

Town of Simsbury

933 HOPMEADOW STREET SIMSBURY, CONNECTICUT 06070

Sustainability Committee Meeting Minutes May 4, 2023 – 6:30 P.M.

Conducted via Zoom

Meeting ID: 722 232 2789

Attendees:
Mark Scully
Joe Daly
Lydia Tedone
Holly Beum
Susan Van Kleef
Marc Warren
Ray Harris
Jami Lewchick

Susan Olson Jenn Weymouth Victoria North Bayard Faithful Mike Schulitz

- 1) Public audience
 - a) No comments
- 2) Approval of April 2023 Minutes
 - a) Held till next meeting.
- 3) Update on Committee Reorganization
 - a) Mark summarized the changes in the committee rules and regulations that were officially adopted at the previous Board of Selectman meeting
- 4) Updates from Ex-Officio Boards
 - a) Joe Daly Gave a brief description of what the swap shop is and does
 - b) Lydia Tedone discussed the Latimer Lane construction
 - c) Holly Beum stated the only work being done is on the POCD which will be covered later in the Meeting
- 5) Planned/Ongoing/Potential Activities
 - a) Food Waste
 - i) Committee discussed Food Waste Sub-committee meeting with Center for Eco-Technology (CET) to discuss food waste recover for Squadron Line School
 - ii) Discussion was had about possibility of reviewing Latimer Lane before construction is completed

- b) Fall Sustainability Fair
 - i) The committee discussed the plans for the Spooktacular event this fall and what the committee would and could do to promote themselves and their programs
- c) Plan of Conservation and Development (POCD)
 - i) Holly Beum discussed the new POCD draft and the committee discussed the plan
- d) Sustainable CT
 - i) Mark gave the Committee an update on the progress of the Sustainable Application
- e) Potential Energy Retrofit Campaign
 - i) Mark discussed an opportunity for an energy retrofit campaign which the committee might be able to headline
- 6) Open forum
 - a) Marc Warren discussed food waste items in the Town that might be being generated, and how the committee can try to address them
 - b) Open forum on public housing discussed
- 7) Meeting ended at 8:16 PM

Members

Ex Officio

Holly Beum, Planning Commission Bob Crowther, Economic Dev. Comm. Joe Daly, Recycling Committee Michelle Lipur, Culture, Parks & Rec Lydia Tedone, Board of Education

At-Large

Jami Lewchik Amy McLean Mark Scully