Child Safety Seat
Installation

!'_ Is your child
safe?

Simsbury Police
Department

Community
Services




i Traveling Safely with Children

= Everybody needs a child safety seat,
booster seat, or safety belt.

= There must be one safety belt for each
person.

= People who are not buckled can be
thrown from the car or around inside
the car causing injury to themselves or
others.




i Child Passenger Safety Facts

= Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause
of death for children of all races ages 2-14.

= Child safety seats, when properly installed,
reduce the risk of death by 71% for infants
and 549% for toddlers.

= In Connecticut, 95%6 of all child safety
seats are improperly installed.



i Getting started...

The child safety seat you choose should fit the
age, weight and length of your child.

Not every seat fits every vehicle.

It Is recommended that you know the history
of the seat. Buying or borrowing a seat
without knowing if it has been involved in a
previous crash, recalled or has all of its parts
can be dangerous.

READ both the seat and vehicle manufacturer
INstruction manuals.



i Safety Issues

= If the registration card was not
returned upon purchase, the owner of

the seat may not be aware of a seat

recall. Call the manufacturer or register

the seat online.

= Many parents install or attach toys,
window shades and mirrors which may
disengage and hurt the child.

= No one seat Is best, the “best” seat Is
the one that fits your child and can be
Installed correctly in your vehicle.




#1 Infant Seats

+

(rear facing)

Designed for newborns and infants

between 5 — 20 pounds, some may be
larger or smaller.

Safest position is in the middle of the
back seat.

Safety seat should not move more than
1” from side to side (near the seatbelt)
and should rock slightly from front to
back.

No part of the infant seat should touch
the rear of a front seat.



+

#2 Convertible Seats
(rear or forward facing)

= A convertible safety seat Is
recommended when a child i1s not
yet 12 months of age but is at or
above the weight limit of an
Infant seat.

= Some convertible seats have
welight limits up to 35 pounds
rear-facing and 40+ pounds
forward-facing.



i #3 Booster Seats

= A belt-positioning booster seat Is
preferred for children between 40-
100 pounds.

= A belt-positioning booster seat Is used
with both the lap and shoulder belt.

= The lap and shoulder belt system
alone will not fit most children until
they are at least 4’9” and weigh about
80 pounds.



i Connecticut Law

= Any person who = All drivers and
transports a child front seat
under the age of 7, passengers who
AND weighing less are not covered by
than 60 pounds the child restraint
must provide and law must wear
require the child to safety belts.
use a restraint Children between
system. the ages of 4 and

16 must also use
safety belts in the
back seat.



i Connecticut Law

s INnfant seats can not be In front
of an airbag

s Children In booster seats must
be secured with a lap and

shoulder seat belt



i Safety Suggestions

= If your vehicle has a passenger air
bag, It iIs recommended for children
under 13 to ride In the back seat.

= Refrain from attaching any item
within the passenger compartment by
using a suction cup, Velcro, or plastic
clips.

= Secure and remove all passenger
compartment items from being
possible projectiles.



Inspection and Parent
i Education

= Once you have installed your child
safety seat, you may make an
appointment by calling the Simsbury
Police Department at 658-3100 to
have your seat inspected.

= A safety seat technician will check your
work and assist you with correcting
any errors, If needed.




For further information

i contact...

s Connecticut Safe Kids
= Www.ctsafekids.org

= CT. Department of
Transportation

« http://www.ct.gov/dot

= National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration

= Www.nhtsa.gov



