish, reptiles, and amphibians do not.
Raccoons, skunks, bats, foxes, dogs, cats and some farm animals are
most likely to get rabies. Rabbits, opossums, squirrels, rats, and mice
are seldom affected.

e An epidemic of raccoon rabies reached Connecticut in March 1991.
Since then, rabies has infected thousands of raccoons. Cases in non-
raccoon species, including dogs, cats, skunks, foxes and woodchucks
have also been reported.

e Hunters and trappers can minimize their risk of exposure to rabies by
following several common sense rules and by knowing what to do if
they or their pets are exposed:

e Avoid contact with animals appearing sick or acting abnormal, i.e.
aggressive, paralyzed, disoriented or unusually tame.

e \Wear disposable rubber gloves when dressing and skinning game,
and clean up with soap and water promptly.

e Make sure your dogs have current rabies vaccinations. If you have a

e |f you frequently handle high risk species such as raccoons, skunks,

e |f you are bitten or scratched or think that you have been exposed

e |f possible, without further injury or risk of exposure, capture, Kill or

e |f your pet fights with a wild animal, attempt to secure the animal for

® Rabies virus is concentrated primarily in the saliva, brain, and spinal

cat as a household pet, be certain it is vaccinated as well.

foxes, or woodchucks, consider getting the human pre-exposure
vaccine.

to rabies from a wild animal, wash the exposed area thoroughly
with soap and water, and contact your doctor or emergency clinic,
immediately.

confine the wild animal without damaging the head, and contact your
local health department for additional information.

rabies testing. Always wear gloves when handling your pet or treat-
ing its wounds under such circumstances. Notify your local Animal
Control Officer and contact the pet’s veterinarian for advice and/or
treatment.

cord. Heat from thorough cooking will kill rabies virus, making prop-
erly cooked meat from game animals safe. When preparing meat for
cooking, wearing rubber gloves and cleaning up with soap and water
is recommended.

/
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Furbearing animals for which there is an open
trapping season may be taken by Box Traps, Live
Traps, Deadfalls, Padded and Unpadded Metal
Traps, Smooth Wire Traps, and Species Specific
Traps subject to the following restrictions.

UNPADDED METAL TRAP RESTRICTIONS

1

. May only be used below the surface of the

water in a pond, lake, stream, spring hole,
or tidal water.

. Opening greater than 5%" is prohibited,

except that traps with an opening of up
to 7'%2" may be set for beaver in waters
frequented by beaver.

PADDED METAL TRAP RESTRICTIONS

1.

May only be used in the burrow of a wild
animal or below the surface of the water in a
pond, lake, stream, spring hole, or tidal water.
Except that, any person who has completed a
DEEP approved special land trapping course
may use padded metal traps on or below
ground from December 1 through January
31 for the taking of coyotes on private land
parcels of at least 10 contiguous acres where
the landowner has given written permission
explicitly for the use of such traps. When
trapping coyotes in this manner, no visible
bait may be used, pan tension must be two
pounds or greater, and traps must be securely
anchored to the ground.

LEGAL TRAPS AND METHODS 2. Opening greater than 515" is prohib-

ited, except that traps with an opening of
up to 7%2" may be set for beaver in waters
frequented by beaver.

SMOOTH WIRE TRAP RESTRICTIONS

1. May only be used below the surface of
the water in a pond, lake, stream, spring
hole, or tidal water. Except, smooth
wire traps having an opening of 43"
or less may extend above the surface of
the water provided a portion of the trap
frame remains in contact with the water.

2. Opening greater than 62" is prohib-
ited, except that Conibears and similar
smooth wire traps with an opening of
up to 10" may be set for beaver in waters
frequented by beaver.

THE FOLLOWING ARE PROHIBITED:
* The use of any type of snare.
* Traps placed, set, or tended within 10 feet of the

waterline of a muskrat house or beaver house.

* Traps with serrations or teeth.

TRAPPERS ARE REQUIRED TO:
o Attach their name legibly to all traps.
* Obtain, and have in possession, the written

permission of the landowner when trapping
on their land. Written permission must be
renewed annually.

Tend all traps within a 24-hour period.

TRAP DEFINITIONS

Padded Metal Trap: A legal padded metal trap
has all of the following features or character-
istics:

1. Spring strength not exceeding 55 inch
pounds with arms closed and 85 inch pounds
with arms in the open position;

2. A gap between the arms of the trap in the
closed position no less than % inch in width
and no less than 4 inches in length;

3. Replaceable non-weather hardening, non-age
hardening padding material not less than /5
inch thick covering the closing surfaces and
securely affixed to the arms of the trap;

4. A chain no longer than 6 inches in length;

. Swivels located at each end of the chain, and;

6. A shock absorbing spring incorporated into
the anchoring chain.

Ut

Species Specific Trap: A legal species specific

trap has all of the following features or char-

acteristics:

1. Triggering and restraining mechanisms
enclosed by a housing;

2. When set, triggering and restraining mecha-
nism accessible only via a single opening;

3. An access opening measuring not greater
than 2 inches in diameter or diagonally;

4. A triggering mechanism that can only be
activated by a pulling force;

5. A swivel-mounted anchoring mechanism.

FREE

Furbearer
Management!

Offering FREE

Removal of Problem
Furbearers or
Management Before
a Problem Arises!

November 1*— March 31*

For more information visit:
connecticuttrappersassociation.com

New members welcome!

609-805-7146
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Marketplace

RETAILERS

Andover Archery Center

398 Hebron Rd Andover, CT 06232
860-742-4279
www.andoverarchery.com

ARCHERY & CROSSBOW SPECIALISTS

SALES & SERVICE
41 YEARS EXPERIENCE
Mark Hall, Owner

50-yard range & 24-target 3D range
Bowhunter Education Classes

G5 Prime Bows
Elite Archery Bows
Ten Point Crossbows
Easton & Beman Arrows

I

TAXIDERMY

CORNERSTONE
TAXIDERMY

SNED’'S Taxiderm

Wildlife Trophy
Specialist

203.671.8198

Wallingford,CT
SnedsTaxidermy.com
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HUNTING PRODUCTS TRAPPERS LAND MANAGEMENT

GUN SUPPLIES

Autumn Gun Works,inc.

We Buy Antique, Sporting
& Collectible Firearms
Federally Licensed Dealer

Firearms, Ammunition,
Optics & Reloading

NRA Basic Pistol Course
Call for Scheduling

(860) 491-4867 Tuesday—Saturday: Noon—5PM

3 Bare Hill Road - Goshen, CT - 06756

HUNTING DOGS & KENNELS

*Stud Service

¢ AKC Registered
*Trained Dogs
*Puppies

Established 1973
377 Pendleton Hill Rd. - North Stonington, CT - 06359
(860) 535-1542 www.BirchHillBrittanys.com
“Class Bird Dogs from Champion Bloodlines”

Deer Love Sugarbeets!
Sugarbeets are a hardy vegetable
that make a great addition to any
wildlife plot.

Q
o
3

BuckLunc

If you want to attract more deer to your food plot,
call 1-888-331-8997 Ext. 101
or visit www.bucklunch.com

CENTERVILLE FARM & KENNEL
DoG TRAINING—PRIVATE SESSIONS & LONGER TERM

] HUNTING CARTS

ABILITY

DURABILITY. RELIABILITY. AFFORDABILITY.

SINCE 1957, GRANBERG INTERNATIONAL HAS BEEN
PRODUCING THE HIGHEST QUALITY CHAINSAW

MILLS AND ACCESSORIES AVAILABLE ANYWHERE.

OUR AMERICAN-MADE PRODUCTS GIVE YOU THE
CAPABILITY AND ACCURACY OF A PROFESSIONAL-GRADE
SAW MILL AT A PRICE THAT WON'T BREAK THE BANK.

CALL 1-800-233-6499
FOR A FREE CATALOG
OR VISIT WWW.GRANBERG.COM

SURVEY

Win a $100 Gift Card!
Take the monthly

And be entered to win
a $100 gift certificate to your
sporting good retailer of choice.

Your anonymous participation advances
fish and wildlife conservation, helps
protect your right to hunt, fish and shoot,
and guides companies in developing
better outdoor products.

CHARITY

Toll Free: 866-345-4455
www.HuntofalLifetime.org
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Siﬁlg"z Among Brand Name
Meat Grinders
Every Call or Visit
Meat Grinder our Website Today!

Is NSF Approved!

HUNTING LAND FOR LEASE

Private hunting land
for lease in MA.
www.hullforest.com

Share your
exciting product
or service

with the Connecticut

sporting community!

= Eoiemp

For advertising inquiries, please call

(413) 884-1001
) J.E GRIFFIN

PUBLISHING 1
www.ct.gov/deep/hunting

Alabama’s #1
Hunting Destination

(Comforti/ServicelSuccess]
9,000 Actes $1495-$1895 3 days

Private Lodging Family Discounts
2 Bucks & 2 Does/trip High Opportunity Rate

334-474-3600
MasterRackLodge.com

Year Round Hunting 7 Days A Week, No License

« Open to the public
* No license required

T-M-T

« 15 station sporting clays
« Mallard hunts over decoys H UNTING
« Walk up pheasant and chukar hunts PRESERVE

* Dutchess County, New York
Call for Reservations — 845.266.5108
TMTHuntingPreserve.com

GAME PROCESSING OUT-OF-STATE GUIDES & OUTFITTERS

s $500 per night.
No limits, no
trophy fees. We
supply ammo,
optics and
weapons. You
i bring a cooler,
’ - flashlight and
229-669-9748 camera!
P.0. BOX 1056 3
LEESBURG, GA We equip you
Night Vision Sales & Consulting With state-
of-the-art
handheld
thermal optics
to locate hogs
and AR-15’s
with thermal
scopes mounted
to harvest them
with. It doesn’t
get any better
than that!!

www.HogSwat.com

LAND FOR SALE

Foreclosed Land
Deeply Discounted
Recreational and Residential land located in
FL, NC, TX, AR, NY, PA, WA, AZ, NV

888-758-5687
www.dfcland.com
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JAN
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Sunrise — Sunset

APR

MAY

JUN

JUL
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SEP

ocT
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PM
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PM
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PM
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PM

AM

PM
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PM
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PM
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PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

AM

PM

718

4:31

7:03

5:06

6:26

5:41

6:34

7:16

5:48

7:49

519

8:19

5:20

8:29

5:45

8:09

6:16

7:25

6:47

6:33

7:23

5:46

6:58

421

718

4:32

7.02

5.07

6:24

5:42

6:32

77

5:46

7:50

518

8:20

5:20

8:29

5:46

8.08

6:17
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6:48

6:31

7:24

5:44
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421

718

4:32

7.01

5:.08

6:23

5:43

6:31

718

5:45

7:51

518

8:20

521

8:29

5:.47

8:07

6:18
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6:49

6:30

7:25

5:43
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421
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6:28
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4:36

6:57

5:14

6:16
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6:32
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5:21
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Eastern Standard Time approximate for Central Connecticut and adjusted for Daylight Saving Time.

New Firewood Regulations in Effect!
Stop the Spread of Invasive Pests

For more information about the new regulations, go to

www.ct.gov/deep/forestry

www.dontmovefirewood.org

2016 Connecticut Hunting & Trapping Guide
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GOING/HUNTING?,

Just come to Hoffman’s for the best prices

f \'bﬁ) meﬂ“&?ﬁ% 0@, ”@W&

v/ State-of-the-art indoor
shooting range

v/ Professional training

v 29 state permit class

v Largest inventory of
guns & ammunition
v/ Lowest prices every day
v/ Wide selection of used firearms

@ RUGER () BERETTA

- B @ir Sbsayem

_ HOFFMAN’S

GUN CENTER & INDOOR RANGE

2686 Berlin Turnpike - Newington, CT
Hours: Mon thruFri-9to8 - Sat-9to6 - Sun-10to5

W/
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r F F ,Mmﬁf www.hoffgun.com


http://hoffgun.com

