
Back to School Safety! 
The following health and safety tips are recommendations made by the American 
Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). 

Traveling to and from School: 

School Bus  
• Children should always board and exit the bus at locations that provide safe 

access to the bus or to the school building. 
• Remind your child to wait for the bus to stop before approaching it from 

the curb.  
• Make sure your child walks where they can see the bus driver (which 

means the driver will be able to see them, too). 
• Remind your child to look both ways to see that no other traffic is coming 

before crossing the street, just in case traffic does not stop as required. 
• Your child should not move around on the bus.  
• If your child's school bus has lap/shoulder seat belts, make sure your child 

uses them at all times when in the bus.  
 
Car 

• All passengers should wear a seat belt or use an age- and size-appropriate 
car safety seat or booster seat.  

• Your child should ride in a car safety seat with a harness as long as possible 
and then ride in a belt-positioning booster seat. Your child is ready for a 
booster seat when they have reached the top weight or height allowed for 
the seat, their shoulders are above the top harness slots, or their ears have 
reached the top of the seat.  

• Your child should ride in a belt-positioning booster seat until the vehicle's 
seat belt fits properly (usually when the child reaches about 4' 9" in height 
and is between 8 to 12 years of age). This means that the child is tall 
enough to sit against the vehicle seat back with their legs bent at the knees, 
feet hanging down and the shoulder belt lies across the middle of the chest 
and shoulder, not the neck or throat. The lap belt should also be low and 
snug across the thighs, not the stomach.  



• All children younger than 13 years of age should ride in the rear seat of 
vehicles. If you must drive more children than can fit in the rear seat (when 
carpooling, for example), move the front-seat passenger's seat as far back 
as possible and have the child ride in a booster seat if the seat belts do not 
fit properly without it. 

• Remember that many crashes occur while novice teen drivers are going to 
and from school.  Familiarize yourself with the State of Connecticut’s 
graduated driver's license laws and consider the use of a parent-teen driver 
agreement to facilitate the early driving learning process.  In accordance 
with Connecticut State Law, seat belt use is required for all teenagers.  Cell 
phone use is also prohibited (regardless of whether or not a hands-free 
device is utilized).  You should also consider restricting teenage driving 
during inclement weather.  

 
Bike  

• Always wear a bicycle helmet, no matter how short or long the ride.  
• Ride on the right side of the road, in the same direction as vehicle traffic.  
• Use appropriate hand signals.  
• Respect traffic lights and stop signs.  
• Wear bright-colored clothing to increase visibility. White or light-colored 

clothing and reflective gear is especially important after dark.  
 
Walking to School  

• Make sure your child's walk to school is a safe route with well-trained adult 
crossing guards at major intersections. 

• Identify other children in the neighborhood with whom your child can walk 
to school. 

• Be realistic about your child's pedestrian skills. Because small children are 
impulsive and less cautious around traffic, carefully consider whether or 
not your child is ready to walk to school without adult supervision.  

• If your children are young or are walking to a new school, walk with them 
the first week or until you are sure they know the route and can do it 
safely. 

• Bright-colored clothing will make your child more visible to drivers.  
 

 
 



Bullying 
Bullying or cyberbullying is when one child picks on another child 
repeatedly.  Bullying can be physical, verbal, or social.  It can happen at 
school, on the playground, on the school bus, in the neighborhood, over 
the internet or through mobile devices like cell phones.  If you feel your 
child is the victim of bullying please feel free to speak to one of the 
Simsbury Police Department’s School Resource Officers; Officer Kushman or 
Officer May. 

 
When Your Child Is Bullied: 

• Help your child learn how to respond by teaching your child how to: 
 1. Look the bully in the eye. 
 2. Stand tall and stay calm in a difficult situation.  
 3. Walk away.  

• Teach your child how to say in a firm voice:  
1. "I don't like what you are doing."  
2. "Please do NOT talk to me like that."  
3. "Why would you say that?"  

• Teach your child when and how to ask a trusted adult for help.  
• Encourage your child to make friends with other children. 
• Support activities that interest your child. 
• Alert school officials to the problems and work with them on solutions.  
• Make sure an adult who knows about the bullying can watch out for your 

child's safety and well-being when you cannot be there. 
• Monitor your child's social media or texting interactions so you can identify 

problems before they get out of hand.  
 
When Your Child Is the Bully: 

• Be sure your child knows that bullying is never OK.  
• Set firm and consistent limits on your child's aggressive behavior.  
• Be a positive role mode. Show children they can get what they want 

without teasing, threatening or hurting someone. 
• Use effective, non-physical discipline, such as loss of privileges.  
• Develop practical solutions with the school principal, teachers, counselors, 

and parents of the children your child has bullied.  
 

When Your Child Is a Bystander: 



• Encourage your child to join with others in telling bullies to stop. 
• Encourage your child to tell a trusted adult about the bullying.  
• Help your child support other children who may be bullied.  
• Encourage your child to include these children in activities 

Please don’t hesitate to contact the Simsbury Police Department (860) 658-3100 
with any questions or concerns regarding back to school safety. 


