About SPD

The Police Department plays an important role in maintaining the quality of life within the community. Responsible for maintaining civil order, preventing crime, protecting life and property, and educating the community in ways and means of preserving peace, the Police Department is the only Town agency that provides emergency and routine community services twenty-four hours a day, 365 days a year.

The Police Department has 39 sworn officers augmented by 11 full-time and 1 part-time civilian personnel. The Department consists of two primary divisions: Patrol and Administrative Services. The Patrol Division provides around-the-clock immediate response to calls for service, while the Administrative Division provides all other support services. The Administrative Division consists of: Detective Unit, which is responsible for investigation of serious crime, Training Unit & Professional Standards, which is responsible for police training and accreditation activities, Community Services Unit, which is responsible for a variety of community and neighborhood services, including traffic surveys and public education, the Communications Unit, which is responsible for receiving and dispatching calls for service, and the Records Unit, which is responsible for processing, collection and filing of all police and related reports.

The Department also employs a full-time Animal Control Officer who is responsible for enforcing all laws pertaining to dogs. In addition, the Animal Control Officer maintains up-to-date files on all dog licenses; ensures dogs are properly licensed; impounds stray dogs; and handles all animal bite cases.

Department Mission Statement

Department Value Statement

Oath of Office

Department Organization Chart 2021