1		ZONING COMMISSION - REGULAR MEETING
2		Monday, December 4, 2023, at 7:00 P.M.
3		Simsbury Town Hall – Main Meeting Room
4		Simsbury Town Hair Main Meeting Room
5 6	I.	CALL TO ORDER – Vice Chairman Braz called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.
7 8 9 10 11		Present: Town Planner, George McGregor; Assistant Town Planner, Brittany MacGilpin; Land Use Specialist, Chris Donlon; Code Compliance Officer, Joseph Hollis; Zoning Commission Members: Katherine Beal, Tony Braz, Bruce Elliott, Shannon Leary, Diane Madigan, and Tucker Salls; Zoning Commission Alternate Members: Joshua Michelson and David Moore.
12 13	II.	ELECTION OF OFFICERS
14		
15		1. Election of Chair
16		
17		Commissioner Salls nominated Bruce Elliott as Chairman of the Zoning
18		Commission.
19		
20		MOTION: Commissioner Salls made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Beal,
21		to appoint Bruce Elliott as Chairman of the Zoning Commission. The motion
22		carried unanimously. (6-0-0).
23		
24		2. Election of Vice Chair
25		
26 27		Chairman Elliott nominated Tony Braz as Vice Chairman of the Zoning Commission.
28		MOTION OF THE STATE OF THE STAT
29		MOTION: Chairman Elliott made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Leary, to
30		appoint Tony Braz as Vice Chairman of the Zoning Commission. The motion
31		carried unanimously. (6-0-0).
32	тт	CENEDAL COMMISSION DUCINESS
33	III.	GENERAL COMMISSION BUSINESS
34		1 Assentance of Design Devices Decard Designations
35		1. Acceptance of Design Review Board Resignations
36		Chairman Filling at the Late Common Automia (D) West arise Deed (D) and Lance
37		Chairman Elliott stated that Steven Antonio (D), Katherine Beal (R), and James
38		Pennington (U) have all resigned from their positions on the Design Review Board.
39 40		MOTION. Commissioner Salls made a motion, seconded by Vice Chairman Proz
40 41		MOTION: Commissioner Salls made a motion, seconded by Vice Chairman Braz, to accept the Design Review Board Resignations. Commissioner Beal abstained.
41		The motion carried unanimously. (5-0-1).
42		The monon carried unanimously. (3-0-1).
43 44		
45		
46		
+0		

49 50 51 52 53 54		Chairman Elliott stated that Anca Dragulski (R), Polly Rice (R), and Elaine Lang (D) have all be recommended for reappointment for a 4-year term beginning 12/04/2023 and ending 12/06/2027. Doug McKown (D) has been recommended to fill the vacancy through a resignation until 12/01/2025. MOTION: Commissioner Leary made a motion, seconded by Vice Chairman
55 56 57		Braz, to accept the appointment of Design Review Board Members. The motion carried unanimously. (6-0-0).
58 59	IV.	PLANNING DIRECTOR REPORT AND PRESENTATION
60 61		Mr. McGregor presented the following:
62 63		1. Zoning Commission Framework
64		• 6 regular members, 3 alternates, 4 establishes a quorum.
65		 Roberts Rules is followed as a guideline.
66		• Meetings are the first and third Mondays at 7PM, in the Main Meeting
67		Room or other designated place to accommodate community presence.
68		 Bylaws govern activity and are welcome for review.
69		2 Poles and Pernancibilities
70 71		2. Roles and Responsibilities
72		• Authority by State Statute to regulate land use and establish and enforce
73		zoning regulations.
74		 Implement the Plan of Conservation and Development.
75		Review and Decide upon applications.
76		• Provide guidance and regulation through three different zoning regulations.
77		
78		3. Planning Department Contacts
79		
80		 Chris Donlon – Land Use Specialist
81		 Joe Hollis – Code Compliance/Zoning Administration
82		 Brittany MacGilpin – Assistant Town Planner
83		 George McGregor – Planning Director
84		 Bob DeCrescenzo – Town Attorney
85		
86		4. Training Requirements
87		
88		 State Law requires four hours of training per term.
89		
90		5. Ethics
91		
92		• No ex-parte communications.

2. Appointment of Design Review Board Member(s)

93		 Avoid statements of pre-disposition.
94		• Recuse if conflict of interest.
95		 FOIA and government email can be subjected.
96		Ç
97		6. Other
98		
99		• The application process.
100		 Encouraged establishing prioritization.
101		
102	V.	ADJOURNMENT
103		
104		MOTION: Commissioner Madigan made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Beal,
105		to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried unanimously. (6-0-0).
106		
107		Chairman Elliott adjourned the meeting at 7:50 P.M.
108		
109		Respectfully Submitted,
110		
111		Amanda Blaze
112		Commission Clerk