Building Code Board of Appeals Minutes 06/17/2014 ADOPTED

Meeting date: 
Tuesday, June 17, 2014


JUNE 17, 2014





Emil Dahlquist, Chairman, called the Annual Meeting for the Building Code Board of Appeals to order at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, June 17, 2014 in Room 103 of the Simsbury Town Offices located at 933 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, CT.  The following members were also present: JoAnn Hogan, Sandy Ziplow, Steven Antonio, and Charles Warren. Also in attendance was Henry Miga, Town of Simsbury Building Official.  




Line 76: add the word “Pool” after the word “Swimming.”


Mr. Antonio made a motion to approve the minutes from June 18, 2013 as amended. The motion was seconded by Mr. Ziplow and was unanimously approved. 




Chairman Dahlquist asked to move the election of the Chairman to the end of the meeting after discussing New Business.


Ms. Hogan made a motion to move the Election of Chairman to the end of the meeting. The motion was seconded by Mr. Warren and was unanimously approved. 





Chairman Dahlquist asked if there were any changes on the Building Code Board of Appeals membership list. No changes were made.




Chairman Dahlquist asked Mr. Miga for a brief update of changes and any future expectations.

Mr. Miga said that the Codes & Standards are in the process of going through the 2012 ICC codes. He added that the 2009 International Residential Code, 2009 International Energy & Conservation code and 2011 NEC were adopted this past year and are in effect. Mr. Miga also added that he is working on the 2012 IRC. After a few public hearings, it will be forwarded to the State for the administrative process, which typically takes nine months to a year.  Mr. Miga said he will be proposing to adopt 2014 NEC, which will result in having an entire family of codes up to date. He explained that the State has been short staffed which has caused the majority of delays.


Mr. Miga added that the International Fire Code might be changed since the Fire Marshall proposed returning to a NFPA 1 and 101. The change separates the Fire Safety Code from the Fire Prevention Code. Essentially, the Fire Marshall will use one set of codes and the Building Inspector uses another. The Fire Prevention Code is almost ready to go to the State for review and public hearings. The topic has been tabled and extended and Mr. Miga anticipates the architect engineers and design community will offer their opinions at the public hearings.


Mr. Miga responded to Mr. Ziplow’s comment explaining that the Fire Prevention Code consists of sections where 1 and 101 are at the local level and won’t be appealable to the State Fire Marshall. However, the majority of the code will apply to State building officials and the State Fire Marshall. The goal is to keep this structure in place in order for interpretations to remain consistent across the state. This prevents locals from misunderstanding the code.


Mr. Miga replied to Mr. Ziplow’s question about fire door inspections.  Mr. Miga said that in addition to the annual inspection of the fire code, fire door inspections fall under Fire Prevention Code and Fire Safety Code for annual review. He explained that high hazard groups have annual inspections; lower hazard are bi-annual; very low hazard are every three to four years.


VI. DATE FOR ANNUAL MEETING: Tuesday, June 16, 2015


Mr. Antonio made a motion to accept the date of the next meeting as June 16, 2015.  The motion was seconded by Mr. Warren and was unanimously approved.




Chairman Dahlquist said he is resigning as Chairman as of June 18, 2014. Chairman Dahlquist said Mr. Paul Holland was reluctant to take over the position as Chairman. Mr. Warren was asked if he would be interested in the position. He replied that he very strongly prefers that the Chairman is a resident of Simsbury. Chairman Dahlquist explained that this is one of the few Boards that allow people from other towns to participate. Chairman Dahlquist added that Mr. Warren is the most organized, dedicated, principled person on the board in terms of record keeping.


Mr. Warren added that if the members of the Board felt differently, then he will soften his position and remain neutral. Mr. Antonio said that he feels most comfortable with Mr. Warren as Chairman.


Mr. Antonio made a motion to nominate Mr. Warren as Chairman. The motion was seconded by Mr. Ziplow and was approved by five members. Mr. Warren abstained from the vote.


(Paul Holland was nominated as Deputy Chairman, subject to his acceptance. He accepted Wednesday, June 18, 2014.)




Mr. Ziplow moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:38 pm. The motion was seconded by Ms. Hogan and was unanimously approved.



Respectfully Submitted,




Irene Muench, Commissions Clerk