President: Susan S. Bransfield, First Selectwoman of Portland = *First Vice President:* Neil O'Leary, Mayor of Waterbury; = *Second Vice President:* John A. Elsesser, Town Manager of Coventry

Directors: Luke A. Bronin, Mayor of Hartford; Robert M. Congdon, First Selectman of Preston; Michael J. Freda, First Selectman of North Haven; Joseph P. Ganim, Mayor of Bridgeport; Toni N. Harp, Mayor of New Haven; Barbara M. Henry, First Selectman of Roxbury;

Deb Hinchey, Mayor of Norwich; Catherine Iino, First Selectwoman of Killingworth; Marcia Leclerc, Mayor of East Hartford; Curt Leng, Mayor of Hamden; Rudolph P. Marconi, First Selectman of Ridgefield; W. Kurt Miller, First Selectman of Seymour; Leo Paul, Jr.,

First Selectman of Litchfield; Scott Shanley, General Manager of Manchester; Jayme Stevenson, First Selectman of Darien; Erin Stewart, Mayor of New Britain; Daniel D. Syme, First Selectman of Scotland; Mark B. Walter, Town Administrator of Columbia; Steven R. Werbner,

Town Manager of Tolland

Past Presidents: Mark D. Boughton, Mayor of Danbury; Matthew B. Galligan, Town Manager of South Windsor; Herbert C. Rosenthal, Former First Selectman of Newtown

Executive Director: Joseph A. DeLong

June 26, 2017

Commissioner Steven Reviczky CT Department of Agriculture 450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 701 Hartford, CT 06103

Dear Commissioner Reviczky:

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) is Connecticut's statewide association of towns and cities and the voice of local government - your partners in governing Connecticut. Our members represent over 96% of Connecticut's population.

As a representative voice for local government, CCM would like to offer its full support for the Town of Simsbury's recent letter to the Commissioners of the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection and Department of Agriculture, requesting a comprehensive environmental review by the Departments of the Town's solar array project which seeks to be sited on farmland.

During the 2017 General Assembly Legislative session CCM supported SB 943 (PA 17-218) which would restrict the construction of solar photovoltaic facilities (solar facilities) of two or more megawatts on certain categories of land, core forest and prime farmland, as defined in the Public Act (effective July 1, 2017), by removing a requirement that the Connecticut Siting Council approve such facilities, creating a rebuttable presumption that they are not environmentally compatible.

CCM views the Town of Simsbury's request as consistent with the intent of the legislation described above which was enacted with overwhelming support from both Chambers of the General Assembly. It is for that reason that CCM respectfully requests that the Departments perform such comprehensive environmental review, ahead of the Public Act's effective date, as a show of support for the new law's intent and sound environmental policy.

FW: Letter of Support - Simsbury SB 943

Regards,

1eto

Joe DeLong Executive Director Connecticut Conference of Municipalities 900 Chapel Street, 9th Floor New Haven, CT 06510 203-498-3000 jdelong@ccm-ct.org

🛃 Like Us @CCM.ForCT | 💟 Follow Us @CCM_ForCT | 🌌 Follow Us @CCM_CT



collaborating for the common good