Community For Care - Minutes 11-8-2017

Meeting date: 
Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Community for Care

 Meeting Minutes

November 8, 2017

Call to Order at 5:47pm.

Cheryl Cook, Selectman and Co-Chair of the Community for Care Committee called the meeting to order at 5:35pm on Wednesday, November 8, 2017.  The meeting was held in the Wagner Room at the Simsbury Public Library.  Also in attendance were Pastor Woody Eddins, Co-Chair of the Community for Care Committee, Sue Homrok-Lemke, Assistant Superintendent; Tom Steen,  Becky Rosenthal, Judy Sturgis, Lt. Fred Sifodaskalakis, Sarah Gwinn, Karen Gallagher, Amy Muska, Simsbury High School Health and Wellness Coordinator, Kristen Formanek, Simsbury Social Services Director, and  Andrew O’Brien, Principal of Simsbury High School.

Public Audience: There was no comment from members of the public.

New Business:

The committee discussed the potential content for upcoming community for Care Programs.  Many suggestions were put forward and the committee formed a consensus around several program ideas, including a program focusing on Vaping.  The Simsbury Police Department will explore this suggestion and report back at the next meeting.

The committee discussed the difficulty in producing the program on domestic Abuse and the program was postponed indefinitely.

Social Services Director Kristen Formanek agreed to research updates for the Community for Care booklet and options for reprinting.

The Committee discussed the program originally scheduled for this evening but postponed until January 10, 2018.

Pastor Woody Eddins spoke to the Committee about his role as Co-Chairman of the committee and his desire to resign from that position but remain on the Committee.  The committee accepted his resignation and remaining Chairperson Cheryl Cook asked Committee members to consider a member to replace Pastor Woody as Co-Chair. 

Adjournment: Ms. Rosenthal made a motion to Adjourn at 6:50pm.  Mr. O’Brien seconded the motion. All were in favor.

Respectfully Submitted,

Cheryl Cook, Chairperson